The Kingdom of Back

Featured
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
1023 0
The Kingdom of Back
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
March 03, 2020
ISBN
978-1524739010
Buy This Book
      

Two siblings. Two brilliant talents. But only one Mozart. Born with a gift for music, Nannerl Mozart has just one wish--to be remembered forever. But even as she delights audiences with her masterful playing, she has little hope she'll ever become the acclaimed composer she longs to be. She is a young woman in 18th century Europe, and that means composing is forbidden to her. She will perform only until she reaches a marriageable age--her tyrannical father has made that much clear. And as Nannerl's hope grows dimmer with each passing year, the talents of her beloved younger brother, Wolfgang, only seem to shine brighter. His brilliance begins to eclipse her own, until one day a mysterious stranger from a magical land appears with an irresistible offer. He has the power to make her wish come true--but his help may cost her everything. In her first work of historical fiction, #1 New York Times bestselling author Marie Lu spins a lush, lyrically-told story of music, magic, and the unbreakable bond between a brother and sister.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

The Kingdom of Back
(Updated: April 21, 2020)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Nannerl Mozart is a gifted musical prodigy. She's trained by her strict father, who hopes her talent will take them to perform in European royal courts. She's also the older sister of Wolfgang Mozart. In this story Nannerl and Wolfgang travel to courts in Europe to perform. Nannerl is often overlooked due to her sex. While traveling to the courts, she shares with her brother the stories of a magical world called Back. Then one day a mysterious stranger appears and promises her that he can fulfill her secret wish-to never be forgotten. But at what cost?

What worked: Beautifully written tale that magically transports readers to the fantasy world of Back. Fans of Holly Black are sure to love this magical story that shows readers the Mozart siblings. Nannerl is also gifted, but often overlooked as she's female. It's the eighteenth-century Europe and she knows she can only perform until she reaches a marriageable age. She loves performing and hints of jealousy appear when her younger brother shows his own gift. I loved how Lu shows the courtly intrigues, behind scenes of performing to the wealthy, and the sibling rivalry. Nannerl worries that she will be forgotten and this fear grows when her brother's own talent eclipses hers.Though Wolfgang supports Nannerl by little acts like leaving out paper for her to compose out of sight of their father.

The world of Back is lush and filled with faeries, beauty, and danger. The mysterious Hyacinth visits both the siblings with promises of never being forgotten. He also sets Nannerl out on some tasks in order for him to fulfill his promise. As Wolfgang's talents start to overshadow hers, Hyacinth's tasks grow more difficult and dangerous. I loved this world. Hyacinth is beautiful and savage. His ability to swept his charm over not only Nannerl but Wolfgang hints of danger. Yet neither can turn away.

Captivating fantasy set in eighteenth-century where a magical world can lead to hidden desires, but at a cost.
Good Points
Beautifully written
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
The Kingdom of Back
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Marie Lu’s The Kingdom of Back is an historical fantasy based on real-life talents, Wolfgang Amedeus Motzart and his sister, Maria Anna Motzart. The main character is Maria Anna, or Nannerl, as her family calls her. She is extremely talented but must hide it because she is a girl. Young women are expected to marry well and take care of the household, but Nannerl wants to be famous and remembered for her music. When her brother, whom they call Woferl, starts to become involved with composing his own music, Nannerl makes a wish that she will not be forgotten. A princeling fairy named Hyacinth comes to her and wants to help her make her wish come true, but she must help him gain his throne back. Woferl and Nannerl go to the magical land of Hyacinth’s and they name it the Kingdom of Back because everything is backwards. The tress grow upside down so that the roots are reaching toward the sky. In this land, Nannerl is asked to go up against dangers that Hyacinth cannot encounter.

I was not a fan of sci-fi and fantasy until I read this book. I had read an article about the author, Marie Lu, and wanted to read one of her works. I am so glad I started with this book. She made the made-up world of Hyacinth seem so real. It is easy to see why this book would appeal to young adult readers of today who look to escape their own reality.

The Kingdom of Back takes readers on a science-fiction adventure and explores how sibling love can overcome sibling rivalry. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys fictional novels about historical figures mixed with fantasy.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
A Story of Giants - Book 1
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if I told you that we are not alone,...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...

Latest Member Reviews

Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Reawakened
 
3.3
"My favorite thing about this book is the Egyptian elements. Reading Lily’s adventures in pyramids gave me strong Indiana Jones..."
Three Day Summer
 
4.7
"Michael doesn't know what he wants to do with his life. He should go to community college to avoid the..."
Crush (Crave, #2)
 
4.7
"CRUSH is an intense and nail-biting sequel to CRAVE. This second book picks up a few months after the first..."
The Shadow War
 
3.0
"Audiobook review: Following 5 teens trying to survive, THE SHADOW WAR imagines World War II with a..."
Meet Cute: Some people are destined to meet
 
4.0
"MEET CUTE is a fun, romantic anthology featuring stories about people first meeting. Ranging from cute to funny to dark..."
Glimpsed
 
3.7
"GLIMPSED gives us a twist on the typical fairytale with Charity, a fairy godmother from a line of fairy godmothers...."
Shine Until Tomorrow
 
5.0
"Wow, this book didn’t turn out to be anything like I expected. The story: Tamara is a young..."