The New David Espinoza

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
317 0
The New David Espinoza
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
February 11, 2020
ISBN
978-0062489883
Buy This Book
      
David Espinoza is tired of being messed with. When a video of him getting knocked down by a bully’s slap goes viral at the end of junior year, David vows to use the summer to bulk up— do what it takes to become a man—and wow everyone when school starts again the fall.

Soon David is spending all his time and money at Iron Life, a nearby gym that’s full of bodybuilders. Frustrated with his slow progress, his life eventually becomes all about his muscle gains. As it says on the Iron Life wall, What does not kill me makes me stronger.

As David falls into the dark side of the bodybuilding world, pursuing his ideal body at all costs, he’ll have to grapple with the fact that it could actually cost him everything.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

98-pound-weakling gets buff-- but at what cost?
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
David is the skinniest kid at high Florida high school, and he's taken his share of bullying about it. On the last day of school, he is randomly hit in the face while changing after gym by Ricky, but figures that he has the whole summer to not have to deal with such foolishness. He's glad to have a good group of friends, as well as a funny, smart and cute girlfriend, Karina who doesn't seem to mind his twig-like arms. At an end of the year party, however, he finds out that Ricky took a picture of him without a shirt on, and even captured the blow that took him down, which was a slap. The video goes viral, and people recognize David and start calling him "Bitchslap". Karina tells him to ignore it, as does his hard working father, but for David, this is the final straw. Taking the money he has saved up from working at his father's auto body shop for a car of his own, David goes to a nearby gym that is run down but a little cheaper than others. Not only that, but the owner, Alpha, is a well known and extremely buff body builder. Using a program put together by a famous actor who got ripped for a movie role, David starts to eat a lot of clean protein and work out every day. He is dismayed at his progress and talks to Alpha, who lets him know that anyone who puts 25 pounds of muscle on in the course of a summer (like David would like to do) is using steroids, or "gear", including the actor David admires. Feeling that he can't go back to school without becoming pumped, David pressures Alpha into selling him steriods. Alpha, who is an enormous user himself, reluctantly agrees, and starts David on a cycle of injections and pills. David continues to eat well and work out and starts to see progress, but also starts to experience side effects; acne, increased libido, and 'roid rage. He doesn't let Karina or his father know about the use, but it starts to create complications in all of his relationships. Karian, who suffered some body dysmorphia of her own, is concerned about David's obsession with his body and tries to help, but he has become blinded by his goal. Eventually, this causes him to fight with his father, and even more out of the house to live with Alpha and work in the gym. At first, David was only going to go through one cycle of the steroids, but the benefits are seductive, and soon he is heavily involved in the "gear" culture. A tragedy is the only thing that makes him able to break free, but will he be able to repair all of his broken relationships?
Good Points
Like Mackall's Boost, Deuker's Gym Candy, Coy's Crackback and Walter's Juice, this #OwnVoices narrative explains why someone would choose this dangerous path, but doesn't sugar coat the horrific side effects. David is dealt a hard lot with Ricky's abuse, and does start on a productive regimen of diet and exercise, but experiences typical teen frustration with the slowness of the progress. His father, who is a larger man himself, doesn't quite understand, but is supportive as long as David keeps up with his other responsibilities. It is also interesting that David does not hide things from his father as well as he supposes, and his father finds out fairly soon and is very concerned.

Karina is also a great character, and I loved the fact that she was interested in David for his personality and not his physique. Her own struggles with body image help her deal with David, and there is a fun interaction early on when David tells her how attractive he is in a way that highlights what a great guy he is. There is some young adult content concerning underage drinking (one boy tries rum and coke put spits it out under a table because it tastes bad) and there are several indications that Karina and David are sexually active, but there are few details.

Alpha's deep involvement in the "gear' culture, and David's complicity in it, are what make this book truly wrenching. Acevedo has a note at the end of the book that details his own experiences with taking steroids when young, which explains the vivid and horrifying details. This hit close to home for me; forty years ago, one of my high school classmates died of a heart attack during his freshman year of college, and it was attributed to steroid abuse.

While there is a level of profanity that makes this more of a high school title, it is a riveting story about a high school boy determined to make a difference in his life at any cost. It reminded me of Geoff Herbach's great novels, like Stupid Fast, and will be hugely popular with teen boys who are involved in high school sports or who are just concerned about their own bodies.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super-achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high school..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."
They Wish They Were Us
 
4.3
"THEY WISH THEY WERE US is an engaging YA thriller reminiscent of GOSSIP GIRLS. The book follows Jill, who had..."
Roaring
 
3.0
"ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven..."
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
"MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE is a fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows Danyal during his senior year of..."
You Say It First
 
3.3
"'You Say It First' is easily one of those books you will either love or hate. My feelings fell somewhere..."
Court of Lions (Mirage, #2)
 
5.0
"COURT OF LIONS finishes the MIRAGE duology with aplomb. This YA fantasy series takes us to another planet and the..."
The Unleashed: The Haunted, Book 2
 
4.0
"Creepy, suspenseful paranormal where some friends learn that a summoning might bring back something unexpected and evil. ..."
The Year of the Witching
 
5.0
"Immanuelle lives in the town of Bethel where the Prophet's word is law and the highest honor for a woman..."