American Royals

Featured
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
2896 0
American Royals
Genre(s)
Age Range
13+
Release Date
September 03, 2019
ISBN
B07N5JDW6Q
Buy This Book
      

What if America had a royal family? If you can't get enough of Harry and Meghan or Kate and William, meet American princesses Beatrice and Samantha. Perfect for fans of Red, White, and Royal Blue! Two princesses vying for the ultimate crown. Two girls vying for the prince's heart. This is the story of the American royals. When America won the Revolutionary War, its people offered General George Washington a crown. Two and a half centuries later, the House of Washington still sits on the throne. Like most royal families, the Washingtons have an heir and a spare. A future monarch and a backup battery. Each child knows exactly what is expected of them. But these aren't just any royals. They're American. As Princess Beatrice gets closer to becoming America's first queen regnant, the duty she has embraced her entire life suddenly feels stifling. Nobody cares about the spare except when she's breaking the rules, so Princess Samantha doesn't care much about anything, either . . . except the one boy who is distinctly off-limits to her. And then there's Samantha's twin, Prince Jefferson. If he'd been born a generation earlier, he would have stood first in line for the throne, but the new laws of succession make him third. Most of America adores their devastatingly handsome prince . . . but two very different girls are vying to capture his heart.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

An American Monarchy...Need I Say More?
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
What if at the end of America’s Revolutionary War, George Washington was offered a crown and what if he said yes? This is the entire premise of Katherine McGee‘s new novel American Royals. Hooked from the first words, I became deeply committed to the modern day lives of the House of Washington. While I was initially drawn to the story because of the alternate history, I kept reading for the political intrigue and drama. If you like me are fascinated by the British monarchs, then by all means do yourself a favor and READ THIS BOOK!

Beatrice is the eldest Washington and the first in line for the throne. Not only is she the first in line, she will also be America’s first reigning queen. She never steps a toe out of line, does everything her parents require of her, all in the name of the crown and the country she will one day serve. Now her parents are requiring her to marry. They’ve given her a list of pre-approved candidates to choose from. But her heart wants someone else.

Samantha is one half of a duo, her twin brother Jefferson makes up the other half. In Sam’s eyes, Jeff is the male version of her elder sister. He can do no wrong in the eyes of her parents or the press. Sam, on the other hand, stays in trouble. She is the “spare,” the extra, the second in line for the throne. No one cares about her, at least that’s what she thinks. She is determined to be the opposite of her perfect sister. Sam is loud, parties, speaks her mind, and lets nothing hold her back. How else can she make an impact on the world?

Nina Gonzalez is Sam’s best friend. Her mother works for the Washington family and has since Nina was little. It is how she first met the precocious princess. Sam and Jeff became Nina’s constant and closest friends. But that friendship changes when Nina finds herself falling in love with the prince. Nina struggles with her feelings of inadequacy, knowing America will never accept a commoner with their prince. Will she take a chance at happiness with him anyways?

Daphne Deighton is the daughter of American nobility and the ex-girlfriend of Prince Jefferson. America’s Sweetheart to the press, Daphne is the perfect choice for Jeff to settle down with….at least on the outside. This girl is nothing that she appears to be. Determined to win a spot at Jefferson’s side, she will stop at nothing til she gets what she wants – a crown. The question is just how far she will she have to go.

Alternating chapters among the four girls’ POV, American Royals is unlike anything I’ve ever read. Twists and turns around every corner, cliched-but-can’t-stop-reading drama, and oh-so-sweet romance moves this book to the top of my favorites list. Nina’s perspective is by far my favorite as she gives a commoner’s view of the palace, political intrigue, and the royals. Beatrice is a close second with her sacrifices and secret romance.

American Royals is a must read and I cannot wait for more!

*This review first appeared on Mom with a Reading Problem - https://www.momwithareadingproblem.com
Good Points
-Political Intrigue mixed with Teenage Angst
-Interesting take on an alternate American History
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...
My Words
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
"I love words!" says Ava. "Words can be tiny, prickly,...
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sun. A flower. And a lion. With three visual...

Latest Member Reviews

The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."
They Wish They Were Us
 
4.3
"THEY WISH THEY WERE US is an engaging YA thriller reminiscent of GOSSIP GIRLS. The book follows Jill, who had..."
Roaring
 
3.0
"ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven..."
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
"MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE is a fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows Danyal during his senior year of..."
You Say It First
 
3.3
"'You Say It First' is easily one of those books you will either love or hate. My feelings fell somewhere..."
Court of Lions (Mirage, #2)
 
5.0
"COURT OF LIONS finishes the MIRAGE duology with aplomb. This YA fantasy series takes us to another planet and the..."
The Unleashed: The Haunted, Book 2
 
4.0
"Creepy, suspenseful paranormal where some friends learn that a summoning might bring back something unexpected and evil. ..."
The Year of the Witching
 
5.0
"Immanuelle lives in the town of Bethel where the Prophet's word is law and the highest honor for a woman..."
By the Book
 
5.0
"'By the Book' is a charming ode to both romance and literature. Mary Porter-Malcolm sees life as points..."