American Royals

FeaturedHot
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
3971 0
American Royals
Genre(s)
Age Range
13+
Release Date
September 03, 2019
ISBN
B07N5JDW6Q
Buy This Book
      

What if America had a royal family? If you can't get enough of Harry and Meghan or Kate and William, meet American princesses Beatrice and Samantha. Perfect for fans of Red, White, and Royal Blue! Two princesses vying for the ultimate crown. Two girls vying for the prince's heart. This is the story of the American royals. When America won the Revolutionary War, its people offered General George Washington a crown. Two and a half centuries later, the House of Washington still sits on the throne. Like most royal families, the Washingtons have an heir and a spare. A future monarch and a backup battery. Each child knows exactly what is expected of them. But these aren't just any royals. They're American. As Princess Beatrice gets closer to becoming America's first queen regnant, the duty she has embraced her entire life suddenly feels stifling. Nobody cares about the spare except when she's breaking the rules, so Princess Samantha doesn't care much about anything, either . . . except the one boy who is distinctly off-limits to her. And then there's Samantha's twin, Prince Jefferson. If he'd been born a generation earlier, he would have stood first in line for the throne, but the new laws of succession make him third. Most of America adores their devastatingly handsome prince . . . but two very different girls are vying to capture his heart.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

An American Monarchy...Need I Say More?
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
What if at the end of America’s Revolutionary War, George Washington was offered a crown and what if he said yes? This is the entire premise of Katherine McGee‘s new novel American Royals. Hooked from the first words, I became deeply committed to the modern day lives of the House of Washington. While I was initially drawn to the story because of the alternate history, I kept reading for the political intrigue and drama. If you like me are fascinated by the British monarchs, then by all means do yourself a favor and READ THIS BOOK!

Beatrice is the eldest Washington and the first in line for the throne. Not only is she the first in line, she will also be America’s first reigning queen. She never steps a toe out of line, does everything her parents require of her, all in the name of the crown and the country she will one day serve. Now her parents are requiring her to marry. They’ve given her a list of pre-approved candidates to choose from. But her heart wants someone else.

Samantha is one half of a duo, her twin brother Jefferson makes up the other half. In Sam’s eyes, Jeff is the male version of her elder sister. He can do no wrong in the eyes of her parents or the press. Sam, on the other hand, stays in trouble. She is the “spare,” the extra, the second in line for the throne. No one cares about her, at least that’s what she thinks. She is determined to be the opposite of her perfect sister. Sam is loud, parties, speaks her mind, and lets nothing hold her back. How else can she make an impact on the world?

Nina Gonzalez is Sam’s best friend. Her mother works for the Washington family and has since Nina was little. It is how she first met the precocious princess. Sam and Jeff became Nina’s constant and closest friends. But that friendship changes when Nina finds herself falling in love with the prince. Nina struggles with her feelings of inadequacy, knowing America will never accept a commoner with their prince. Will she take a chance at happiness with him anyways?

Daphne Deighton is the daughter of American nobility and the ex-girlfriend of Prince Jefferson. America’s Sweetheart to the press, Daphne is the perfect choice for Jeff to settle down with….at least on the outside. This girl is nothing that she appears to be. Determined to win a spot at Jefferson’s side, she will stop at nothing til she gets what she wants – a crown. The question is just how far she will she have to go.

Alternating chapters among the four girls’ POV, American Royals is unlike anything I’ve ever read. Twists and turns around every corner, cliched-but-can’t-stop-reading drama, and oh-so-sweet romance moves this book to the top of my favorites list. Nina’s perspective is by far my favorite as she gives a commoner’s view of the palace, political intrigue, and the royals. Beatrice is a close second with her sacrifices and secret romance.

American Royals is a must read and I cannot wait for more!

*This review first appeared on Mom with a Reading Problem - https://www.momwithareadingproblem.com
Good Points
-Political Intrigue mixed with Teenage Angst
-Interesting take on an alternate American History
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Last Fallen Star (Gifted Clans, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Riley Oh can't wait to see her sister get initiated...
Take Me Home: Forests of the World
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Bite-sized facts about forests from around the globe, pointing out...
Hurricane Summer
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In this sweeping debut, Asha Bromfield takes readers to the...
All Kinds of Other
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In this tender, nuanced coming-of-age love story, two boys—one who...
Reign of Secrets
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
At the Midnight Ball, leave your inhibitions at the...
The Forest of Stolen Girls
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1426, Joseon (Korea). Hwani's family has never been the...
Go the Distance
 
4.5 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
What if Meg had to become a god? After...
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A young prince must rely on a mysterious stranger...
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates...
Take Me Home: Waters of the World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bite-sized facts about bodies of water from around the globe,...
This Is My America
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hate U Give meets Just Mercy in this unflinching...
Colors in Nature
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magnificent, hand-painted illustrations by a rising star of Czech watercolor...
Welcome to Arizona
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Arizona! We're glad you're here! Introducing a new...
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
It's Mouse's first day of school. It's Dinosaur's first day...
Somewhere Between Bitter and Sweet
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
I'm Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter meets Emergency Contact...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved Bangladeshi...

Latest Member Reviews

Go the Distance
 
4.0
"Go the Distance by Jen Calonita is the latest installment in Disney’s Twisted Tale series. This time the story focuses..."
Unchosen
 
4.7
"UNCHOSEN by Katharyn Blair is a YA Dystopian novel set in the future after the Crimson, a virus-like curse, turns..."
Hurricane Summer
 
4.3
"HURRICANE SUMMER is a sweeping coming-of-age story that captures the difficult and at times dangerous transition to womanhood. Tilla is..."
All Kinds of Other
 
4.3
"ALL KINDS OF OTHER is an intriguing YA contemporary that follows two boys as they start at a new school...."
This Is My America
 
5.0
"WHAT I LOVED: Tracy's family is an outsider in multiple ways in their Texas town: they're one of the..."
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
"COUNTING DOWN WITH YOU is a heart-wrenching and visceral YA contemporary read. Karina (Myra is her familial name) is a..."
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
"IN DEEPER WATERS is an intriguing and fast-paced YA fantasy. Tal is the fourth of five royal children in a..."
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
"THESE FEATHERED FLAMES is an enchanting YA fantasy about sisterhood, power, and destiny. When twins are born in the royal..."
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
"THE OTHER SIDE OF PERFECT is an engrossing YA contemporary about loss, grief, moving on, friendship, and sisterhood. Alina has..."
Indivisible
 
5.0
"INDIVISIBLE is a heartfelt and riveting YA contemporary about family, feeling different, and immigration in the US. Mateo is a..."
My Last Summer with Cass
 
5.0
"“A good friendship is like a work of art.” Megan and Cass have been friends forever. Their..."
The Prison Healer (The Prison Healer, #1)
 
5.0
"THE PRISON HEALER is a stunning and captivating YA fantasy read. This book takes place in a prison, Zalindov, which..."