We Unleash the Merciless Storm

Featured
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
662 0
We Unleash the Merciless Storm
Age Range
12+
Release Date
February 25, 2020
ISBN
978-0062691347
Buy This Book
      

Being a part of the resistance group La Voz is an act of devotion and desperation. On the other side of Medio’s border wall, the oppressed class fights for freedom and liberty, sacrificing what little they have to become defenders of the cause. Carmen Santos is one of La Voz’s best soldiers. She spent years undercover, but now, with her identity exposed and the island on the brink of a civil war, Carmen returns to the only real home she’s ever known: La Voz’s headquarters. There she must reckon with her beloved leader, who is under the influence of an aggressive new recruit, and with the devastating news that her true love might be the target of an assassination plot. Will Carmen break with her community and save the girl who stole her heart—or fully embrace the ruthless rebel she was always meant to be?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

We Unleash The Merciless Storm
(Updated: March 01, 2020)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Carmen Santos cover as a La Voz soldier has been exposed. She flees back to the La Voz's headquarters, leaving behind Dani, the girl she loved. A lot has changed in the headquarters and not for the better. Carmen can't forget Dani. Carmen struggles with being the loyal La Voz soldier or leaving it all to be with the girl she loves.

What worked: This sequel to We Set The Dark on Fire is told in the point of view of Carmen Santos, the Segunda, second wife of Mateo, son of a powerful leader. Carmen is strong, passionate, and a kick-ass. One huge plus is how the author pulls back Carmen's powerful, tough veneer to show her vulnerabilities. In a world that values those to take an oath to be loyal to a cause, love can be the wedge that can destroy you.

There's lots of world-building here that shows a Latinx touch set on the island of Medio. The wall that divides the haves from the have nots is very reminiscent of what is going on in our nation right now. Those on the wrong side of the wall live in poverty and are viewed as subhuman by those in power.

Carmen's quest to get back to Dani takes her from the headquarters through many dangerous places and encounters. The strength of this novel is how Carmen's love pushes her onward despite the horrors around her. Loyalties are questioned.

I did feel that there were places the story dragged on. Most of the action comes midway through the novel. Also some of Carmen's internal thoughts were a tad bit repetitious at times. Later on the novel is fast-paced with more than a few twists and turns on the plot. Who is the real traitor to La Voz? Can Carmen trust her heart?

The romance is emotionally packed with sparks that literally ignite whenever Carmen is with Dani. I wanted more of this earlier in the novel.

Engaging continuation of We Set The Dark on Fire with a strong protagonist who sets out to not only be a soldier in the resistance, but to fight against all odds to be with the girl she loves.
Good Points
1. Engaging continuation of We Set The Dark on Fire
2. Strong protagonist
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...

Latest Member Reviews

Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."