Adorkable

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1442 0
Adorkable
Age Range
12+
Release Date
December 03, 2019
ISBN
978-1640637597
Buy This Book
      

Adorkable (ah-dor-kuh-bul): Descriptive term meaning to be equal parts dorky and adorable. For reference, see Sally Spitz. Seventeen-year-old Sally Spitz is done with dating. Or at least, she's done with the horrible blind dates/hookups/sneak attacks her matchmaking bestie, Hooker, sets her up on. There's only so much one geek girl and Gryffindor supporter can take. Her solution: She needs a fake boyfriend. And fast. Enter Becks, soccer phenom, all-around hottie, and Sally's best friend practically since birth. When Sally asks Becks to be her F.B.F. (fake boyfriend), Becks is only too happy to be used. He'd do anything for Sal―even if that means giving her PDA lessons in his bedroom, saying she's "more than pretty," and expertly kissing her at parties. The problem: Sally's been in love with Becks all her life―and he's completely clueless. This book features two best friends, one special-edition Yoda Snuggie, countless beneath-the-ear kisses, and begs the question: Who wants a real boyfriend when faking it is so much more fun?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

completely devourable YA contemporary rom-com
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
ADORKABLE is a book you can easily predict, but the journey is unbelievably delightful. Sally Spitz is a senior in high school and absolutely done with dating, which is to say she is completely over all the random surprise dates her mother and second best friend, Lillian Hooker, keep springing on her. After a surprise date with two guys at once (one of which confesses his love to her after only knowing her for a couple hours), Sally comes up with a new plan- find a F.B.F. or fake boyfriend to end the dating set-ups.

When everyone at school seems to have heard a rumor that Sally is dating her hot BFF, Becks, whom she also happens to have a very big and very secret crush on, Sally decides that he should be the FBF. When Becks agrees, Sally finds that she likes having him as her FBF a little too much for her heart to accept the fake part of the charade. The drama is totally high school and totally adorkable.

I absolutely adored Sally, Becks, and the whole situation. With some added swoony scenes and plenty of dorky behaviors, this couple was incredible. The pace of the book is spot-on, and I could not put it down. The only thing I wish was toned down was the Hooker/mother plans for dating. Why all the pressure to date in high school? I did not really get this, and felt they were being unsupportive of Sally's choices for herself and her personal life. Dating is high school is really not necessary, and I didn't like the idea that it was so crucial for her (from her mother, who should be proud of everything else Sally is doing, and her second best friend, who should respect her choices more). However, I do get that this was a plot point to force the FBF situation, so it was easy to overcome after that gets going.

In terms of the paperback bonus content, there is a cute extra chapter where we get some of Becks's perspective, and I loved it! While we get hints of how he feels along the way (even if Sally totally misses the clues, because high schooler), it was so fun to see some scenes from his side. I would also have adored a combined back-and-forth perspective to the story, but just having Sally's side keeps things faster-paced and immerses the reader in her life. Anyway, the bonus content is awesome and adds a little plus for people who want to own a physical copy.

Highly readable, full of charm, and completely swoon-worthy, this was a completely lovely read. Highly recommend for fans of YA contemporary romance/rom-coms. Just as adorkable as the title says with plenty of laugh-out-loud and groan moments that combine to make a completely devourable YA read.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The power of the dragon totems is no longer a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When New York City faces the threat of an ancient...

Latest Member Reviews

A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."