A Treason of Thorns

Featured
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
437 0
A Treason of Thorns
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
September 10, 2019
ISBN
978-0062696908
Buy This Book
      

Dark, gripping, and utterly unique, this atmospheric historical fantasy from critically acclaimed author Laura E. Weymouth is perfect for fans of The Hazel Wood and Caraval. Violet Sterling has spent the last seven years in exile, longing to return to Burleigh House. One of the six great houses of England, Burleigh’s magic kept both the countryside and Violet happy. That is, until her father’s treason destroyed everything. Now she’s been given a chance to return home. But Burleigh isn’t what she remembered. Wild with grief, Burleigh’s very soul is crying out in pain. As its tormented magic ravages the countryside, Vi must decide how far she’s willing to go to save her house—before her house destroys everything she’s ever known. A house left unchecked will lead to ruin. But I will not let it ruin me.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

engaging historical fantasy
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
A TREASON OF THORNS is a dark and enchanting YA historical fantasy. Violet comes from a long line of Caretakers, people who help the magical houses to expel their energy and remain safe/standing with the aid of a special key that keeps the magic (mortar) from killing them. She knows that she must put her house first, and she loves it dearly. She was exiled from her home as a young child when her father was sentenced to House Arrest, a condition which is deadly for Caretakers, as the key which allows them to handle the house magic safely is taken from them.

She knows that when her father dies, she will need to return to help the house as its Caretaker. However, Burleigh (Violet's house), like the other houses in England, are under the ownership of the King, who keeps the deeds secreted away, and who can control the houses- and thus the Caretakers. Violet must beg for the chance to be a Caretaker. When the King allows her to return but without the key, Violet knows she will have some difficult decisions to make. However, as she was raised to believe, the house comes first.

Burleigh is in disrepair and very unhealthy when Violet returns, and so, her path forward is very difficult. Dealing not only with politics by way of the King and his lackies, Violet must contend with the house, its magic that could kill her, and the decisions her father had made in the past. There is also Wyn, a boy which Violet grew up with but who was trapped in the house with her father during the house arrest. Twisty and unexpected, this was a slow-building and intense YA fantasy with themes of family, love, duty, and questioning the general knowledge.

What I loved: The book completely pulls you in from the first page with this new world and its many challenges. Like Violet, the reader becomes submerged in Burleigh, its idiosyncrasies and its truths. There are relatively few main characters, and the biggest is, of course, Burleigh, which makes for some intense character-building and deep storytelling. Violet is a precocious child and an inquisitive and obstinate teen/adult that make her three-dimensional and not always easy to like. However, through the pages, her emotions and complexity make her so much more real.

What left me wanting more: We get glimpses into the wider world, particularly through one of the side characters. I would have liked to see more of the other houses and the build of this unique world, but I do understand the focus and intensity given to the plot as centering only on Burleigh. I also would have loved to see more through Wyn's perspective- he's an interesting character and shrouded mostly for the mystery of it. As such, I felt like we did not get to know him as well as I would have liked to.

Final verdict: Darkly enchanting, A TREASON OF THORNS will captivate the reader into the small and magical world of Burleigh. This is a unique historical fantasy that I would recommend for fans of GILDED CAGE and/or THE WAKING LAND.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A groovy New York Times bestseller! ...
Seneca Element (The Seneca Society Book 2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you knew that creating singularity between your mind...
Our Year of Love and Parties
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this poignant, funny, and romantic novel, four nights...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Elemental Manipulation is tricky. Only those with the power can...
The Path Divided
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every choice has a consequence. When a magical picture...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Marlee Stanley joins her two sisters and the...
Shadowscent
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
An Ember in the Ashes meets Indiana Jones in...
Reverie
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inception meets The Magicians, except with better wigs and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
They call me the Dark Queen… Ryleigh...
Scarred
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
Life leaves you scarred. Love can make you beautiful....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two friends in the 1980's were graduating from Cosmetology School....
Twisting Minds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
How can you trust your heart when you can't trust...
The Art of Holding On
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life happens, whether you’re ready or not. All you can...
Breaking Through: How Female Athletes Shattered Stereotypes in the Roaring Twenties
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author Sue Macy offers a fresh and timely account...
Outlawed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
OUTLANDER meets Robin Hood. Traveling through time...
The Path We Take
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He’s alone He’s tattooed He’s badly burnt ...

Latest Member Reviews

Scavenge the Stars (Scavenge the Stars #1)
 
5.0
"SCAVENGE THE STARS is an engaging YA fantasy that gripped me from the start. Amaya, or Silverfish, is a girl..."
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
"Isn't great to finish a series and feel satisfied? Sword and Pen by Rachel Caine is the final book in..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
3.7
"I snapped this one up because I love Wonder Woman, and I much appreciated Leigh Bardugo's adept writing in Six..."
Our Year in Love and Parties
 
4.0
"What I loved: The story was told through the unique lens of four specific events with..."
Jack Kerouac is Dead to Me
 
4.3
"JACK KEROUAC IS DEAD TO ME is Gae Polisner’s most recent YA Contemporary novel. Like in her other books, she..."
Woven in Moonlight
 
5.0
"Woven in Moonlight is a beautiful and lush fantasy, based on the culture and history of Bolivia. It is set..."
We Are All His Creatures: Tales of P. T. Barnum, the Greatest Showman
 
3.0
"WE ARE ALL HIS CREATURES by Deborah Noyes is a series of eleven short stories about the beloved showman, P.T...."
Jane Anonymous: A Novel
 
4.7
"JANE ANONYMOUS follows two timelines: one while Jane was captured for 7 months and one after she is back home...."
Finding Mr. Better-Than-You
 
4.3
"FINDING MR. BETTER-THAN-YOU starts off like a cheesy romantic comedy, but ends up being a lot more fulfilling light-hearted YA..."
Freaky in Fresno
 
3.7
"FREAKY IN FRESNO is a spin on the old novel, FREAKY FRIDAY. Ricki (nickname for Lyric) had a falling out..."
Only Mostly Devastated
 
4.3
"ONLY MOSTLY DEVASTATED is a charming YA contemporary romance that follows Ollie. Ollie had lived in California, until this year..."
Neffatira's First Challenge
 
5.0
"The descriptions are very beautiful and you can perceive the feelings of the characters to the point of empathy. ..."