Fan the Fame

 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
485 0
Fan the Fame
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
August 20, 2019
ISBN
978-0062560841
Buy This Book
      
Sometimes before you can build something up, you have to burn it down. Fans of Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl and Jennifer Mathieu’s Moxie will fall in love with this fiercely crafted YA novel about followers, fame, and fighting for what’s right.

Lainey wouldn’t mind lugging a camera around a video game convention for her mega-famous brother, aka YouTube streamer Codemeister, except for one big problem. He’s funny and charming online, but behind closed doors, Cody is a sexist jerk.

SamTheBrave came to this year’s con with one mission: meeting Codemeister—because getting his idol’s attention could be the big break Sam needs.

ShadowWillow is already a successful streamer. But when her fans start shipping her with Code, Shadow concocts a plan to turn the rumors to her advantage.

The three teens’ paths collide when Lainey records one of Cody’s hateful rants on video and decides to spill the truth to her brother’s fans—even if that means putting Sam and Shadow in the crosshairs.

Told through three relatable voices, this contemporary YA novel from the author of the widely praised Kat and Meg Conquer the World skillfully balances feminism, accountability, and doing the right thing—even when it hurts.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

surpassed all my expectations
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
WHAT I LOVED:
Excuse me, who gave Anna Priemaza permission to bug my house and use my brother and I as character inspirations?

All jokes aside, it’s eerie how similar Lainey and her brother Cody are to me and my own older brother. I plan to cut him out of my life for good once I can move out and support myself, so my life isn’t exactly fun. Fan the Fame, however, is very fun.

Something of a companion to Priemaza’s previous novel Kat and Meg Conquer the World, this book takes place over the course of a gaming convention called LotsCON. To help you understand the popularity of the Legends of the Stone game in this book, think the popularity of World of Warcraft, Fortnite, or Overwatch. It’s THAT big. Lainey doesn’t give a hoot about the game, but her brother Cody is a big-name streamer who primarily plays LotS and she’s making money from traveling with him to some cons. He’s also a really terrible person who makes pedophilic comments about a fan and then calls it a “joke” when Lainey stands up to him.

The kind of garbage Cody spouts, Lainey’s reactions to it, their mom getting onto Lainey for “being political”–seriously, this is so much like my life it’s creepy. The main differences: my brother isn’t a Youtuber/streamer and he’s a lot worse than Cody, while I’m a lot meaner than Lainey is when it comes to my garbage brother. (Also, I’m not getting into a romance with any of his acquaintances like Lainey is with fellow LotS streamer LumberLegs, who readers of Kat and Meg may remember.)

Lainey is just one of our three first-person narrators. Our remaining two are SamTheBrave, aka Sam, a bullied teenage boy who’s trying to build his following as a new LotS streamer by pitching Cody his channel at LotSCON; and ShadowWillow, aka Marissa (not that her name is used very often), a streamer of some renown who’s attending LotSCON as a panelist in her own right and looking to increase her following even more after just playing in a tournament alongside Cody gave her a massive subscriber boost. Even if she has to get into a relationship with Cody to do it, she’s determined to make her channel big enough to be a full-time job.

Lainey isn’t the only character my life inspired, apparently! Just like me and like Priemaza herself, Sam has dermatillomania. It’s better known as skin-picking disorder and that’s self-explanatory: you keep picking at your skin where you have wounds open already or even where you have pimples. It’s an OCD behavior, it’s a real pain in the rear, and it almost ensures you’re covered with scars. I wasn’t even 10 when I started having issues with picking my skin. Seeing this cruddy medical condition represented on the page really made me feel better and made Fan the Fame that much better for me. It’s made Sam so insecure and at times self-loathing that I wanted to wrap him up in a big hug and also hand him some gloves to see if that helps him like it helps me.

WHAT LEFT ME WANTING:
ShadowWillow, who prefers being referred to as Shadow and not Willow as Cody and all the shippers refer to her as, notes at one point how white and hetero the convention is. There are marginalized panelists and personalities invited, but she’s still well aware that the scene at LotSCON is very much not a diverse place. I very much appreciate that she pays attention to this fact, but it doesn’t make how white and hetero the novel is much better for me–because the major characters are almost entirely white and hetero. Queer and POC characters are very much minor players.

FINAL VERDICT:
Kat and Meg Conquer the World was a bit of an uneven read for me, so I really wasn’t sure about Fan the Fame even with the catnip-like lure of the jacket copy. I’m a sucker for books related to fandoms, y’know? Priemaza’s second novel surpassed all my expectations and has me eager to see what else is coming from her in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Mirror: Broken Wish (The Mirror, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen-year-old Elva has a secret. She has visions and strange...
How to Catch a Yeti
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the New York Times and USA Today bestselling team...
Along Came a Fox
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect story to encourage children to treat others as...
Rosa's Big Pizza Experiment (Rosa's Workshop)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Follow Rosa and her friends as they prepare pizzas! Each...
The Gilded Wolves (The Gilded Wolves, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
*AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER* ...
The Silvered Serpents (The Gilded Wolves, #2)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Returning to the dark and glamorous 19th century world of...
Warriors of Wing and Flame (Sisters of Shadow and Light, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Warriors of Wing and Flame, the spellbinding sequel to...
Sisters of Shadow and Light
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
From the acclaimed author of Defy, Sara B. Larson, Sisters...
Lightbringer (Empirium, #3)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The incredible conclusion to the Empirium Trilogy that started...
Foreshadow: Stories to Celebrate the Magic of Reading and Writing YA
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Thirteen Short Stories from Bold New YA Voices &...
Hush (Hush, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Graceling meets Red Queen in this exciting debut novel...
Twisted Pines
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Where have all the children gone? At rustic summer...
Beyond the Ruby Veil (The Walls in the Ruby Sky, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A dark, queer YA fantasy that's perfect for fans...
Rosa's Big Sunflower Experiment
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rosa's group of friends want to learn all about growing...
That Dog!
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
This brilliant second picture book from Emma Lazell--a rising star...
In the Study with the Wrench
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the aftermath of Headmaster Boddy’s murder, Blackbrook Academy...

Latest Member Reviews

How to Catch a Yeti
 
5.0
"HOW TO CATCH A YETI is a delightful picture book about a group of children who, as the title implies,..."
Along Came a Fox
 
4.0
"ALONG CAME A FOX is the story of Bramble, who is excited to find some fireflies. Her friends tell her..."
Rosa's Big Pizza Experiment (Rosa's Workshop)
 
5.0
"ROSA'S BIG PIZZA EXPERIMENT is a cute picture book about the process to make a pizza, beginning with the flour,..."
Rosa's Big Sunflower Experiment (Rosa's Workshop)
 
4.0
"ROSA'S BIG SUNFLOWER EXPERIMENT is a cute picture book that brings science and plant facts to young children. Rosa and..."
That Dog!
 
4.5
"THAT DOG! is a silly fun picture book about animal similarities and light crime solving. Penny is a dognapper, and..."
I'm a Zcary Vampire
 
3.5
"I'M A ZCARY VAMPIRE is an overall cute picture book read that is great for the lead up to Halloween...."
Heroes Level Up (Homerooms & Hall Passes #2)
 
5.0
"Albiorix and his crew are having a great time being back in Bríandalör, successfully completing a lot of quests, but..."
Last: The Story of a White Rhino
 
4.5
"LAST: THE STORY OF A WHITE RHINO tells the story of the real rhino, Sudan, who is one of the..."
When Pumpkins Fly
 
3.5
"WHEN PUMPKINS FLY is about the arrival of pumpkins via plane that are then taken to the classroom where children..."
Owl Always Love You
 
5.0
"OWL ALWAYS LOVE YOU is a sweet board book that is made for bedtime. It is a sweet poem about..."
Twins
 
4.0
"Francine and Maureen feel differently about starting middle school; Francine is reinventing herself, going by "Fran"and rocking a hat an..."
Eleanor, Anna, and the Roosevelt Ghosts
 
5.0
"Eleanor Roosevelt has been living with her Grandmother Hall since her mother and father have both passed away. The older..."
When I Grow Up, I Want to Drive
 
4.5
"WHEN I GROW UP, I WANT TO DRIVE... is a cute lift-the-flap adventure of different work vehicles in action. On..."
Dragon Mountain
 
5.0
"Billy Chan has gotten an invitation to attend Camp Dragon, a cultural and language school in China, so his parents..."
Yara's Spring
 
5.0
"Yara and her younger brother Saad are in a refugee camp in Jordan in 2016, waiting to hear what their..."
Cherry Blossom and Paper Planes
 
5.0
"CHERRY BLOSSOM AND PAPER PLANES is a lovely picture book read about friendship that spans distance. Dina and Adin are..."
This is My Daddy!
 
4.5
"THIS IS MY DADDY! is an overall cute and simple concept that makes a great gift for fathers of young..."
Peep!
 
3.0
"PEEP! is a board book that relies on illustrations to tell a story. A duckling hatches and sees a boy..."
The Blue Giant
 
4.5
"THE BLUE GIANT is a picture book that discusses ocean pollution in easy to understand terms. Meera and her mother..."
Cleo Porter and the Body Electric
 
5.0
"It's 2096, Cleo Porter and her parents never leave their apartment. It has no doors, no windows, and only a..."