Crave

FeaturedHot
 
4.3 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
7325 1
Crave
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
April 07, 2020
ISBN
978-1640638952
Buy This Book
      

My whole world changed when I stepped inside the academy. Nothing is right about this place or the other students in it. Here I am, a mere mortal among gods…or monsters. I still can’t decide which of these warring factions I belong to, if I belong at all. I only know the one thing that unites them is their hatred of me. Then there’s Jaxon Vega. A vampire with deadly secrets who hasn’t felt anything for a hundred years. But there’s something about him that calls to me, something broken in him that somehow fits with what’s broken in me. Which could spell death for us all. Because Jaxon walled himself off for a reason. And now someone wants to wake a sleeping monster, and I’m wondering if I was brought here intentionally―as the bait.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Crave
(Updated: May 26, 2020)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
After the death of her parents, Grace comes to an Alaskan boarding school. Once there, she senses something is 'off' with the other students. It doesn't help that Jaxon, a brooding handsome student, tells her to leave the school. She's drawn to him and wants to know what's going on. Her uncle, who is the headmaster, and her cousin Macy, try to get her to feel comfortable at her new school, but that's kind of hard when everyone stares at her and of course, she's told to leave. Then she finds that there are some secrets that her uncle and others are keeping from her. Secrets that could lead to her death.

What worked: This is an addictive, guilty pleasure read with a Legacies vibe. I love a good paranormal romance and this novel has everything a reader wants-.vamps/hot boys/secrets set in an Alaskan boarding school. Plus, shape shifters, witches, and dragons. But of course Grace doesn't know that at first.

The best part of this novel has to be the suspense leading up to the final climax in the novel. There's tons of chemistry between Jaxon and Grace. Unlike Bella in the Twilight series, Grace doesn't stay in her room and mope if Jaxon doesn't pay attention to her. She's pro-active and doesn't let his standoffish, antsy behavior get to her. She's snarky, funny, and determined not to let the others at the school bring her down. There's even a possible love triangle between her and cute Flint. Her cousin Macy is funny and supportive.

What dragged the story down had to be all the text slang throughout. I had to look up the terms more than a few times. Also the dialogue had a tendency to be cheesy. Though I did like the quirk Grace had of telling really bad jokes.

Engaging vamp paranormal romance that will have readers demanding to know what happens to Grace and Jaxon. No fair on that cliffhanger ending! I have so many questions that I hope are answered in the second book in this series.
Good Points
1. Total addictive read
2. Legacies/Twilight vibe
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
exciting new paranormal romance
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
CRAVE is a really engaging new YA fantasy/paranormal romance that follows Grace in the first person. Grace lost her parents in a horrible car accident a month earlier, and she is now coming to Alaska to live with her uncle and cousin. Her uncle runs the mysterious Katmere Academy in the mountains. When Grace arrives, she notices everyone staring at her. Adding to that, the hot popular boy warns her that people are dangerous and she should leave.

As things happen around her, resulting in a lot of unexpected injuries, Grace begins to realize that there is something different about the academy and its students. She finds herself most intrigued by Jaxon, the boy who is always warning her to stay away but seems to be drawing her closer.

As hinted in the description and advertising, we learn halfway through that Jaxon is a vampire. However, what vampires mean and the conditions of other students are to be learned.

What I loved: The book easily draws you in from the start with all the mystery and snark. This book could take a really dark tone, but it stays light with all the humor and sarcasm. It is very tongue-in-cheek at times; for example, Jaxon sends Grace a copy of Twilight when he is warning her off. There are some more complex power dynamics at play here with the roles of staff/students and how all the people in this paranormal world function/relate. I assume this will be expanded in future books, and I really liked the flair. The first half and then the ending were absolutely fantastic- I was completely engrossed, and I loved the twists at the end. You know something is coming, but it was unexpected, and I loved the way the typical roles were switched (when you read it, you'll get what I mean).

What left me wanting more: The second half of the book turns into a big push-pull instalove drama, and I would have liked a lighter version of that. We do see them interact, but it's very Spiderman-style (in the I-love-you-but-it's-too-dangerous-for-you-to-be-with-me). However, it definitely felt like some Twilight-style flair/angst, which will appeal to many audiences.

Final verdict: Overall, this is a really engrossing and snarky YA paranormal/fantasy romance with a premise that has a ton of potential. I would definitely be interested to see how this develops (particularly given those twists and cliffhanger at the end). Highly recommend for fans of TWILIGHT and VAMPIRE DIARIES.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Final Season
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author and former NFL player...
Sunny Makes a Splash (Sunny #4)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The latest in the New York Times bestselling Sunny series...
The Magical Reality of Nadia (The Magical Reality of Nadia #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the author's real life experiences, this rollicking, charming...
What Adults Don’t Know About Architecture: Inspiring young minds to build a more beautiful world
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Children are rarely introduced properly to architecture, but there are...
The Curse of the Crystal Cavern (The Pathfinders Society #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fresh from their hair-raising adventures in The Mystery of the...
The Mystery of the Moon Tower (The Pathfinders Society)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kyle is a new kid in town who likes to...
Fresh
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A hilarious and vulnerable coming-of-age story about the thrilling...
Sting Magic
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
She has the wrong kind of magic but the...
Poison Ivy: Thorns
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
There's something unusual about Pamela Isley--the girl who hides...
The Dead and the Dark
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Courtney Gould’s thrilling YA debut The Dead and the...
The Great Destroyers
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Blood, sweat, and death. Welcome to the Pax Games....
Illusionary (Hollow Crown, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this thrilling adventure, our magical heroine embarks on...
Lies My Memory Told Me
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
From the thrilling voice of Sacha Wunsch comes a heart-stopping...
Signs of Survival A Memoir of the Holocaust
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
RENEE: I was ten years old then, and my sister...
So. Many. Feelings Stickers: 2,700 Stickers for Every Mood
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
2,700 stickers for every mood! ...

Latest Member Reviews

What Adults Don’t Know About Architecture: Inspiring young minds to build a more beautiful world
 
4.0
"This book is an interesting overview of a variety of architecture, although the vast majority of it is from western..."
Signs of Survival A Memoir of the Holocaust
 
4.7
"What worked: This haunting memoir is about two young sisters who helped each other survive the Holocaust. Both of the..."
So. Many. Feelings Stickers: 2,700 Stickers for Every Mood
 
5.0
"SO. MANY. FEELINGS STICKERS is a fantastic and fun collection of stickers around emotions. With 2,700 stickers, it is difficult..."
More Ryan's World of Science: Ready-to-Read Level 1
 
5.0
"MORE RYAN'S WORLD OF SCIENCE features science experiments that are Ryan approved. Not only is this book full of science,..."
Slow Down: 50 Mindful Moments in Nature
 
5.0
"SLOW DOWN contains 50 moments in nature that people will miss on a normal day. Everyone is so busy with..."
Pipsqueaks, Slowpokes, and Stinkers: Celebrating Animal Underdogs
 
4.7
"PIPSQUEAKS, SLOWPOKES, and SQUEAKERS highlights the underdogs of the animal kingdom. There's an Amau from who is small enough to..."
Beneath the Waves
 
5.0
"BENEATH THE WAVES includes everything ocean related, from Secrets of the Shell, to poems, to creatures and their food sources...."
Horse Power: How Horses Changed the World
 
5.0
"HORSE POWER is a well-illustrated book that talks about the large part horses play in our history. The delve into..."
Weird But True Ocean
 
5.0
"'Weird but True! Ocean: 300 Fin-Tastic Facts from the Deep Blue Sea' by National Geographic Kids is rife with incredibly..."
A Shot in the Arm (Big Ideas that Changed the World)
 
4.3
"Disease isn't new. Pandemics aren't new. Even vaccinations aren't new. But when you're in grade school, everything is new! (Well,..."
Go Wild! Sea Turtles
 
5.0
"GO WILD! SEA TURTLES is a really fascinating book that teaches young children all about sea turtles. The book gives..."
Go Wild! Pandas
 
4.7
"GO WILD! PANDAS is a cool nonfiction picture book with lots of interesting facts about giant pandas. The book discusses..."
How to Talk to a Tiger... And Other Animals: How Critters Communicate in the Wild
 
3.7
"HOW TO TALK TO A TIGER... AND OTHER ANIMALS is an intriguing non-fiction picture book that teaches about the many..."
365 Words for Clever Kids!
 
4.7
"'365 Words for Clever Kids!' by Dr. Meredith L. Rowe and Monika Forsberg, provides a great service. It capitalizes on..."
RESPECT: Aretha Franklin, the Queen of Soul
 
5.0
"'R-E-S-P-E-C-T: Aretha Franklin, the Queen of Soul' by Carole Boston Weatherford, art by Frank Morrison, includes incredible images, highlighting the..."
Yosemite: Ready-to-Read Level 1 (Wonders of America)
 
5.0
"'Wonders of America: Yosemite' by Marion Dane Bauer, illustrated by John Wallace, will make readers eager to take a vacation..."
What's Inside a Flower?
 
4.7
"'What's Inside a Flower? (and Other Questions about Science & Nature)' by Rachel Ignotofsky, is a beautifully illustrated book with..."
Loveblock
 
4.0
"LOVEBLOCK is an adorable, engaging book that is full of both animals and love. Each page talks about how love..."
Sharkblock
 
5.0
"SHARKBLOCK uses a unique approach to teach children about the various species of sharks living under the sea. With colorful..."
Welcome to New York: A Little Engine that Could Road Trip
 
4.3
"WELCOME TO NEW YORK is a delightful board book adventure with the Little Engine that Could, as she heads to..."