Our Year in Love and Parties

Featured
Our Year of Love and Parties
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
14+
Release Date
October 08, 2019
ISBN
978-0062410238
Buy This Book
      

In this poignant, funny, and romantic novel, four nights of epic partying will see two teens through their highest highs and lowest lows over the course of one unforgettable year. Perfect for fans of Gayle Forman and Mary H.K. Choi! Tucker knows that some relationships take work. With his best friend, Bobby, and his mom, everything is simple, steady. His dad, on the other hand, seems to only show up when he wants to bring Tucker down. Then there’s Erika Green, who comes back into his life, stirring up old feelings. A small part of him knows he shouldn’t get too attached during senior year. But a bigger part doesn’t want her to disappear again. Erika from before the video loved to shock people. Now, she just wants to hole up in her quiet college life and leave the past where it belongs—in a dumpster fire. But then she reconnects with Tucker Campanelli. Erika can’t explain what it is about him. There’s just this undeniable connection between them, and she really doesn’t want to lose that feeling. Not yet.

Editor review

1 review
Intriguing Coming of Age Tale
Overall rating
 
4.0
Plot
 
3.0
Characters
 
4.0
Writing Style
 
5.0
What I loved:

The story was told through the unique lens of four specific events with time skips in between. Hattrup did a brilliant job of revealing the characters through these events without info dumping or skimping out on development. Every bit of angst and adolescent awkwardness was captured to a tee, making the reader alternately cringe and laugh and cry throughout the reading.
The writing was engaging, and sticking to important events left no room for lagging so this is a book a person could easily stay up all night to finish without even realizing the hours are ticking by.

Where I Wanted More:

Though I suspect the lack of resolution was an intentional, telling aspect of life and relationships in late teen years, it did lend itself to a degree of dissatisfaction. Things that might have been important appear markedly less so in the light of the ending.

The Bottom Line:

Our Year and Love in Parties is a poignant, relatable coming-of-age tale that is sure to appeal to fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account