I'll Be the One (I'll Be the One #1)

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1319 0
I'll Be the One (I'll Be the One #1)
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
June 16, 2020
ISBN
0062936921
Buy This Book
      

The world of K-Pop has never met a star like this. Debut author Lyla Lee delivers a deliciously fun, thoughtful rom-com celebrating confidence and body positivity—perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Julie Murphy. Skye Shin has heard it all. Fat girls shouldn’t dance. Wear bright colors. Shouldn’t call attention to themselves. But Skye dreams of joining the glittering world of K-Pop, and to do that, she’s about to break all the rules that society, the media, and even her own mother, have set for girls like her. She’ll challenge thousands of other performers in an internationally televised competition looking for the next K-pop star, and she’ll do it better than anyone else. When Skye nails her audition, she’s immediately swept into a whirlwind of countless practices, shocking performances, and the drama that comes with reality TV. What she doesn’t count on are the highly fat-phobic beauty standards of the Korean pop entertainment industry, her sudden media fame and scrutiny, or the sparks that soon fly with her fellow competitor, Henry Cho. But Skye has her sights on becoming the world’s first plus-sized K-pop star, and that means winning the competition—without losing herself.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Kpop Dumplin' but better
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
WHAT I LOVED:
Haneul "Skye" Shin is talented, fat, and contrary to the max. Her mom tells Skye she can't dance because she's fat and Skye just commits to it harder, which I can relate to because I'm just as contrary. A dude told me throughout middle school that I can't sing and now I can almost carry a tune! Especially if that tune is "Coming for You" by JoJo. I nail that song.

But as confident as she is in her own abilities, Skye isn't immune to being hurt. Her mother's horrific comments on her weight and a string of diets so severe that one of them landed Skye in the hospital have destroyed their parent-child relationship. It takes help from her new friends Tiffany and Lana to even put a name to what her mom put her through: emotional abuse. Her mom is the stealthily hateful, "I'm just concerned for your health" fatphobe that fat people know well. Show judge Jang Bora, fellow contestants, countless Internet jerks who through pig emojis at Skye once the show premieres--no one could be unaffected by all that hatred.

None of that will stop her, though, because Skye Skin was born for stardom. Lordy, her final performance in the show and the riot act she reads Bora is amazing.

Also? This book is gay. Soooooooo gay! Fellow contestants and new friends Tiffany and Lana are a lesbian couple. Both Skye and her love interest Henry are bisexual and have no idea what to do with each other for a while, but it's all good once they learn to talk things out and he starts sending her pics of his adorable dog Snowball. Sending your crush pics of your pet is always a good idea. Kenry is a bit sheltered thanks to being a celebrity in his own right and the child of a major Korean family, but he's very kind and supportive. That picture of Will Smith dramatically gesturing at the glory of his wife on the red carpet? That's Henry Cho embodied in a single image.

All four of these characters have homophobia and biphobia in their lives, but once it's dicussed, the book moves on. That may not satisfy some readers, but it helps keep the book's vibe happy and upbeat.

Getting across the glitz and energy of a song/dance competition with just words is difficult, but Lee gets the job done and makes each round of You're My Shining Star come alive. She doesn't go into meticulous detail when describing the dances yet keeps the imagery vivid. Some of the choreography and songs come from real music, so readers can look them up to see the dances in motion.

FINAL VERDICT:
Why isn't this book already a movie? SERIOUSLY, WHY? I'd pay good money for it. I'll Be the One is an unparalleled delight akin to a K-pop Dumplin' but even better. You should all buy this book ASAP so we can get that movie made.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Dead and the Dark
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Courtney Gould’s thrilling YA debut The Dead and the Dark...
The Great Destroyers
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Blood, sweat, and death. Welcome...
Fresh
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A hilarious and vulnerable coming-of-age story about the thrilling new...
Illusionary (Hollow Crown, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this thrilling adventure, our magical heroine embarks on a...
Bluebird
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In 1946, Eva leaves behind the rubble of Berlin for...
Merci Suárez Can't Dance
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventh grade is going to be a real trial...
When You Know What I Know
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This harrowing, and ultimately hopeful novel in verse sensitively...
Between Perfect and Real
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A moving YA debut about a trans boy finding...
The Cost of Knowing
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dear Martin meets They Both Die at the End...
Gold Spun
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
If Nor can't spin gold, she can always spin...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Dayna Walsh is struggling to cope with her somatic...
Small Favors
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Ellerie Downing is waiting for something to happen. Life...
If You Go Down to the Woods Today (Brown Bear Wood)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Journey through a magical woodland, with poems to read and...
Bunny Will Not Jump!: Ready-to-Read Level 1
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the endless imagination of Jason Tharp comes a hilarious...
Milo's Christmas Parade
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new picture book from Jennie Palmer starring Milo, a...
Slow Down: 50 Mindful Moments in Nature
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Slow down to watch 50 nature stories that command calm...

Latest Member Reviews

Fearless
 
3.0
"Monica Garcia is thrilled to get an understudy role on Broadway. At 12, this is the first time she will..."
Paradise on Fire
 
4.0
"Addy lives in the Bronx with her grandmother, Bibi, who has moved from Nigeria to care for her after the..."
Tell No Tales: Pirates of the Southern Seas
 
4.5
"TELL NO TALES is a graphic novel that features Anne Bonny and her tale of pirating. She has an amazing..."
Into Darkness (Stuffed, Book 2) (Stuffed, 2)
 
4.0
"STUFFED INTO DARKNESS features Clark who is so excited to go to camp, where the Stuffies protect them from monsters...."
If You Go Down to the Woods Today (Brown Bear Wood)
 
4.0
"IF YOU GO DOWN TO THE WOODS TODAY has a poem on each page which opens up to the items..."
Bunny Will Not Jump!: Ready-to-Read Level 1
 
4.0
"Bear wants nothing more than for Bunny to jump, but he won't do it. Bunny doesn't want to jump and..."
Milo's Christmas Parade
 
5.0
"MILO'S CHRISTMAS PARADE features a little opossum who wants nothing more than to join the Christmas parade. For this reason,..."
Taking Care of Mama Rabbit
 
3.5
"When Mama Rabbit falls ill, it's up to Papa Rabbit to go get medicine and her children to make her..."
A Kid's Guide to Fandom: Exploring Fan-Fic, Cosplay, Gaming, Podcasting, and More in the Geek World!
 
5.0
"A KID'S GUIDE TO FANDOM is exactly what it says and is full of anything and everything nerdy. From cosplaying,..."
Mine
 
4.0
"Lily isn’t thrilled about her family’s move from Colorado to Florida. In Colorado, she had her drama club and her..."
The Republic of Birds
 
3.0
"Once, birds and humans lived together until a war erupted over a firebird’s egg. Now, the humans have their own..."
This Is the Glade Where Jack Lives: Or How a Unicorn Saved the Day
 
5.0
"THIS IS THE GLADE WHERE JACK LIVES is a new take on the traditional "This Is the House that Jack..."