Pax Novis (The Pax Archives, #1)

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
640 0
Pax Novis (The Pax Archives, #1)
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
November 04, 2019
ISBN
9781640636637
Buy This Book
      

Cira Antares is deeply loyal to two things: Pax Novis—the cargo ship captained by her mother that transports supplies across war-torn star systems—and her personal mission to save war orphans. But hiding them as stowaways on the ship is illegal, and if any of them were found, not even her mother could protect Cira from the consequences. She has successfully kept her secret…until supplies start to go missing. Food. Clothing. Tools. All signs point to her stowaways, but they wouldn’t do anything to risk exposing themselves—or her. Especially not Riston, the oldest of the group and someone Cira has grown close to. Someone she might even be falling in love with... And petty thefts are only the beginning—whole ships are disappearing now. Not caught in a firefight. Not destroyed by another planet. Vanishing. Without a trace. And Pax Novis is next.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

fascinating sci-fi YA
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
PAX NOVIS is an engaging YA sci-fi novel that takes place in the future, when humans have colonized other planets. Most of the planets are at war, creating a lot of orphans, death, and destruction. The Pax ships are essentially humanitarian, with the crew having given up all allegiance to any planet/place and having Pax citizenship. The crew is mainly composed of the children of children of people who gave up allegiance and were often born and raised on the ships.

The Pax ships carry necessities like food, water, and basics to help civilians who live on the planets. Although their resources are sometimes stretched thin, they believe in their mission to make sure people are taken care of. Cira is one such Pax citizen who believes in the mission, though she does not understand why they cannot transport or offer particular aid to the orphans of the ongoing wars. She has committed treason in that she has aided children to be secretly transported and, in some cases, allowed them to remain as stowaways on board the ship.

Riston is one such stowaway, the one who has been there the longest. He is accompanied by four younger stowaways, who are all really smart and talented children. They all know the ship very well and escape detection through those means. If they are caught, the sentence could be imprisonment/forced to serve in military or dangerous factory or death (depending on age, etc.).

When items start going missing on board the Pax Novis, Cira is quick to blame the stowaways, even though they have as much to lose as anyone by the thefts/carelessness. The alternative is too dangerous- that someone else may be aboard the ship with more sinister motives. When other Pax ships begin to drop communications and then somehow disappear completely, the race is on to save their own ship from the same fate.

This book is a solid sci-fi with great world-building (or should I say universe-building). I fully comprehended the ship, the people, and the situations in this future. The characters are also fully realized, particularly Riston but also Cira, her mothers, and to a lesser extent, the other stowaways. I also really loved how the book not only gives us Riston and Cira's perspectives, but it also includes various documents that come together to give more background on the stowaways, the Pax fleet, and the group behind what is happening to the ships.

Probably one of the the best parts of the book is all the representation with Cira having two mothers plus other LGBT relationships mentioned, a few main characters (Riston, Adrienn) falling in the non-binary (using a new pronoun of ze, zis), and Cira identifying as ace/asexual. While these were not the main plot points of the story (vs. the thriller/suspense of ship sabotage, etc.), their inclusion makes the book all the stronger for it.

Because of all the world-building and character introductions, which are needed with a world so different and such a high volume of characters, the book moves pretty slowly at first. I think I would have liked less at the start in favor of a faster plot, but I imagine future books will be much faster-paced due to all the details and slow-build of this first book. I definitely want to revisit this universe and characters again, regardless.

Overall, this was a fascinating sci-fi/thrilleresque YA read that I would recommend to anyone looking for books with great representation, strong world-building, and a unique plot! I very much look forward to reading the next book.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Speak enters the world of Gossip Girl in this modern...
Sister of the Bollywood Bride
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Morgan Matson's Save the Date comes a...
Nosotros Means Us: Un cuento bilingüe
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A moving bilingual ode to the unshakeable bond between a...
Awakened Are the Starry-Eyed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new city and unexpected freedom give Andrea the fresh...
A Brutal Justice
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Protect the weak. Safety for all. Power without virtue is...
A Tale of Ashes
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Across the country, human teens are going missing, and all...
The Captain's Daughters
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What would you do if you were abducted by aliens,...
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Truth or Dare
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Summervale… One of the USA’s top vacation...
Around Curiosity's Edge: Hidden Meridians
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A hidden world waits, a dark society schemes, and a...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.7
"WHAT I LOVED: Claire is a rich Chinese girl living the high life in Shanghai with both her parents even..."
Sister of the Bollywood Bride
 
4.0
"SISTER OF THE BOLLYWOOD BRIDE is an engaging YA contemporary read about sisterhood, family, and community with a dash of..."
On the Way to Birdland
 
5.0
"Reviewed By Vincent Dublado for Readers’ Favorite A touching coming of age novel by Frank Morelli, On..."
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
"THE HOLLOW INSIDE is a shocking and riveting YA thriller. Phoenix and her mother Nina have been living out of..."
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
"SPELLS TROUBLE is a thrilling YA fantasy that takes the reader from Salem during the witch trials to the midwest..."
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
"10 TRUTHS AND A DARE is a book about family and owning up to your mistakes. Olivia is about to..."
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
"It's the start of Grand Season and Nina's chance to join the Beautiful Ones, Loisail's notable socialites, hasn't gone well...."
A Song of Wraiths and Ruin (A Song of Wraiths and Ruin #1)
 
5.0
"This was... one of the best books I've read in a long time. It was one of my absolute favorite..."
Yes No Maybe So
 
5.0
"I should start by saying I don't normally read books involving politics because I read to escape real life. That..."
Made in Korea
 
4.7
"MADE IN KOREA is a sweet romantic-comedy about competition, family, and reaching for your dreams. Valerie runs a very successful..."
The Keeper of Night
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF DR.IFADE CONTACT ON WHATS_APP NUMBER +1(551)333-5249. OR HIS EMAIL ..."
Perfectly Parvin
 
5.0
"PERFECTLY PARVIN is a laugh-out-loud, charming YA contemporary fiction read. Parvin is about to begin her freshman year of high..."