The Bone Houses

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
181 0
The Bone Houses
Age Range
12+
Release Date
September 24, 2019
ISBN
978-0316418416
Buy This Book
      
Buffy the Vampire Slayer meets Sky in the Deep in this bewitching, historical horror novel, perfect for fans of Holly Black and V.E. Schwab.

Seventeen-year-old Aderyn ("Ryn") only cares about two things: her family and her family's graveyard. And right now, both are in dire straits. Since the death of their parents, Ryn and her siblings have been scraping together a meager existence as gravediggers in the remote village of Colbren, which sits at the foot of a harsh and deadly mountain range that was once home to the fae. The problem with being a gravedigger in Colbren, though, is that the dead don't always stay dead.

The risen corpses are known as "bone houses," and legend says that they're the result of a decades-old curse. When Ellis, an apprentice mapmaker with a mysterious past, arrives in town, the bone houses attack with new ferocity. What is it that draws them near? And more importantly, how can they be stopped for good?

Together, Ellis and Ryn embark on a journey that will take them into the heart of the mountains, where they will have to face both the curse and the deeply-buried truths about themselves. Equal parts classic horror novel and original fairytale, The Bone Houses will have you spellbound from the very first page.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

engrossing, stand-alone YA fantasy
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
THE BONE HOUSES is a beautifully crafted and full engrossing YA fantasy with some horror aspects. Aderyn (Ryn) is a gravedigger, taught by her father before her. After her father went missing and her mother died, Ryn took over the business with her younger brother and sister. They live in Colbern, a small town near the forest and mountains. The forest contains many creatures to be feared, previously the fae but now bone houses, or risen dead. Decomposing while being able to attack, the bone houses are a macabre machination that could destroy the town. Luckily, they do not leave the forest.

That is, until one day, they do. Around the same time, a stranger shows up, Ellis, and he is oddly without a last name. Ellis is a mapmaker who wants to venture into the mountains to be able to make an accurate map- and for a more personal reason disclosed later. Facing being forced out of her home for lack of coin and also for a plan of her own, Ryn agrees to be his guide in the forest. Together, they may uncover the truth in the heart of the forest.

What I loved: The story is hauntingly well crafted, and the bone houses are intriguing while also feared. World and character building is top notch, and the reader is easily pulled into this fascinating other place and events. There is history, magic, a touch of romance, and a quest, making this a masterpiece for fantasy-lovers.

Ryn and Ellis are both characters that come to life in the pages of the book, and they, plus the side characters along the way (even the goat) are quite compelling. The romance is slow-building and sweet- easy to cheer for. Their journey and the truth behind the bone houses is certainly the driving force of the book, and this is certainly a page-turner.

What left me wanting more: The biggest mystery in the book is really easy to figure out. I was hoping for a bit more twists and turns and surprises, but it was still a well-crafted and engaging story, regardless, so it did not hinder my enjoyment (I just like to be surprised).

Final verdict: Spell-binding and fully-realized, THE BONE HOUSES is a a wonderful YA fantasy that will appeal to lovers of AN EMBER IN THE ASHES and/or THE GIRL OF FIRE AND THORNS. As a stand-alone, this has great appeal for anyone looking for an engrossing new epic fantasy.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Red at The Bone
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Moving forward and backward in time, Jacqueline Woodson's taut and...
Bid My Soul Farewell (Give the Dark My Love, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lunar Island is trying to heal. The necromantic plague that...
There Will Come a Darkness
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Age of Darkness approaches. Five lives stand...
Frankly in Love
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
wo friends. One fake dating scheme. What could possibly go...
Serpent & Dove
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two years ago, Louise le Blanc fled her coven and...
American Royals
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if America had a royal family? If you can't...
Capturing the Devil (Stalking Jack the Ripper, Book#4)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the shocking finale to the bestselling series that began...
Five Dark Fates (Three Dark Crowns Book, #4)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the final book in the #1 New York Times...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt, the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Whenever another kid goes missing in October, the kids in...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A crucial, genre-bending tale, equal parts Ned Vizzini and Patrick...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming and poignant story that explores the bonds of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sana Khan is a cheerleader and a straight A student....
Crown of Dragons
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The normal world is an illusion. Separated from other realms...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
At seventeen, June Hardie is everything a young woman in...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika...

Latest Member Reviews

 
3.3
"Urban legend in the town of Pender has it every October the Mumbler snatches a kid. Local authorities brush the..."
 
5.0
"3 Reasons TELL ME HOW YOU REALLY FEEL needs to be on your shelf immediately: 1.) The spot-on comparison:..."
 
4.0
"Amy Lukavics is one of my favorite horror writers. All of Lukavics's books are a little odd (in the best..."
 
3.0
"You might think that being the daughter of Eros, Kali might be good at the whole cupid thing. Kali would..."
The Cold is in Her Bones
 
3.7
"What I Loved About THE COLD IS IN HER BONES: Milla lives an isolated life on..."
Wilder Girls
 
4.3
"The top 3 reasons you need WILDER GIRLS by Rory Power on your shelf: 1.) The characters:..."
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
"BUTTERFLY YELLOW is a heartfelt and engrossing historical fiction. H?ng is in the US, searching for her younger brother. After..."
 
5.0
"*This review contains spoilers for book one, A BLADE SO BLACK* A DREAM SO DARK, sequel to A BLADE..."
The Lady Rogue
 
5.0
"THE LADY ROGUE is an absolutely thrilling historical fiction/fantasy. In the vein of THE MUMMY but in Romania and with..."
The Burning Shadow (Origin Series, #2)
 
3.7
"What worked: I'm a huge fan of the Lux series and LOVE Daemon. The relationship between Daemon and Kat is..."
Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black
 
3.3
"VOYAGES IN THE UNDERWORLD OF ORPHEUS BLACK is a story about brotherhood, war, and the power of art. Harry is..."
Firebrand: The Initiation of Natali Presano (Firebrand, #1)
 
5.0
"This comic book is an interesting print form of a webtoon series that captures season 1. Natali Presano was born..."
Tiger Queen
 
5.0
"All Kateri wants to do is impress her father, become the queen she's meant to be, protect her people, and..."
Cracking the Bell
 
4.7
"Isaiah's family has struggled after the death of his sister in a car accident that wasn't her fault. The parents..."
The Haunted
 
3.7
"THE HAUNTED is a really fascinating YA horror that follows Hendricks, a teenage girl, after she moves into a haunted..."
My Almost Flawless Tokyo Dream Life
 
3.3
"Sixteen-year-old foster kid Elle Zoellner's life turns topsy turvy when a father, she never knew about, wants her to move..."
Truly Madly Royally
 
3.0
"I’d be lying if I didn’t say that half of the reason why I read this was because it’s a..."
Finding Esme
 
3.3
"Esme feels alone. Her much-loved grandfather died, her dad deserted the family, her mom has mentally checked out, and her..."
House of Salt and Sorrows
 
4.3
"Annaleigh just wanted to be in charge of the lighthouse close to her island home. Rumors circulate on the island..."
Wreck: A Novel
 
4.3
"WRECK is a heart-wrenching story about a teenage girl on the brink of college as she discovers her father's life-altering..."