A Treason of Thorns

Featured
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
344 0
A Treason of Thorns
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
September 10, 2019
ISBN
978-0062696908
Buy This Book
      

Dark, gripping, and utterly unique, this atmospheric historical fantasy from critically acclaimed author Laura E. Weymouth is perfect for fans of The Hazel Wood and Caraval. Violet Sterling has spent the last seven years in exile, longing to return to Burleigh House. One of the six great houses of England, Burleigh’s magic kept both the countryside and Violet happy. That is, until her father’s treason destroyed everything. Now she’s been given a chance to return home. But Burleigh isn’t what she remembered. Wild with grief, Burleigh’s very soul is crying out in pain. As its tormented magic ravages the countryside, Vi must decide how far she’s willing to go to save her house—before her house destroys everything she’s ever known. A house left unchecked will lead to ruin. But I will not let it ruin me.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

engaging historical fantasy
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
A TREASON OF THORNS is a dark and enchanting YA historical fantasy. Violet comes from a long line of Caretakers, people who help the magical houses to expel their energy and remain safe/standing with the aid of a special key that keeps the magic (mortar) from killing them. She knows that she must put her house first, and she loves it dearly. She was exiled from her home as a young child when her father was sentenced to House Arrest, a condition which is deadly for Caretakers, as the key which allows them to handle the house magic safely is taken from them.

She knows that when her father dies, she will need to return to help the house as its Caretaker. However, Burleigh (Violet's house), like the other houses in England, are under the ownership of the King, who keeps the deeds secreted away, and who can control the houses- and thus the Caretakers. Violet must beg for the chance to be a Caretaker. When the King allows her to return but without the key, Violet knows she will have some difficult decisions to make. However, as she was raised to believe, the house comes first.

Burleigh is in disrepair and very unhealthy when Violet returns, and so, her path forward is very difficult. Dealing not only with politics by way of the King and his lackies, Violet must contend with the house, its magic that could kill her, and the decisions her father had made in the past. There is also Wyn, a boy which Violet grew up with but who was trapped in the house with her father during the house arrest. Twisty and unexpected, this was a slow-building and intense YA fantasy with themes of family, love, duty, and questioning the general knowledge.

What I loved: The book completely pulls you in from the first page with this new world and its many challenges. Like Violet, the reader becomes submerged in Burleigh, its idiosyncrasies and its truths. There are relatively few main characters, and the biggest is, of course, Burleigh, which makes for some intense character-building and deep storytelling. Violet is a precocious child and an inquisitive and obstinate teen/adult that make her three-dimensional and not always easy to like. However, through the pages, her emotions and complexity make her so much more real.

What left me wanting more: We get glimpses into the wider world, particularly through one of the side characters. I would have liked to see more of the other houses and the build of this unique world, but I do understand the focus and intensity given to the plot as centering only on Burleigh. I also would have loved to see more through Wyn's perspective- he's an interesting character and shrouded mostly for the mystery of it. As such, I felt like we did not get to know him as well as I would have liked to.

Final verdict: Darkly enchanting, A TREASON OF THORNS will captivate the reader into the small and magical world of Burleigh. This is a unique historical fantasy that I would recommend for fans of GILDED CAGE and/or THE WAKING LAND.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Gabby Garcia's Ultimate Playbook  (Gabby Garcia #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
If life were a baseball game, all-star pitcher Gabby Garcia...
Roll With It
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ellie’s a girl who tells it like it is. That...
That's What Friends Do
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Samantha Goldstein and David Fisher have been friends ever since...
Jane Anonymous: A Novel
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bestselling author Laurie Faria Stolarz’s thrilling novel Jane Anonymous is...
Someone Else's Shoes
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Izzy, a budding stand-up comic, is already miserable about...
Midnight on Strange Street
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
AVERY MILLER is looking for a fresh start, away from...
From the Desk of Zoe Washington
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zoe Washington isn’t sure what to write. What does a...
The Okay Witch
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is harder than it looks. ...
Cub
Cub
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Cindy has just dipped a toe into seventh-grade drama—with...
Speed Demon
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Eager to find his place at his elite new school,...
The Ghost in Apartment 2R
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if there was a ghost in your brother's room?...
Full Disclosure
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In a community that isn't always understanding, an HIV-positive teen...
Resurrection Girls
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Olivia Foster hasn’t felt alive since her little brother drowned...
Orpheus Girl
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In her debut novel, award-winning poet Brynne Rebele-Henry re-imagines the...
Riot Baby
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rooted in foundational loss and the hope that can live...
The Haunting of Henry Davis
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two kids are about to find out that their lives...

Latest Member Reviews

Trees: A Rooted History
 
5.0
"When I was a little girl there were only a few books that I drug around with me to stare..."
The Hideout
 
5.0
"The artistry and illustrations in The Hideout are dreamlike, painting a picture of your favorite park and woodland location hidden..."
Dog and Rabbit
 
5.0
"DOG AND RABBIT is a charming tale of friendship. Told in four parts, the book introduces Dog and then Rabbit...."
Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky (Tristan Strong #1)
 
5.0
"I never wanted to be a superhero as a child, but I wanted to do heroic things. Tristan Strong epitomizes..."
Bernard Pepperlin
 
4.0
"Bernard Pepperlin is the doormouse from Alice in Wonderland. After being forced into a teapot, Bernard climbs out to find..."
The Squatchicorns: A Delightful Read
 
4.0
"In this chapter book, The Squatchicorns by Ellen Potter, the third book in a series about a friendship between a..."
The Cook and the King
 
4.0
"'The Cook and the King' by Julia Donaldson, illustrated by David Roberts, is a cute story that shows how working..."
Santa Mouse
 
4.5
"SANTA MOUSE is a cute rhyme about a mouse who did not have a name but does have a special..."
Silly Lullaby (Boynton on Board)
 
5.0
"Boynton is a hit with toddlers, and this is another charming book that makes it easy to see why. SILLY..."
Nikki Tesla and the Ferret-Proof Death Ray
 
4.5
"Nikki Tesla is an espionage novel for pre-teens. It’s exciting, engaging, and utterly unique. Nikki Tesla is a..."
Penny and Her Sled
 
4.5
"PENNY AND HER SLED is a chapter book for early readers that follows a mouse named Penny. Penny has been..."
Twins
 
5.0
"TWINS is an adorably charming picture book that celebrates close friends, siblings, and twins (whether identical or not). A boy..."
Have You Seen My Blankie?
 
5.0
"Take a magical journey with Princess Alice in this delightful picture book. HAVE YOU SEEN MY BLANKIE? tells the story..."
Dias y Dias/Days and Days
 
4.0
"'Dias y Dias, Days and Days' by Ginger Foglesong Guy, illustrated by Rene King Moreno, is a simple story that..."
The Fowl Twins (The Fowl Twins, #1)
 
5.0
"Witty, clever, and full of mischief, THE FOWL TWINS is a spin-off of ARTEMIS FOWL that easily stands on its..."
Kai and the Monkey King (Brownstone's Mythical Collection, #3)
 
5.0
"KAI AND THE MONKEY KING is an engaging and thrilling installment in the Brownstone's Mythical Collection series. In this book,..."
The Rubicus Prophecy (The Witches of Orkney, #2)
 
3.5
"THE RUBICUS PROPHECY is an engaging second book in the WITCHES OF ORKNEY series that follows the same friends on..."
Fancy Nancy: Camp Fancy
 
5.0
"When Dad tells Nancy stories about when he and Mom used to go camping, Nancy knows it's something she has..."
A Warm Friendship
 
4.5
"A WARM FRIENDSHIP is a story of friendship and loss, celebrating the time that you have together. Squirrel finds Snowman..."
Hilda and the Mountain King (Hilda, #6)
 
5.0
"HILDA AND THE MOUNTAIN KING is an engaging and thrilling children's fantasy adventure. This graphic novel tells the story of..."