A Constellation of Roses

Featured
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
1386 0
A Constellation of Roses
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
November 05, 2019
ISBN
978-0062747105
Buy This Book
      

Perfect for fans of Tell Me Three Things and The Astonishing Color of After, A Constellation of Roses is brimming with a magic all its own—lovable and flawed characters, an evocative setting, and friendships to treasure. Ever since her troubled mother abandoned her, Trix McCabe has preferred to stay on the move. But when she lands with her long-lost relatives, she finds out that the McCabe women have talents like her own that defy explanation: pies that cure all ills, palm-reading that never misses the mark, knowledge of secrets that have never been told. Before long, Trix feels like she might finally have found somewhere she belongs. But when her past comes back to haunt her, she’ll have to decide whether to take a chance on this new life . . . or keep running from the one she’s always known. More magic awaits in the stunning companion novel, The Deepest Roots, which Booklist called “a must-read” in a starred review!

Editor reviews

2 reviews

A Constellation of Roses Review
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
I will admit, I went into this book knowing nothing. The cover and title caught my attention, and I'm so glad I took the chance!

Right from the beginning the story drew me in with Trix's ability to manipulate shadows. Living on her own after her mother's disappearance and running from the group homes and foster families, Trix is barely getting by via stealing. When she's caught, instead of being charged and tried, she has the chance to go live with a long lost aunt and finish high school.

She goes to live with this new family--her aunt, grandmother, and cousin--and as she learns more about these relatives and the father she never knew, she begins to see that there is more to life and she really has the opportunity to start over. Not only do these relatives take her in with open arms, they also have special abilities.

Now, while there are these gifts, I would not categorize this book as fantasy. They're subtle and not a huge focus of the story. And it is the only fantasy element; there aren't even others with abilities.

A Constellation of Roses is a heartbreaking, beautiful story. The focus on family, friends, and moving on from one's past is executed so well. I love strong family ties in books. The author really showed what it's like to have both positive and troubled relationships, which is important in this genre. It gave the book a realistic and relatable quality, even for those who have never experienced the degree of hardships Trix faces.

I truly enjoyed this book and highly recommend it!
Good Points
- Strong family relationships
- Intriguing from the beginning
- Relatable characters and situations
- Emotional story (in a good way)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
absolutely gorgeous story
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
A CONSTELLATION OF ROSES is a beautiful story of familial love and healing. Trix has been trying to make her way on her own for the last six months since she ran away from a bad group home. Her mother is an addict who had been unreliable all Trix's life before eventually walking out and never coming back. Trix survives by stealing, something for which she has an uncanny ability. When she is found by the police and case worker, she is given an ultimatum- either be tried as an adult for theft or go live with a relative she has never heard of and graduate from high school.

Trix takes the deal, but everything in her still says to run. It turns out that the father she never met had a sister who also has a daughter, about her age. Trix is filled with questions, especially since it seems all the McCabe women have a special gift.

With a magical realism slant, this is a fantastic story about emotional healing and accepting love (from family). A few of the minor themes like depression/suicide add some strong messages that I appreciated being included. The characters are all so beautifully crafted, and I fell in love with all of them. Auntie was hilarious, Mia was so kind and amazing, Trix is incredible, and then there's Jasper and Ember and I just loved it all.

I highly recommend picking up this book- it's absolutely fantastic and so heartfelt. This was such a beautiful journey, and I really loved every second.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Small Crimes of Tiffany Templeton
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Serpent King meets Girl in Pieces in this moving...
A Sprinkle of Spirits (Love Sugar Magic, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Leonora Logroño has finally been introduced to her family’s bakery...
The Order of Time
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
“If you’re into secret societies, time-travel, dangerous artifacts, deadly assassins,...
Thomas Edison
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Learn about the life of Thomas Edison in this early...
Pete the Cat: 5-Minute Bedtime Stories: Includes 12 Cozy Stories!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join Pete the Cat for 12 groovy, cozy stories perfect...
Sabina: In the Eye of the Storm
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
As in Anne Frank's "Diary of a Young Girl" and...
Literally: Amazing Words and Where They Come From
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A stunning non-fiction picture book about the origins of the...
Ty's Travels: All Aboard!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join Ty on his imaginative adventures in Ty's Travels: All...
Cuddle Close, Little Koala
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A reassuring bedtime story about the special bond between a...
We Are Together
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The power of love and friendship is celebrated in this...
Rage and Ruin (The Harbinger, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Half-angel Trinity and her bonded gargoyle protector, Zayne, have been...
Diamond City (Diamond City, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
"A thrilling adventure, through a vibrant city as alive as...
Shadow of the Batgirl
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Cassandra Cain, teenage assassin, isn't exactly Batgirl material...yet. Will she...
Of Ice and Shadows
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The long-awaited sequel to Of Fire and Stars—in which Mare...
Agnes at the End of the World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid's Tale meets Wilder Girls in this genre-defying novel...
My Love is All Around
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mommy Bear shows Baby Bear how love is all around...

Latest Member Reviews

The Small Crimes of Tiffany Templeton
 
3.0
"THE SMALL CRIMES OF TIFFANY TEMPLETON follow Tiffany after she has been released from reform school and returns to her..."
Always Forever Maybe
 
3.7
"ALWAYS FOREVER MAYBE is a YA contemporary about domestic abuse and friendship. Bee (Joanna Betts) has always felt like a..."
Rage and Ruin (The Harbinger, #2)
 
5.0
"RAGE AND RUIN is a fantastic sequel in THE HARBINGER series. Picking up where the first book left off, we..."
Diamond City (City of Steel and Diamond, #1)
 
3.3
"DIAMOND CITY follows Aina, an assassin. Aina was out on the streets as a young child, when her parents were..."
Shadow of the Batgirl
 
4.7
"SHADOW OF THE BATGIRL is an origin story for Cassandra Cain. Cassandra was raised by her villain father as a..."
That's Not What Happened
 
4.7
"WHAT I LOVED: There have been countless school shootings in the United States and hundreds if not thousands of..."
Of Ice and Shadows
 
3.7
"WHAT I LOVED: One of my biggest complaints about Of Fire and Stars was its lacking characterization, but that’s been..."
Agnes at the End of the World
 
5.0
"AGNES AT THE END OF THE WORLD is a poignant YA dystopian that really speaks to humanity and the present...."
The Falling in Love Montage
 
5.0
"THE FALLING IN LOVE MONTAGE is a beautiful YA contemporary romance that follows Saoirse (Seer-sha). Saoirse speaks to the reader..."
Crave
 
4.3
"After the death of her parents, Grace comes to an Alaskan boarding school. Once there, she senses something is 'off'..."
You Brought Me the Ocean
 
3.7
"YOU BROUGHT ME THE OCEAN is a graphic novel of the origin story for Aqualad. Jake is 17 and living..."
The Most Dangerous Place on Earth
 
2.0
" I received a free copy from the publisher through Netgalley. The Most Dangerous Place on Earth centers around a..."
Pumpkinheads
 
4.7
"I am pretty new to graphic novels so when I won a copy of 'Pumpkin Heads' on GoodReads I was..."
Burn
 
3.7
"BURN imagines a world that is just like ours, except that dragons exist. Dragons have been around for longer than..."
Wonder Woman: Tempest Tossed
 
5.0
"WONDER WOMAN: TEMPEST TOSSED is a fantastic new story featuring Diana coming into her own. She has been raised among..."
The Archer at Dawn (The Tiger at Midnight, #2)
 
5.0
"THE ARCHER AT DAWN is a fantastic sequel in the THE TIGER AT MIDNIGHT trilogy. This second book picks up..."
My Calamity Jane
 
5.0
"What worked: This is a fun paranormal twist on historical figures set in the Wild West of 1876. I loved..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
5.0
"FEEDBACK This book was everything I wanted and more. It begins with Kallia and her performance. It quickly descends into..."
The State of Us
 
5.0
"THE STATE OF US is a really fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows the children of two political rivals. Dean's..."
Live Like Legends
 
5.0
"LIVE LIKE LEGENDS is an absolutely fantastic YA fantasy romance. We follow Kalista, who is a princess born to be..."