Fan the Fame

 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
440 0
Fan the Fame
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
August 20, 2019
ISBN
978-0062560841
Buy This Book
      
Sometimes before you can build something up, you have to burn it down. Fans of Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl and Jennifer Mathieu’s Moxie will fall in love with this fiercely crafted YA novel about followers, fame, and fighting for what’s right.

Lainey wouldn’t mind lugging a camera around a video game convention for her mega-famous brother, aka YouTube streamer Codemeister, except for one big problem. He’s funny and charming online, but behind closed doors, Cody is a sexist jerk.

SamTheBrave came to this year’s con with one mission: meeting Codemeister—because getting his idol’s attention could be the big break Sam needs.

ShadowWillow is already a successful streamer. But when her fans start shipping her with Code, Shadow concocts a plan to turn the rumors to her advantage.

The three teens’ paths collide when Lainey records one of Cody’s hateful rants on video and decides to spill the truth to her brother’s fans—even if that means putting Sam and Shadow in the crosshairs.

Told through three relatable voices, this contemporary YA novel from the author of the widely praised Kat and Meg Conquer the World skillfully balances feminism, accountability, and doing the right thing—even when it hurts.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

surpassed all my expectations
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
WHAT I LOVED:
Excuse me, who gave Anna Priemaza permission to bug my house and use my brother and I as character inspirations?

All jokes aside, it’s eerie how similar Lainey and her brother Cody are to me and my own older brother. I plan to cut him out of my life for good once I can move out and support myself, so my life isn’t exactly fun. Fan the Fame, however, is very fun.

Something of a companion to Priemaza’s previous novel Kat and Meg Conquer the World, this book takes place over the course of a gaming convention called LotsCON. To help you understand the popularity of the Legends of the Stone game in this book, think the popularity of World of Warcraft, Fortnite, or Overwatch. It’s THAT big. Lainey doesn’t give a hoot about the game, but her brother Cody is a big-name streamer who primarily plays LotS and she’s making money from traveling with him to some cons. He’s also a really terrible person who makes pedophilic comments about a fan and then calls it a “joke” when Lainey stands up to him.

The kind of garbage Cody spouts, Lainey’s reactions to it, their mom getting onto Lainey for “being political”–seriously, this is so much like my life it’s creepy. The main differences: my brother isn’t a Youtuber/streamer and he’s a lot worse than Cody, while I’m a lot meaner than Lainey is when it comes to my garbage brother. (Also, I’m not getting into a romance with any of his acquaintances like Lainey is with fellow LotS streamer LumberLegs, who readers of Kat and Meg may remember.)

Lainey is just one of our three first-person narrators. Our remaining two are SamTheBrave, aka Sam, a bullied teenage boy who’s trying to build his following as a new LotS streamer by pitching Cody his channel at LotSCON; and ShadowWillow, aka Marissa (not that her name is used very often), a streamer of some renown who’s attending LotSCON as a panelist in her own right and looking to increase her following even more after just playing in a tournament alongside Cody gave her a massive subscriber boost. Even if she has to get into a relationship with Cody to do it, she’s determined to make her channel big enough to be a full-time job.

Lainey isn’t the only character my life inspired, apparently! Just like me and like Priemaza herself, Sam has dermatillomania. It’s better known as skin-picking disorder and that’s self-explanatory: you keep picking at your skin where you have wounds open already or even where you have pimples. It’s an OCD behavior, it’s a real pain in the rear, and it almost ensures you’re covered with scars. I wasn’t even 10 when I started having issues with picking my skin. Seeing this cruddy medical condition represented on the page really made me feel better and made Fan the Fame that much better for me. It’s made Sam so insecure and at times self-loathing that I wanted to wrap him up in a big hug and also hand him some gloves to see if that helps him like it helps me.

WHAT LEFT ME WANTING:
ShadowWillow, who prefers being referred to as Shadow and not Willow as Cody and all the shippers refer to her as, notes at one point how white and hetero the convention is. There are marginalized panelists and personalities invited, but she’s still well aware that the scene at LotSCON is very much not a diverse place. I very much appreciate that she pays attention to this fact, but it doesn’t make how white and hetero the novel is much better for me–because the major characters are almost entirely white and hetero. Queer and POC characters are very much minor players.

FINAL VERDICT:
Kat and Meg Conquer the World was a bit of an uneven read for me, so I really wasn’t sure about Fan the Fame even with the catnip-like lure of the jacket copy. I’m a sucker for books related to fandoms, y’know? Priemaza’s second novel surpassed all my expectations and has me eager to see what else is coming from her in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Small Crimes of Tiffany Templeton
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Serpent King meets Girl in Pieces in this moving...
A Sprinkle of Spirits (Love Sugar Magic, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Leonora Logroño has finally been introduced to her family’s bakery...
The Order of Time
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
“If you’re into secret societies, time-travel, dangerous artifacts, deadly assassins,...
Thomas Edison
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Learn about the life of Thomas Edison in this early...
Pete the Cat: 5-Minute Bedtime Stories: Includes 12 Cozy Stories!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join Pete the Cat for 12 groovy, cozy stories perfect...
Sabina: In the Eye of the Storm
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
As in Anne Frank's "Diary of a Young Girl" and...
Literally: Amazing Words and Where They Come From
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A stunning non-fiction picture book about the origins of the...
Ty's Travels: All Aboard!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join Ty on his imaginative adventures in Ty's Travels: All...
Cuddle Close, Little Koala
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A reassuring bedtime story about the special bond between a...
We Are Together
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The power of love and friendship is celebrated in this...
Rage and Ruin (The Harbinger, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Half-angel Trinity and her bonded gargoyle protector, Zayne, have been...
Diamond City (Diamond City, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
"A thrilling adventure, through a vibrant city as alive as...

Latest Member Reviews

The Small Crimes of Tiffany Templeton
 
3.0
"THE SMALL CRIMES OF TIFFANY TEMPLETON follow Tiffany after she has been released from reform school and returns to her..."
Always Forever Maybe
 
3.7
"ALWAYS FOREVER MAYBE is a YA contemporary about domestic abuse and friendship. Bee (Joanna Betts) has always felt like a..."
Rage and Ruin (The Harbinger, #2)
 
5.0
"RAGE AND RUIN is a fantastic sequel in THE HARBINGER series. Picking up where the first book left off, we..."
Diamond City (City of Steel and Diamond, #1)
 
3.3
"DIAMOND CITY follows Aina, an assassin. Aina was out on the streets as a young child, when her parents were..."
Shadow of the Batgirl
 
4.7
"SHADOW OF THE BATGIRL is an origin story for Cassandra Cain. Cassandra was raised by her villain father as a..."
That's Not What Happened
 
4.7
"WHAT I LOVED: There have been countless school shootings in the United States and hundreds if not thousands of..."
Of Ice and Shadows
 
3.7
"WHAT I LOVED: One of my biggest complaints about Of Fire and Stars was its lacking characterization, but that’s been..."
Agnes at the End of the World
 
5.0
"AGNES AT THE END OF THE WORLD is a poignant YA dystopian that really speaks to humanity and the present...."
The Falling in Love Montage
 
5.0
"THE FALLING IN LOVE MONTAGE is a beautiful YA contemporary romance that follows Saoirse (Seer-sha). Saoirse speaks to the reader..."
Crave
 
4.3
"After the death of her parents, Grace comes to an Alaskan boarding school. Once there, she senses something is 'off'..."
You Brought Me the Ocean
 
3.7
"YOU BROUGHT ME THE OCEAN is a graphic novel of the origin story for Aqualad. Jake is 17 and living..."
The Most Dangerous Place on Earth
 
2.0
" I received a free copy from the publisher through Netgalley. The Most Dangerous Place on Earth centers around a..."
Pumpkinheads
 
4.7
"I am pretty new to graphic novels so when I won a copy of 'Pumpkin Heads' on GoodReads I was..."
Burn
 
3.7
"BURN imagines a world that is just like ours, except that dragons exist. Dragons have been around for longer than..."
Wonder Woman: Tempest Tossed
 
5.0
"WONDER WOMAN: TEMPEST TOSSED is a fantastic new story featuring Diana coming into her own. She has been raised among..."
The Archer at Dawn (The Tiger at Midnight, #2)
 
5.0
"THE ARCHER AT DAWN is a fantastic sequel in the THE TIGER AT MIDNIGHT trilogy. This second book picks up..."
My Calamity Jane
 
5.0
"What worked: This is a fun paranormal twist on historical figures set in the Wild West of 1876. I loved..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
5.0
"FEEDBACK This book was everything I wanted and more. It begins with Kallia and her performance. It quickly descends into..."
The State of Us
 
5.0
"THE STATE OF US is a really fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows the children of two political rivals. Dean's..."
Live Like Legends
 
5.0
"LIVE LIKE LEGENDS is an absolutely fantastic YA fantasy romance. We follow Kalista, who is a princess born to be..."