The Missing Season

 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
254 0
The Missing Season
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
May 21, 2019
ISBN
978-0062803337
Buy This Book
      
Whenever another kid goes missing in October, the kids in the old factory town of Pender know what is really behind it: a monster out in the marshes that they call the Mumbler.

That’s what Clara’s new crew tells her when she moves to town. Bree and Sage, who take her under their wing. Spirited Trace, who has taken the lead on this year’s Halloween prank war. And magnetic Kincaid, whose devil-may-care attitude and air of mystery are impossible for Clara to resist.

Clara doesn’t actually believe in the Mumbler—not like Kinkaid does. But as Halloween gets closer and tensions build in the town, it’s hard to shake the feeling that there really is something dark and dangerous in Pender. Lurking in the shadows. Waiting to bring the stories to life.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

The Missing Season
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Urban legend in the town of Pender has it every October the Mumbler snatches a kid. Local authorities brush the legends off and say the kids died of either overdoses or other excuses. New kid Clara doesn't know what to think of the grisly stories. She becomes friends with the town's outcasts and falls for charismatic Kincaid, who has secrets of his own. Clara doesn't believe in the Mumbler, but the closer Halloween comes, she can't shake off the eerie sensation that there is someone out in the mashes watching her. Could she be the next victim?

What worked: This is a suspenseful thriller set in a small town where there might be some truth to a local urban legend. Clara's family moves a lot due to her father's job. Pender is slowly shutting down after the major paper plant has closed. The setting shows a weary town in grays and depressed tones. Clara becomes friends with Bree and Sage, who introduce her to their friends that go into the nearby woods and tell stories of the Mumbler. Each tale is more grisly than the last.

Clara is that new kid at school that isn't sure of herself and were she fits. She's happy to be accepted and is at first intrigued by the stories. The weariness of the adults around her is shown by the teachers who don't seem to care and the principal who is sick of pranks. I did like how French gives warmth to Clara's parents. They're not the stereotypical hardcore parents. They do care about her.

The whole friend tuning you out if you date a guy she liked is very realistic. Bree really likes Kincaid, but when he tells Clara he likes her? Bree is upset and shuts Clara out.

The relationship between Kincaid and Clara felt rushed and not fleshed out. Readers get glimpses of his family life when Clara follows him home. He's warm and cold with Clara, which only adds to her confusion on how she stands with him.

The final reveal on the Mumbler did surprise me. There were some twists and turns on who the serial killer might be. It seems most of the town, including the kids in the 'crew', could be possible suspects. I like when the final reveal isn't easy to solve.

The atmospheric element gives this story a creepy feel too.

Intriguing thriller set in a town where an urban legend might be more than just a Halloween story to scare kids.
Good Points
1. Suspenseful thriller of a town with an urban legend
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Salty, Bitter, Sweet
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A slow-burn romance in a cutthroat kitchen! There’s more to...
The Midnight Lie (The Midnight Lie, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Set in the world of the New York Times–bestselling Winner’s...
The Winter Duke
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
She survived the curse. Now she must survive the throne....
Most Likely (Most Likely, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the creator of the hit TV series The Bold...
Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...

Latest Member Reviews

Most Likely (Most Likely, #1)
 
5.0
"MOST LIKELY is a fantastic YA contemporary about friendship. The book starts with a woman becoming president and reflecting back..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"After our mindbending landing on the moon back in 1969, we’ve faltered in our quest to explore space. Mars seems..."
The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."