American Royals

Featured
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
2278 0
American Royals
Genre(s)
Age Range
13+
Release Date
September 03, 2019
ISBN
B07N5JDW6Q
Buy This Book
      

What if America had a royal family? If you can't get enough of Harry and Meghan or Kate and William, meet American princesses Beatrice and Samantha. Perfect for fans of Red, White, and Royal Blue! Two princesses vying for the ultimate crown. Two girls vying for the prince's heart. This is the story of the American royals. When America won the Revolutionary War, its people offered General George Washington a crown. Two and a half centuries later, the House of Washington still sits on the throne. Like most royal families, the Washingtons have an heir and a spare. A future monarch and a backup battery. Each child knows exactly what is expected of them. But these aren't just any royals. They're American. As Princess Beatrice gets closer to becoming America's first queen regnant, the duty she has embraced her entire life suddenly feels stifling. Nobody cares about the spare except when she's breaking the rules, so Princess Samantha doesn't care much about anything, either . . . except the one boy who is distinctly off-limits to her. And then there's Samantha's twin, Prince Jefferson. If he'd been born a generation earlier, he would have stood first in line for the throne, but the new laws of succession make him third. Most of America adores their devastatingly handsome prince . . . but two very different girls are vying to capture his heart.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

An American Monarchy...Need I Say More?
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
What if at the end of America’s Revolutionary War, George Washington was offered a crown and what if he said yes? This is the entire premise of Katherine McGee‘s new novel American Royals. Hooked from the first words, I became deeply committed to the modern day lives of the House of Washington. While I was initially drawn to the story because of the alternate history, I kept reading for the political intrigue and drama. If you like me are fascinated by the British monarchs, then by all means do yourself a favor and READ THIS BOOK!

Beatrice is the eldest Washington and the first in line for the throne. Not only is she the first in line, she will also be America’s first reigning queen. She never steps a toe out of line, does everything her parents require of her, all in the name of the crown and the country she will one day serve. Now her parents are requiring her to marry. They’ve given her a list of pre-approved candidates to choose from. But her heart wants someone else.

Samantha is one half of a duo, her twin brother Jefferson makes up the other half. In Sam’s eyes, Jeff is the male version of her elder sister. He can do no wrong in the eyes of her parents or the press. Sam, on the other hand, stays in trouble. She is the “spare,” the extra, the second in line for the throne. No one cares about her, at least that’s what she thinks. She is determined to be the opposite of her perfect sister. Sam is loud, parties, speaks her mind, and lets nothing hold her back. How else can she make an impact on the world?

Nina Gonzalez is Sam’s best friend. Her mother works for the Washington family and has since Nina was little. It is how she first met the precocious princess. Sam and Jeff became Nina’s constant and closest friends. But that friendship changes when Nina finds herself falling in love with the prince. Nina struggles with her feelings of inadequacy, knowing America will never accept a commoner with their prince. Will she take a chance at happiness with him anyways?

Daphne Deighton is the daughter of American nobility and the ex-girlfriend of Prince Jefferson. America’s Sweetheart to the press, Daphne is the perfect choice for Jeff to settle down with….at least on the outside. This girl is nothing that she appears to be. Determined to win a spot at Jefferson’s side, she will stop at nothing til she gets what she wants – a crown. The question is just how far she will she have to go.

Alternating chapters among the four girls’ POV, American Royals is unlike anything I’ve ever read. Twists and turns around every corner, cliched-but-can’t-stop-reading drama, and oh-so-sweet romance moves this book to the top of my favorites list. Nina’s perspective is by far my favorite as she gives a commoner’s view of the palace, political intrigue, and the royals. Beatrice is a close second with her sacrifices and secret romance.

American Royals is a must read and I cannot wait for more!

*This review first appeared on Mom with a Reading Problem - https://www.momwithareadingproblem.com
Good Points
-Political Intrigue mixed with Teenage Angst
-Interesting take on an alternate American History
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Elysium Girls
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From a lush, dazzlingly original new voice in young adult...
The Lost Legends
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
A plague. A prophecy. A centuries-long curse. All her...
In the Hall with the Knife
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A murderer could be around every corner in this...
Girls With Razor Hearts
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Make me a girl with a razor heart… It’s...
Come Tumbling Down (Wayward Children #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The fifth installment in Seanan McGuire's award-winning, bestselling Wayward...
When Wishes Bleed
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
One Prince. One Witch. One Fate. The upheaval in...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ali McMillian almost drowned. It wasn’t a run-of-the-mill accident either;...
Ember Queen (Ash Princess, #3)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The thrilling conclusion to the New York Times bestselling...
Moonscript
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It is said that Darkness is empty and whatever vanishes...
The Lucky Ones
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Thirteen Reasons Why, This Is How It...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A captivating and utterly original fairy tale about a girl...
Meet Me at Midnight
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They have a love-hate relationship with summer. ...
Sword in the Stars (Once & Future, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this epic sequel to Once & Future, to save...
11004295_10203571569113600_1962266189_n.jpg
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
*****Best YA Book & Author of the Year***** The...
We Unleash the Merciless Storm
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Being a part of the resistance group La Voz...
The Everything I Have Lost
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
12-year-old Julia keeps a diary about her life growing...

Latest Member Reviews

Elysium Girls
 
4.3
"ELYSIUM GIRLS is an engaging YA historical fantasy/dystopian. In the 1930s, an area of Oklahoma suddenly got cut off from..."
Girls With Razor Hearts
 
5.0
"Now that Mena and the other girls have escaped Innovations Academy, they find their past hasn't left them. Mena vows..."
The Lucky Ones
 
5.0
"THE LUCKY ONES is quite an emotional ride. The book follows May and Zach in alternating first person points-of-view. May..."
 
4.0
"GIRL, SERPENT, THORN is a YA fairytale retelling by Melissa Bashardoust. The story follows Soraya, a princess who is cursed..."
Meet Me at Midnight
 
4.0
"MEET ME AT MIDNIGHT is a book that reminds readers of all the possibilities and freedom of summer vacation. We..."
Sword in the Stars (Once & Future, #2)
 
5.0
"SWORD IN THE STARS is a satisfying conclusion to a delightful YA fantasy retelling of King Arthur in space! Picking..."
The Guinevere Deception (Camelot Rising, #1)
 
4.0
"THE GUINEVERE DECEPTION by Kiersten White is the first book in a YA retelling of the classic Arthurian legend. Guinevere,..."
Crave
 
4.3
"CRAVE is a really engaging new YA fantasy/paranormal romance that follows Grace in the first person. Grace lost her parents..."
Golden Arm
 
5.0
"Lazarus Weathers lives in the Jet City trailer park in Seattle with his mother and half brother, Antonio. He has..."
Ember Queen (Ash Princess, #3)
 
4.3
"EMBER QUEEN is a great conclusion to the Ash Princess trilogy. Picking up right where book 2 left off, Theo..."
Kissing Lessons
 
5.0
"'Kissing Lessons' by Sophie Jordan is a well-written, entertaining story about a variety of main characters, including Hayden Vargas, Nolan..."
Lady Smoke (Ash Princess, #2)
 
5.0
"LADY SMOKE is every bit as addictive as the first in this engrossing trilogy. Picking up where the first book..."
The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
4.0
"The Queen's Assassin is a fantasy romance geared toward the younger YA reader. It is told from the first person..."
Ash Princess (Ash Princess, #1)
 
5.0
"ASH PRINCESS is an engaging YA fantasy that takes us to the conquered land of Astrea. Theodosia's mother, the Fire..."
The Everything I Have Lost
 
4.3
"At age twelve, Julia starts writing in a diary. She writes about what she witnesses in her town of Juarez,..."
Sting
 
3.3
"STING is an intriguing YA dystopian retelling of THE COUNT OF MONTE CHRISTO. The world has been ravaged by climate..."
The Paper Girl of Paris
 
4.0
"The Paper Girl of Paris is written by journalist Jordyn Taylor and is set in both historical 1940’s and nowadays..."
The Midnight Lie (The Midnight Lie, #1)
 
5.0
"THE MIDNIGHT LIE is a lush and atmospheric YA fantasy. The book transports us to another world, where people are..."
Defy the Sun (The Offering Series, #2)
 
4.7
"DEFY THE SUN is a fantastic conclusion to this YA fantasy duology. This book picks up right where the first..."
We Unleash the Merciless Storm
 
3.7
"Carmen Santos cover as a La Voz soldier has been exposed. She flees back to the La Voz's headquarters, leaving..."