Most Likely (Most Likely, #1)

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
751 0
Most Likely (Most Likely, #1)
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
March 10, 2020
ISBN
978-0316454834
Buy This Book
      

From the creator of the hit TV series The Bold Type comes an empowering and heartfelt novel about a future female president's senior year of high school. Ava, CJ, Jordan, and Martha (listed in alphabetical order out of fairness) have been friends since kindergarten. Now they're in their senior year, facing their biggest fears about growing up and growing apart. But there's more than just college on the horizon. One of these girls is destined to become the president of the United States. The mystery, of course, is which girl gets the gig. Is it Ava, the picture-perfect artist who's secretly struggling to figure out where she belongs? Or could it be CJ, the one who's got everything figured out...except how to fix her terrible SAT scores? Maybe it's Jordan, the group's resident journalist, who knows she's ready for more than their small Ohio suburb can offer. And don't overlook Martha, who will have to overcome all the obstacles that stand in the way of her dreams. This is the story of four best friends who have one another's backs through every new love, breakup, stumble, and success--proving that great friendships can help young women achieve anything...even a seat in the Oval Office.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

lovely story of friendship
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
MOST LIKELY is a fantastic YA contemporary about friendship. The book starts with a woman becoming president and reflecting back on her critical friendships before going back into her senior year of high school (in the present). We don't know which one it will be, but Ava, CJ, Jordan, and Martha have been friends since before they started kindergarten, and it's a friendship that will last a lifetime.

Ava was adopted as an infant and is being raised by a single mother, who is also a high powered lawyer. She is a gifted artist, and she is considering following that dream into RISD, but she also knows her mother wishes she would choose a different path. CJ (Clarke) was an unexpected last daughter in a big family who is named after her father. She has a dream for college that she might not attain due to trouble with taking SATs. She is volunteering at a children's sports group, where she hopes to make a difference. Jordan is an aspiring journalist who writes for the high school newspaper. When a beloved public park might get shut down in favor of a high rise, she decides to take on the case, pretending to be an adult journalist so she can be taken seriously as she investigates potential interests of the congressman involved. Martha lives with her father after her parents' divorce. Her father struggles with debt and money, which Martha knows about, even if he tries his best to take care of her. She is worried about how she could afford college and also whether she might actually like girls.

What I loved: This book is really heartfelt and easy to follow. It also tackles some big issues in a really approachable and understandable way. For instance, one of the girls has depression, and there is a lot of great messaging about how it feels and the way other people can/should react. Another is figuring out her sexuality in a way that feels very natural and the way that her friends/father handle this information is really lovely. There are also some interesting messages about parents and money problems and how these can all play out. There are also some great themes about disabilities and how to navigate talking about and considering people who have disabilities.

This book is full of love (of friends mainly, though some romantic plots also). It is really an uplifting and beautiful story that will speak to young adult readers well.

Final verdict: MOST LIKELY is a beautiful story of friendship that also contains some bigger themes handled with care and love. There are a lot of really fantastic messages to take away from this YA contemporary, and I would highly recommend for people who love heartfelt and genuine reads.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...

Latest Member Reviews

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
"BERNARD MAKES A SPLASH is an overall cute story about stepping outside of your comfort zone. Bernard practices diving whenever..."
Lost for Words
 
5.0
"LOST FOR WORDS is a sweet picture book about finding your own way to express yourself. Tapir has a new..."
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
"STANLEY'S PAINT BOX is a charming board book about colors. Stanley is helping Sophie, Little Woo, and Benjamin paint boxes...."
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
"TAD is a colorful and engaging journey into the water, as we follow Tad, a tadpole. Tad lives with her..."
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
If...
 
3.5
"IF... is an imaginative picture book that features artwork imagining impossible scenarios in artwork, with simple text to correspond. For..."
The Three Little Yogis and the Wolf Who Lost His Breath: A Fairy Tale to Help You Feel Better (Feel-Good Fairy Tales)
 
4.0
"THE THREE LITTLE YOGIS AND THE WOLF WHO LOST HIS BREATH is a great picture book that teaches children meditation..."
Rival Magic
 
3.0
"Antonia, wizarding apprentice to Master Betrys, may not be the best at actual magic, but she tries her absolute best..."
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
"BE OUR GUEST! is a colorful book of photographs. The book takes us to a hotel, where a monkey named..."
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
"HAT TRICKS is a story of magic. Hattie the rabbit pops out of her magic hat to perform some magic...."
Stanley's Toolbox
 
4.5
"STANLEY'S TOOLBOX is a delightful board book that shows many tools in action as Stanley helps to repair Little Woo's..."
Spring Is Here!
 
5.0
"SPRING IS HERE! is a delightful board book that features several animals in the springtime setting. The book is extra..."