Fan the Fame

 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
366 0
Fan the Fame
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
August 20, 2019
ISBN
978-0062560841
Buy This Book
      
Sometimes before you can build something up, you have to burn it down. Fans of Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl and Jennifer Mathieu’s Moxie will fall in love with this fiercely crafted YA novel about followers, fame, and fighting for what’s right.

Lainey wouldn’t mind lugging a camera around a video game convention for her mega-famous brother, aka YouTube streamer Codemeister, except for one big problem. He’s funny and charming online, but behind closed doors, Cody is a sexist jerk.

SamTheBrave came to this year’s con with one mission: meeting Codemeister—because getting his idol’s attention could be the big break Sam needs.

ShadowWillow is already a successful streamer. But when her fans start shipping her with Code, Shadow concocts a plan to turn the rumors to her advantage.

The three teens’ paths collide when Lainey records one of Cody’s hateful rants on video and decides to spill the truth to her brother’s fans—even if that means putting Sam and Shadow in the crosshairs.

Told through three relatable voices, this contemporary YA novel from the author of the widely praised Kat and Meg Conquer the World skillfully balances feminism, accountability, and doing the right thing—even when it hurts.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

surpassed all my expectations
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
WHAT I LOVED:
Excuse me, who gave Anna Priemaza permission to bug my house and use my brother and I as character inspirations?

All jokes aside, it’s eerie how similar Lainey and her brother Cody are to me and my own older brother. I plan to cut him out of my life for good once I can move out and support myself, so my life isn’t exactly fun. Fan the Fame, however, is very fun.

Something of a companion to Priemaza’s previous novel Kat and Meg Conquer the World, this book takes place over the course of a gaming convention called LotsCON. To help you understand the popularity of the Legends of the Stone game in this book, think the popularity of World of Warcraft, Fortnite, or Overwatch. It’s THAT big. Lainey doesn’t give a hoot about the game, but her brother Cody is a big-name streamer who primarily plays LotS and she’s making money from traveling with him to some cons. He’s also a really terrible person who makes pedophilic comments about a fan and then calls it a “joke” when Lainey stands up to him.

The kind of garbage Cody spouts, Lainey’s reactions to it, their mom getting onto Lainey for “being political”–seriously, this is so much like my life it’s creepy. The main differences: my brother isn’t a Youtuber/streamer and he’s a lot worse than Cody, while I’m a lot meaner than Lainey is when it comes to my garbage brother. (Also, I’m not getting into a romance with any of his acquaintances like Lainey is with fellow LotS streamer LumberLegs, who readers of Kat and Meg may remember.)

Lainey is just one of our three first-person narrators. Our remaining two are SamTheBrave, aka Sam, a bullied teenage boy who’s trying to build his following as a new LotS streamer by pitching Cody his channel at LotSCON; and ShadowWillow, aka Marissa (not that her name is used very often), a streamer of some renown who’s attending LotSCON as a panelist in her own right and looking to increase her following even more after just playing in a tournament alongside Cody gave her a massive subscriber boost. Even if she has to get into a relationship with Cody to do it, she’s determined to make her channel big enough to be a full-time job.

Lainey isn’t the only character my life inspired, apparently! Just like me and like Priemaza herself, Sam has dermatillomania. It’s better known as skin-picking disorder and that’s self-explanatory: you keep picking at your skin where you have wounds open already or even where you have pimples. It’s an OCD behavior, it’s a real pain in the rear, and it almost ensures you’re covered with scars. I wasn’t even 10 when I started having issues with picking my skin. Seeing this cruddy medical condition represented on the page really made me feel better and made Fan the Fame that much better for me. It’s made Sam so insecure and at times self-loathing that I wanted to wrap him up in a big hug and also hand him some gloves to see if that helps him like it helps me.

WHAT LEFT ME WANTING:
ShadowWillow, who prefers being referred to as Shadow and not Willow as Cody and all the shippers refer to her as, notes at one point how white and hetero the convention is. There are marginalized panelists and personalities invited, but she’s still well aware that the scene at LotSCON is very much not a diverse place. I very much appreciate that she pays attention to this fact, but it doesn’t make how white and hetero the novel is much better for me–because the major characters are almost entirely white and hetero. Queer and POC characters are very much minor players.

FINAL VERDICT:
Kat and Meg Conquer the World was a bit of an uneven read for me, so I really wasn’t sure about Fan the Fame even with the catnip-like lure of the jacket copy. I’m a sucker for books related to fandoms, y’know? Priemaza’s second novel surpassed all my expectations and has me eager to see what else is coming from her in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Nest That Wren Built
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Nature lovers and poetry fans alike will be drawn to...
Elysium Girls
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From a lush, dazzlingly original new voice in young adult...
The Lost Legends
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
A plague. A prophecy. A centuries-long curse. All her...
In the Hall with the Knife
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A murderer could be around every corner in this...
Girls With Razor Hearts
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Make me a girl with a razor heart… It’s...
Come Tumbling Down (Wayward Children #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The fifth installment in Seanan McGuire's award-winning, bestselling Wayward...
When Wishes Bleed
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
One Prince. One Witch. One Fate. The upheaval in...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ali McMillian almost drowned. It wasn’t a run-of-the-mill accident either;...
Ember Queen (Ash Princess, #3)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The thrilling conclusion to the New York Times bestselling...
Moonscript
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It is said that Darkness is empty and whatever vanishes...
The Lucky Ones
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Thirteen Reasons Why, This Is How It...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A captivating and utterly original fairy tale about a girl...
Meet Me at Midnight
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They have a love-hate relationship with summer. ...
Sword in the Stars (Once & Future, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this epic sequel to Once & Future, to save...
11004295_10203571569113600_1962266189_n.jpg
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
*****Best YA Book & Author of the Year***** The...
We Unleash the Merciless Storm
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Being a part of the resistance group La Voz...

Latest Member Reviews

Elysium Girls
 
4.3
"ELYSIUM GIRLS is an engaging YA historical fantasy/dystopian. In the 1930s, an area of Oklahoma suddenly got cut off from..."
Girls With Razor Hearts
 
5.0
"Now that Mena and the other girls have escaped Innovations Academy, they find their past hasn't left them. Mena vows..."
The Lucky Ones
 
5.0
"THE LUCKY ONES is quite an emotional ride. The book follows May and Zach in alternating first person points-of-view. May..."
 
4.0
"GIRL, SERPENT, THORN is a YA fairytale retelling by Melissa Bashardoust. The story follows Soraya, a princess who is cursed..."
Meet Me at Midnight
 
4.0
"MEET ME AT MIDNIGHT is a book that reminds readers of all the possibilities and freedom of summer vacation. We..."
Sword in the Stars (Once & Future, #2)
 
5.0
"SWORD IN THE STARS is a satisfying conclusion to a delightful YA fantasy retelling of King Arthur in space! Picking..."
The Guinevere Deception (Camelot Rising, #1)
 
4.0
"THE GUINEVERE DECEPTION by Kiersten White is the first book in a YA retelling of the classic Arthurian legend. Guinevere,..."
Crave
 
4.3
"CRAVE is a really engaging new YA fantasy/paranormal romance that follows Grace in the first person. Grace lost her parents..."
Golden Arm
 
5.0
"Lazarus Weathers lives in the Jet City trailer park in Seattle with his mother and half brother, Antonio. He has..."
Ember Queen (Ash Princess, #3)
 
4.3
"EMBER QUEEN is a great conclusion to the Ash Princess trilogy. Picking up right where book 2 left off, Theo..."
Kissing Lessons
 
5.0
"'Kissing Lessons' by Sophie Jordan is a well-written, entertaining story about a variety of main characters, including Hayden Vargas, Nolan..."
Lady Smoke (Ash Princess, #2)
 
5.0
"LADY SMOKE is every bit as addictive as the first in this engrossing trilogy. Picking up where the first book..."
The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
4.0
"The Queen's Assassin is a fantasy romance geared toward the younger YA reader. It is told from the first person..."
Ash Princess (Ash Princess, #1)
 
5.0
"ASH PRINCESS is an engaging YA fantasy that takes us to the conquered land of Astrea. Theodosia's mother, the Fire..."
The Everything I Have Lost
 
4.3
"At age twelve, Julia starts writing in a diary. She writes about what she witnesses in her town of Juarez,..."
Sting
 
3.3
"STING is an intriguing YA dystopian retelling of THE COUNT OF MONTE CHRISTO. The world has been ravaged by climate..."
The Paper Girl of Paris
 
4.0
"The Paper Girl of Paris is written by journalist Jordyn Taylor and is set in both historical 1940’s and nowadays..."
The Midnight Lie (The Midnight Lie, #1)
 
5.0
"THE MIDNIGHT LIE is a lush and atmospheric YA fantasy. The book transports us to another world, where people are..."
Defy the Sun (The Offering Series, #2)
 
4.7
"DEFY THE SUN is a fantastic conclusion to this YA fantasy duology. This book picks up right where the first..."
We Unleash the Merciless Storm
 
3.7
"Carmen Santos cover as a La Voz soldier has been exposed. She flees back to the La Voz's headquarters, leaving..."