In the Hall with the Knife

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
716 0
In the Hall with the Knife
Age Range
12+
Release Date
October 08, 2019
ISBN
9781419738340
Buy This Book
      

A murderer could be around every corner in this thrilling YA trilogy based on the board game CLUE! When a storm strikes at Blackbrook Academy, an elite prep school nestled in the woods of Maine, a motley crew of students—including Beth “Peacock” Picach, Orchid McKee, Vaughn Green, Sam “Mustard” Maestor, Finn Plum, and Scarlet Mistry—are left stranded on campus with their headmaster. Hours later, his body is found in the conservatory and it’s very clear his death was no accident. With this group of students who are all hiding something, nothing is as it seems, and everyone has a motive for murder. Fans of the CLUE board game and cult classic film will delight in Diana Peterfreund’s modern reimagining of the brand, its characters, and the dark, magnificent old mansion with secrets hidden within its walls.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Perfect for fans of Knives Out
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Blackbrook Academy is an elite school in Maine with rigorous competition. When a storm strikes, a group of students, their headmaster, and other campus personnel are left stranded at Blackbrook. Students Beth “Peacock” Picach, Orchid McKee, Vaughn Green, Sam “Mustard” Maestor, Finn Plum, and Scarlet Mistry all have something to hide and something they’re fighting for. When the headmaster is found dead in the conservatory, everyone knows something dark is afoot. The only question is who killed him...and will they kill again before the storm clears?

Diana Peterfreund’s IN THE HALL WITH THE KNIFE is a delightful mystery romp, perfect for fans of Knives Out and murder mysteries. Blackbrook Academy is rich in creepy, academic atmosphere that becomes extra spooky when the storm hits. This is the perfect read during a dark stormy night when you want your spine to tingle.

While balancing an ensemble cast during the logistics of a storm can be complicated, Peterfreund weaves a seamless narrative that places you right in Blackbrook Academy alongside the students. Each character has an interesting potential motive for the murder, and even while I wanted not to trust them, it was hard to fight becoming invested in their story and hoping they weren’t the killer. I especially enjoyed the range of relationships between the characters, from ex-significant others to political allies to reluctant friends. This is a book rich with sharp dialogue and surprising growth.

While the main mystery is solved, IN THE HALL WITH A KNIFE leaves plenty of other mysteries open to continue in the next book.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Hope in the Mail: Reflections on Writing and Life
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Part writing guide and part memoir, this inspiring book from...
Daniela and the Pirate Girls
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Who hasn’t heard of the legendary vessel, the Black Croc!...
Child of Galaxies
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Your body was made from the stuff of the stars,...
Shy Ones
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
He's not the type to stand out. In fact, unless...
You Brought Me the Ocean
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The voices that shaped LGBTQ Young Adult literature, Lambda Award-Winning...
The Most Dangerous Place on Earth
 
2.0
 
0.0 (0)
In an idyllic community of wealthy California families, new teacher...
Slamdown Town
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ollie and his older brother, Hollis, have wrestling in their...
The Speed of Starlight: An Exploration of Physics, Sound, Light, and Space
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A contemporary exploration of physics, light, and sound told through...
1,000 Facts About Ancient Egypt
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mummies, pyramids, pharaohs, King Tut! Kids everywhere are fascinated by...
Pumpkinheads
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Deja and Josiah are seasonal best friends. ...
Ragweed and Poppy
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The first new book about Poppy in more than ten...
Burn
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
On a cold Sunday evening in early 1957, Sarah Dewhurst...
The Right Place
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
A squirrel wakes from hibernation feeling something is wrong with...
I'm Sorry!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect story for teaching young children the importance of...
Wonder Woman: Tempest Tossed
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Laurie Halse Anderson (Speak, Shout)...
The Archer at Dawn (The Tiger at Midnight, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Romantic intrigue and electric action fill the gripping sequel to...

Latest Member Reviews

Daniela and the Pirate Girls
 
3.5
"DANIELA AND THE PIRATE GIRLS is a fun high-seas adventure about helping others and making new friends. Daniela is the..."
Child of Galaxies
 
4.0
"CHILD OF GALAXIES is a lovely poem about life and the broad meaning of it all. The poem begins by..."
Shy Ones
 
5.0
"SHY ONES is a sweet look at friendship and the people (or sea creatures) who are shy. The story is..."
Once Upon an Eid
 
5.0
"This collection has a wide variety of stories about different aspects of Eid, and is particularly poignant during this time..."
Slamdown Town
 
4.0
"Ollie is in 6th grade and is small for his age. His older brother, Hollis, is in 8th, and has..."
Ragweed and Poppy
 
3.5
"RAGWEED AND POPPY is an interesting middle grade novel that follows Ragweed, a mouse who is on a journey. Ragweed..."
The Right Place
 
3.5
"THE RIGHT PLACE is a picture book that stresses the importance of friends and home. Squirrel wakes up after a..."
I'm Sorry!
 
5.0
"I'M SORRY! is a fantastic picture book about apologizing and compromise. Swoop and Scribble are an owl and squirrel who..."
It's Impossible!
 
4.0
"IT'S IMPOSSIBLE! is a delightful road trip picture book that asserts things are only impossible if you say that they..."
The More We Get Together
 
5.0
"THE MORE WE GET TOGETHER takes the song and adds verses about how children can change the world. The book..."
Good Night, Moon 123 / Buenas Noches, Luna 123: A Counting Book / Un Libro para Contar
 
3.5
"GOODNIGHT, MOON 123 / BUENAS NOCHES, LUNA 123 is a fun counting book themed from the bedtime favorite, GOODNIGHT MOON...."
The Hideout
 
5.0
"If you are a fan of “Where the Wild Things Are” you will love “The Hideout” written by Susanna Mattiangeli..."
Circus Girl
 
3.0
"CIRCUS GIRL is a book about Sky, who dreams of being the star of the circus. The book begins when..."
A Friend for Bear
 
4.0
"A FRIEND FOR BEAR is a beautifully illustrated picture book about needing to slow down and enjoy life. Bear has..."
Up and Down Mom
 
5.0
"UP AND DOWN MOM is a really well done picture book about having a parent with bipolar disorder. The book..."
Gloria's Big Problem
 
3.0
"GLORIA'S BIG PROBLEM is about anxiety in children. Gloria's anxiety manifests as this large green being who follows her around..."
Zoom: Space Adventure
 
4.5
"ZOOM: SPACE ADVENTURE is a fun journey through outer space with Ava. Ava is going on a space adventure, and..."
Escape Goat
 
5.0
"ESCAPE GOAT is an adorable picture book that ultimately teaches about scapegoating and the need for honesty. The goat lives..."
The Goldrush Girl
 
4.0
"Victoria Blaisdell (who likes to be called Tory even though her mother doesn't think it is proper) has a good..."
Deathstrike (Ultraball #2)
 
4.0
"After narrowly avoiding disaster in Ultraball, the Miners (coached by Strike) are back for a new season. When the team..."