Six Goodbyes We Never Said

Featured
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
680 0
Six Goodbyes We Never Said
Age Range
12+
Release Date
September 24, 2019
ISBN
978-1250116246
Buy This Book
      

Two teens meet after tragedy and learn about love, loss, and letting go Naima Rodriguez doesn’t want your patronizing sympathy as she grieves her father, her hero―a fallen Marine. She’ll hate you forever if you ask her to open up and remember him “as he was,” though that’s all her loving family wants her to do in order to manage her complex OCD and GAD. She’d rather everyone back the-eff off while she separates her Lucky Charms marshmallows into six, always six, Ziploc bags, while she avoids friends and people and living the life her father so desperately wanted for her. Dew respectfully requests a little more time to process the sudden loss of his parents. It's causing an avalanche of secret anxieties, so he counts on his trusty voice recorder to convey the things he can’t otherwise say aloud. He could really use a friend to navigate a life swimming with pain and loss and all the lovely moments in between. And then he meets Naima and everything’s changed―just not in the way he, or she, expects. Candace Ganger's Six Goodbyes We Never Said is no love story. If you ask Naima, it’s not even a like story. But it is a story about love and fear and how sometimes you need a little help to be brave enough to say goodbye.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

mental illness and grief portrayed well
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
SIX GOODBYES WE NEVER SAID is quite a heavy YA contemporary. We follow Naima and Dew in alternating sections. Naima is dealing with anxiety and OCD- and the recent death of her father on his military tour. Her stepmother has brought her to her grandparent's house, which was where Naima wanted to be. It is also next door to Dew, who has a bit of an obsession with Naima, as he feels that their paths have been meant to collide ever since he started hearing about her from her father a year earlier.

Dew is also dealing with his own problems, including anxiety/PTSD. His parents died when he was younger and he has been recently adopted by a couple that is making a new family/home for him and his adopted sister, Faith. He wields his recorder for protection and often gives wisdom far beyond his years. He is still coping with the death of his parents and trying to forge his own way forward.

What I loved: This book tackles some heavy issues in a really great way. I loved that we could actually see some of the therapy sessions for Dew to see how he is working through things. We also hear about therapy/meds for Naima. This book is great at presenting mental illness in a really authentic and constructive way.

The characters generally felt quite heartfelt, and it was easy to connect to them, even when they were not always the best of themselves. They felt very three-dimensional. Their grief, struggles, and healing was all really well done. Also, not to give anything away, but this is not a romance, and I really appreciated that. The book is deeper and goes into bigger issues with aplomb.

What left me wanting more: The way that Dew obsesses about Naima was a bit troubling to me, as it seemed almost stalker level. I found it a bit weird that most of the adults (except his mother) were encouraging this, especially when Naima was pushing him so hard to go away/not interested. I would have liked a more organic meeting/friendship. This felt a bit disturbing to me, and made it a little harder for me to get into the story. It does, however, get better later, but it did not set a great tone for me.

While the topics were strong, the plot meandered in places, and it seemed to get off-topic every so often that made it harder to keep going through. It was a book that was easy to stop reading without a clear driver (not quite a page-turner for me). This is personal opinion, but it just meandered a bit too much for me to be completely engrossed.

Final verdict: I would recommend this book for the way it handles mental illness and therapy as well as grief beautifully. For readers who may be struggling with similar issues, this book has a lot of power.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The power of the dragon totems is no longer a...

Latest Member Reviews

Tad
Tad
 
4.5
"TAD is a colorful and engaging journey into the water, as we follow Tad, a tadpole. Tad lives with her..."
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
If...
 
3.5
"IF... is an imaginative picture book that features artwork imagining impossible scenarios in artwork, with simple text to correspond. For..."
The Three Little Yogis and the Wolf Who Lost His Breath: A Fairy Tale to Help You Feel Better (Feel-Good Fairy Tales)
 
4.0
"THE THREE LITTLE YOGIS AND THE WOLF WHO LOST HIS BREATH is a great picture book that teaches children meditation..."
Rival Magic
 
3.0
"Antonia, wizarding apprentice to Master Betrys, may not be the best at actual magic, but she tries her absolute best..."
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
"BE OUR GUEST! is a colorful book of photographs. The book takes us to a hotel, where a monkey named..."
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
"HAT TRICKS is a story of magic. Hattie the rabbit pops out of her magic hat to perform some magic...."
Stanley's Toolbox
 
4.5
"STANLEY'S TOOLBOX is a delightful board book that shows many tools in action as Stanley helps to repair Little Woo's..."
Spring Is Here!
 
5.0
"SPRING IS HERE! is a delightful board book that features several animals in the springtime setting. The book is extra..."
Lali's Feather
 
5.0
"LALI'S FEATHER is a delightful and colorful picture book that explores birds and imagination. Lali is playing when she finds..."
A Friend for Mole
 
3.5
"A FRIEND FOR MOLE is a cute picture book that speaks to unlikely friendships and shared experiences. Mole is happy..."
 
5.0
"This book is a winner the moment a reader lays eyes on that cover--and the title. My niece--who is picky..."