Spindle and Dagger

 
3.7 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
193 0
Spindle and Dagger
Age Range
14+
Release Date
March 10, 2020
ISBN
978-1-5362-0777-4
Buy This Book
      
This rich literary novel follows Elen, who must live a precarious lie in order to survive among the medieval Welsh warband that killed her family.

Wales, 1109. Three years ago, a warband raided Elen’s home. Her baby sister could not escape the flames. Her older sister fought back and almost killed the warband’s leader, Owain ap Cadwgan, before being killed herself. Despite Elen’s own sexual assault at the hands of the raiders, she saw a chance to live and took it. She healed Owain’s wound and spun a lie: Owain ap Cadwgan, son of the king of Powys, cannot be killed, not by blade nor blow nor poison. Owain ap Cadwgan has the protection of Saint Elen, as long as he keeps her namesake safe from harm and near him always.

For three years, Elen has had plenty of food, clothes to wear, and a bed to sleep in that she shares with the man who brought that warband to her door. Then Owain abducts Nest, the wife of a Norman lord, and her three children, triggering full-out war. As war rages, and her careful lies threaten to unravel, Elen begins to look to Nest and see a different life — if she can decide, once and for all, where her loyalties lie. J. Anderson Coats’s evocative prose immerses the reader in a dark but ultimately affirming tale of power and survival.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Tale of Survival
(Updated: April 25, 2020)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Spindle and Dagger by J. Anderson Coats is a beautiful, yet brutal, literary novel set in Medieval Wales. It is clear from page one that the author did their research. Reading this book is like stepping back in time. Following the story of Elen, Spindle and Dagger will keep you on the edge of your seat.

Elen is an interesting character to follow. Told exclusively from her point of view, we quickly understand the precarious position that she is in. Three years prior to the start of the book, Elen's family were killed in a raid. The leader of the warband was injured, and Elen, not wanting to die, took a chance and healed him. Then she spun a lie, one that has kept her safe up to now: "Owain ap Cadwgan, son of the king of Powys, cannot be killed, not by blade nor blow nor poison. Owain ap Cadwgan has the protection of Saint Elen, as long as he keeps her namesake safe from harm and near him always." Elen lives her life daily praying for survival, that the truth will not come out.

As a result of this lie, Owain is reckless. He believes nothing can harm him. The code of ethics the warbands live by do not apply to him. This recklessness causes great fear for Elen because she relies solely on the warband for protection, yet if this lie is revealed, they will not spare her. When Owain abducts Nest, the wife of a neighboring lord, Elen's lies begin to unravel.

I like Nest. Elen is drawn to her. She sees Nest as regal and everything Elen's own life could have been if not for the raid. A friendship develops between the two. For the first time since Elen told the lie, she begins to feel hope for the future and to see a life for herself beyond the day to day survival.

Overall I enjoyed Spindle and Dagger. Elen is stronger than she believes, and her development throughout the book is interesting to read. I love Coats's attention to detail. The author doesn't attempt to romanticize the era, but instead shows the brutality of it through Elen's eyes. If you enjoy immersive stories and beautifully written literary fiction, I highly recommend it.
Good Points
- Well researched, historically accurate
- Strong female lead
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Tale of Survival
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Spindle and Dagger by J. Anderson Coats is a unique, dark tale set in Medieval Wales. The author did their research! The book fully immerses the reader, taking you back in time. Following the story of Elen as she tries to find her place in this brutal world, Spindle and Dagger will keep you on the edge of your seat.
The story unfolds from Elen's point of view. An interesting character, to say the least, Elen lives life on a prayer. When her family was killed in a raid on her home and the leader of the raid nearly killed, Elen heals him and spins a lie: "Owain ap Cadwgan, son of the king of Powys, cannot be killed, not by blade nor blow nor poison. Owain ap Cadwgan has the protection of Saint Elen, as long as he keeps her namesake safe from harm and near him always." For three years, Elen has lived with her abusers, safe because of this lie. She is forced to be as ruthless and cunning as the warband that protects her. One wrong move, one misstep and they could easily turn on her. Her list begin to unravel when Owain abducts Nest, the wife of a nearby lord.
Nest is a turning point for Elen. Elen sees Nest as regal and unflinching despite her circumstances. As the two form a friendship, Elen begins imagining her life outside of Owain. She dreams of the day where she can look to a future, instead of praying to survive the day. I enjoyed the friendship that develops between the two women. It occurs naturally throughout the story, rather being forced.
As I already mentioned, this is well-researched novel. I appreciate that the author didn't try to romanticize the era. Instead, Coats describes the brutality of the time-period through Elen's eyes. As the reader, you understand what is happening and why because for Elen it is everyday life.
Overall, I enjoyed Spindle Dagger. Elen is stronger than she gives herself credit for. Her development throughout the book is subtle, and I found myself rooting for her by the end. If you enjoy historical fiction, I highly recommend this beautiful yet brutal novel.
Good Points
- Well researched, historical accurate
- Strong female lead
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super-achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high school..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."
They Wish They Were Us
 
4.3
"THEY WISH THEY WERE US is an engaging YA thriller reminiscent of GOSSIP GIRLS. The book follows Jill, who had..."
Roaring
 
3.0
"ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven..."
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
"MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE is a fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows Danyal during his senior year of..."
You Say It First
 
3.3
"'You Say It First' is easily one of those books you will either love or hate. My feelings fell somewhere..."
Court of Lions (Mirage, #2)
 
5.0
"COURT OF LIONS finishes the MIRAGE duology with aplomb. This YA fantasy series takes us to another planet and the..."
The Unleashed: The Haunted, Book 2
 
4.0
"Creepy, suspenseful paranormal where some friends learn that a summoning might bring back something unexpected and evil. ..."
The Year of the Witching
 
5.0
"Immanuelle lives in the town of Bethel where the Prophet's word is law and the highest honor for a woman..."