All the Stars and Teeth (All the Stars and Teeth, #1)

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
630 0
All the Stars and Teeth (All the Stars and Teeth, #1)
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
February 04, 2020
ISBN
978-1250307781
Buy This Book
      

Set in a kingdom where danger lurks beneath the sea, mermaids seek vengeance with song, and magic is a choice, Adalyn Grace’s All the Stars and Teeth is a thrilling fantasy for fans of Stephanie Garber’s Caraval and Sarah J. Maas’s Throne of Glass series. She will reign. As princess of the island kingdom Visidia, Amora Montara has spent her entire life training to be High Animancer―the master of souls. The rest of the realm can choose their magic, but for Amora, it’s never been a choice. To secure her place as heir to the throne, she must prove her mastery of the monarchy’s dangerous soul magic. When her demonstration goes awry, Amora is forced to flee. She strikes a deal with Bastian, a mysterious pirate: he’ll help her prove she’s fit to rule, if she’ll help him reclaim his stolen magic. But sailing the kingdom holds more wonder―and more peril―than Amora anticipated. A destructive new magic is on the rise, and if Amora is to conquer it, she’ll need to face legendary monsters, cross paths with vengeful mermaids, and deal with a stowaway she never expected… or risk the fate of Visidia and lose the crown forever. I am the right choice. The only choice. And I will protect my kingdom.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

magnificent and atmospheric YA fantasy
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
ALL THE STARS AND TEETH is an imaginative and lush YA fantasy that transports the reader to a fascinating new world. Amora is the princess of Visidia, and heiress to a terrible magic- soul magic. This is a burden she must bear as the ruler, torturing and killing irredeemable prisoners as needed to keep the beast at bay. The kingdom is an island nation where people on each island use one type of magic, such as healing, earth, or curse magic, also as part of the bargain to keep a terrible beast from returning.

At her birthday, she must show the people that she is in control of her magic in a horrific ceremony. However, Amora has heard grumblings of unrest and rebellion that she never anticipated, and she is thrown off, allowing the beast to take over. She is sentenced to prison while they deliberate over her fate. When a young pirate comes to her with a chance for redemption, Amora leaps at the chance- she cares for her country and wants to protect it.

Thus launches a tale of romance, high seas adventure, danger, and magic.

What I loved: This book is completely engrossing, and I lost myself easily in the magnificent world-building contained within. The characters, the setting, and the magic were all so lush and entirely constructed. Mermaids, pirates, seedy underbellies, and more fill the pages of this completely magnificent story. I do not want to give too much away, but this is a beautifully written story that I would highly recommend for anyone who loves fantasy.

I would add warnings for torture, murder, self-harm (related to magic), and animal abuse (past).

Final verdict: Atmospheric and full of adventure, ALL THE STARS AND TEETH is a triumph of YA fantasy. I would highly recommend for fans of TO KILL A KINGDOM, WICKED SAINTS, and DANCE OF THIEVES. This is a series not to be missed.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Hope in the Mail: Reflections on Writing and Life
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Part writing guide and part memoir, this inspiring book from...
Daniela and the Pirate Girls
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Who hasn’t heard of the legendary vessel, the Black Croc!...
Child of Galaxies
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Your body was made from the stuff of the stars,...
Shy Ones
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
He's not the type to stand out. In fact, unless...
You Brought Me the Ocean
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The voices that shaped LGBTQ Young Adult literature, Lambda Award-Winning...
The Most Dangerous Place on Earth
 
2.0
 
0.0 (0)
In an idyllic community of wealthy California families, new teacher...
Slamdown Town
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ollie and his older brother, Hollis, have wrestling in their...
The Speed of Starlight: An Exploration of Physics, Sound, Light, and Space
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A contemporary exploration of physics, light, and sound told through...
1,000 Facts About Ancient Egypt
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mummies, pyramids, pharaohs, King Tut! Kids everywhere are fascinated by...
Pumpkinheads
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Deja and Josiah are seasonal best friends. ...
Ragweed and Poppy
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The first new book about Poppy in more than ten...
Burn
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
On a cold Sunday evening in early 1957, Sarah Dewhurst...
The Right Place
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
A squirrel wakes from hibernation feeling something is wrong with...
I'm Sorry!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect story for teaching young children the importance of...
Wonder Woman: Tempest Tossed
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Laurie Halse Anderson (Speak, Shout)...
The Archer at Dawn (The Tiger at Midnight, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Romantic intrigue and electric action fill the gripping sequel to...

Latest Member Reviews

The Suicide Journal
 
4.8
"The Suicide Journal is novella centered around a teenager named Cal. The story essentially centers around Cal's decision to kill..."
Legacy of Light (Legends of the Tri-Gard Book 2)
 
4.8
"FEEDBACK Well, this story has gone in a completely different direction than I expected it to. Davion didn’t die..."
Rising
 
4.0
"The story: In a dystopian future, the former state of Alaska is now home to what remains..."
Call of the Rift: Flight
 
4.3
"The Call of the Rift: Flight by Jae Waller is the first book in an alternate-historical fantasy about Kateiko, a..."
The Parkour Club
 
5.0
"I learned a lot about parkour and also Islam from this book. I appreciate a book that focuses around a..."
The Parkour Club
 
5.0
"Adventure, sport, romance and cross-cultural understanding"
Legacy (The Biodome Chronicles #1)
 
4.5
"Future collides with the past in Legacy by Jesikah Sundin, the first book in her series The Biodome Chronicles. Following..."
Glass Kingdom
 
5.0
"I have read many Cinderella retellings in my life. It's a story I have always loved and been drawn to...."
Two Worlds of Provenance (Two Worlds, #1)
 
4.0
"An intriguing world. The story: Maray is an American girl living in Vienna with just..."
The Omen of Stones
 
4.5
"An intriguing follow up. The Story: River and Omen were born on the same..."
Golden Crown
 
5.0
"This series has blown me away. For those who don't know me, I am low key obsessed with Tangled. And..."
Golden Chains
 
5.0
"All right, so I loved Golden Curse, but I LOVED this second book. The story picks..."
Fae's Deception (Queens of the Fae Book 1)
 
5.0
"When a weird light shoots from Brea and strikes her best friend, she's designated as mentally unstable and sent to..."
Heartmender
 
4.5
"I loved writing this book and I hope you all enjoy reading it! "
Moonscript
 
4.5
"4.5 stars! An elf haunted by his past, a girl dissatisfied with her monotonous present, a withered king looking..."
Dragon Rising: A Mulan Inspired Fantasy
 
4.7
"Going into this book, I didn’t know what to expect, other than a hella good fantasy story, like all of..."
Twisted Pines
 
4.5
"Children are disappearing at a camp and coming back confused, with no memory of what happened. Abe, one of the..."
Ghosting You
 
4.5
"The story: In a small town in Georgia, Tommy is still mourning the loss of his best..."
Fae's Destruction (Queens of the Fae Book 3)
 
5.0
"What a ride! Fae’s Destruction by M. Lynn & Melissa A. Craven is the final book in their series Queens..."
Perfectly Summer
 
5.0
"Perfectly Summer by Robin Daniels is the third installment in The Perfect Series, and this time focuses on Levi London..."