The Lucky Ones

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
703 0
The Lucky Ones
Author(s)
Age Range
13+
Release Date
April 07, 2020
ISBN
978-0593118498
Buy This Book
      

For fans of Thirteen Reasons Why, This Is How It Ends, and All the Bright Places, comes a new novel about life after. How do you put yourself back together when it seems like you've lost it all? May is a survivor. But she doesn't feel like one. She feels angry. And lost. And alone. Eleven months after the school shooting that killed her twin brother, May still doesn't know why she was the only one to walk out of the band room that day. No one gets what she went through--no one saw and heard what she did. No one can possibly understand how it feels to be her. Zach lost his old life when his mother decided to defend the shooter. His girlfriend dumped him, his friends bailed, and now he spends his time hanging out with his little sister...and the one faithful friend who stuck around. His best friend is needy and demanding, but he won't let Zach disappear into himself. Which is how Zach ends up at band practice that night. The same night May goes with her best friend to audition for a new band. Which is how May meets Zach. And how Zach meets May. And how both might figure out that surviving could be an option after all.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

powerfully emotional read about the after of school shootings
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
THE LUCKY ONES is quite an emotional ride. The book follows May and Zach in alternating first person points-of-view. May was a survivor in a school shooting that killed her twin brother, favorite teacher, and classmates. She was spared because she had left the first chair band practice to get another musical stand in the closet, where she hid while she listened to the others dying. It is now a year since, and May is still not sure how to live with the heavy survivor's guilt she feels. Her anger frequently seems to explode out of her, and she still gets frequent panic attacks.

Zach has been taking care of his sister, Gwen, for at least a year. His mother is a high-powered attorney and his father left his job years ago to work on his garage-band music. However, most days, his father doesn't even seem to get out of bed. The worst part is that his mother is the defense attorney for the school shooter, and many of his friends have abandoned him for the choices his mother made in defending him.

Zach and May have a chance meeting before knowing who the other is, but their pain seems to call to the other. As they connect, they will each begin to work through some of their own problems. However, they will still hit rock bottom.

This is a highly emotional and engrossing read. The pages seem to turn really fast, and the dual perspectives adds a lot of power to the book. Both have a lot to learn about themselves and the people around them, and it was interesting to follow their journey. This book captures all the guilt and anger around these events and how it can follow you for years.

This book could be triggering for some. It is a valuable read for many who may only know of the news stories. The author's note at the end was also really poignant and definitely worth reading. School shootings are real and this is a snapshot into a potential after that is a really powerful read.

Although this is not an easy read, it is highly engrossing and quite poignant. Powerfully emotional, THE LUCKY ONES is a topical and important YA contemporary about the after of school shootings.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Pirate Nell's Tale to Tell
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From the author/illustrator team behind The Snatchabook comes a book-filled...
Be a Voter!: 450 Stickers for Democracy
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Get out the vote! It’s...
I Believe In You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A charming picture book that inspires confidence, boosts self-esteem, and...
The Glass Queen (The Forest of Good and Evil, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Once Upon a Time meets Game of Thrones in book...
Meanwhile
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate 10 years of this completely original graphic novel take...
Grant Beagan: The Finder's Code
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He’s just an ordinary teenager who likes astronomy, video games,...
Fisher- Price Fun in the Jungle: Explore, Touch, and Feel
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Children will love exploring the different textures in this playful...
Glitter Globes: The Night Before Christmas
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
On the night before Christmas, all over the house, not...
Belinda Fellgate: HellCat
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A contemporary teen fantasy about an inept 14-year-old girl who...
Breathless
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Jennifer Niven, the #1 New York Times bestselling author...
Music for Tigers
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Shipped halfway around the world to spend the summer...
Skyhunter (Skyhunter, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A broken world. An overwhelming evil. ...
Kingdom of Ice and Bone (The Frozen Sun Saga, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lira and Reyker have lost everything. Including each other....
Sword of the Seven Sins
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Eva Marteinn never wanted to be a killer. Raised...
Things That Should Stay Buried
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Some destinies are written in the stars. Others must...
How It All Blew Up
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda goes to Italy...

Latest Member Reviews

Twisting Minds
 
4.8
"The story: At seventeen, Claire Harper’s life has taken a turn for the worse – her mother..."
Fae's Prisoner (Crimes of the Fae)
 
5.0
"This is the book I didn’t know I needed! Fae’s Prisoner by M. Lynn & Melissa A. Craven is the..."
Fae's Prisoner (Crimes of the Fae)
 
5.0
"After reading Queens of the Fae, I had such mixed feelings about Griffin... but now I love him! This book..."
Just Shelby
 
N/A
"ARCs available for review @XpressoBookTours: http://xpressobooktours.com/2020/09/10/review-opportunity-just-shelby-by-brooklyn-james/?fbclid=IwAR2v9c-b9Z0YagynLTaMCNt-c-WW6nmWYZbuVBZYFoGNADs5c-DD6YayMGU"
Sword of the Seven Sins
 
5.0
" The story: Ari and Eva are young members of a society based on the seven deadly sins,..."
Things That Should Stay Buried
 
5.0
"Casey L. Bond has been on my reading list for years, and now I can finally say I have read..."
Of Thorns and Beauty (Twisted Pages Book 1)
 
5.0
"Dark and twisted just like I like them! Of Thorns and Beauty by Elle Madison, Robin D. Mahle is the..."
The Verity
 
5.0
"FEEDBACK Friends. FRIENDS. This book was so good. I apologize in advanced if it’s just a bunch of rambling..."
Emerge: Immortals of Indriell (Book 1)
 
4.3
"Emerge by Melissa A. Craven is the first book in her series Immortals of Indriell and is a fast-paced adventure..."
My Best Friend Prince Charming
 
5.0
"A cute and fun romp. What’s better than a Hollywood romance between a rising star and..."
Dare: A Bradford Academy Novel
 
5.0
"Really great story line , really great writing and I can’t wait until the next book because I have a..."
Chasing the Sun
 
5.0
"'Chasing the Sun' by Melanie Hooyenga captures the raw emotions felt after a breakup, as well as the ones that..."
Sunshine in the Shadows: Book 2 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.7
"This one is probably the least exciting out of the 3 books, but its lovely getting to know the characters..."
Sunshine Reigns: Book 3 of the Sunshine Series
 
5.0
"This my favourite book of the 3-part series. Sunny comes into her own with a very satisfying ending."
 
5.0
"Loved it!"
ExtraNormal Academy (ExtraNormal Academy, #1)
 
4.0
"A different take on Academy books with the main character as an alien from another planet, sent to observe humans...."
 
5.0
"I strongly recommend this novel. It has the perfect combination of action, plot twists, and cool characters that kept my..."
 
5.0
"I had no idea about how serious the fallout for teens who sext can be until I read this book...."
 
5.0
"I loved this book so much I didn’t want it to end! I totally related to the characters and the..."
Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."