Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things

Featured
 
4.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
2281 0
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
Age Range
12+
Release Date
December 17, 2019
ISBN
978-1328635198
Buy This Book
      

In this charming debut about first love and second chances, a young girl gets caught between the boy next door and a playboy. Perfect for fans of To All The Boys I've Loved Before. Mansfield, Massachusetts, is the last place seventeen-year-old Edie Price wants to spend her final summer before college. It’s the home of wealthy suburban mothers and prima donnas like Edie’s cousins, who are determined to distract her from her mother’s death with cute boys and Cinderella-style makeovers. She's got her own plans, and they don’t include any prince charming. But as she dives into schoolwork and getting a scholarship for college, Edie finds herself drawn to two Mansfield boys strumming for her attention: First, there’s Sebastian, Edie’s childhood friend and first love, who’s sweet and smart and . . . already has a girlfriend. Then there’s Henry, the local bad boy and all-around player who’s totally off limits—even if his kisses are chemically addictive. Both boys are trouble. Edie can’t help herself from being caught between them. Now, she just has to make sure it isn’t her heart that breaks in the process.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Such a cute story!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0


The story:
After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally has a home-- though not one she's excited about. Taken in by her mother's estranged sister and thrown into a life of wealth where private schools were the expectation and summer jobs were considered beneath them, Edie has little to hold on to. Except the boy next door, the one she hasn't seen since she was a kid. Her first kiss.
And also the boy with a girlfriend. Navigated the minefield of loving someone who was unavailable, Edie finds herself taking solace in the arms of the resident bad boy, but is it enough when her heart belongs to someone else?

What I loved:
There's a feeling in this book. I'll call it nostalgia. It brings back memories from being a teenager unsure of the future where every decision, every relationship feels enormous. It's a beautifully written tale of first love with struggles the reader experiences right alongside the characters. The side characters grow on you until you fall in love with their quirks and issues. And through it all, you never lose faith that Edie will be okay no matter what happens.

What was just okay:
The main characters each had their own issues that made it hard to fall in love with them. Edie's desperation and illogical choices. Sebastian's indecision, stringing two women along. And Henry's serial cheating. It almost seems like we're supposed to root for them, but against Sebastian's girlfriend - who is shown to be mean, but is really the wronged character. Through all this, the book is still a one-sitting read which shows the true talent of the author.

Finally Verdict: A can't-put-it-down type of read where everything is a beautiful train wreck, but it's our train wreck as we root for the flawed characters and are drawn in by the wonderful prose. It's not a book that one will forget about.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Modern retelling of Jane Austen’s Mansfield Park
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
When Edie moves back to Mansfield to life with her aunt, uncle, and two cousins, she is reunited with her childhood crush Sebastian. She can't stop her feelings for him from returning with full force, but he already has a girlfriend. She's rich, beautiful, and nothing like Edie who would rather wear flats than high heels.

Enter Henry. He's the brother of Sebastian's current girlfriend and is a known bad boy/player. Knowing how Edie feels for Sebastian, Henry still wants to spend time with her. Just like with Sebastian, Edie can feel a chemistry between Henry and he doesn't seem as bad as everyone says. The two spend more and more time together and go back and forth with bar jokes that bring humor to the story. The only problem is who will Edie choose? Sebastian or Henry?

HEARTS, STRINGS, AND OTHER BREAKABLE THINGS is modern retelling of Jane Austen’s Mansfield Park that will have your heart soaring. There are many cheesy things about it, but it works perfectly in this story. I love both Henry and Sebastian, but Henry won me over. He was there no matter what. I like how Edie is a strong character who won't change who she is because she's brought into a wealthy word.


Final Verdict: I would recommend this to fans of Jane Austen, contemporary romance, and love triangles.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

African Icons: Ten People Who Shaped History
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet the ten remarkable kings, queens, inventors, scholars, and visionaries...
Count to LOVE! (A Bright Brown Baby Board Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cuddle up with your little one and get ready to...
The Mystery of the Meanest Teacher: A Johnny Constantine Graphic Novel
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
THE MYSTERY OF THE MEANEST TEACHER: A JOHNNY CONSTANTINE GRAPHIC...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A shocking thriller about a group of friends who go...
Bird Boy
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take flight in this heartwarming story about a boy who...
Love You By Heart
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Acclaimed creator of The Word Collector, Happy Dreamer, Say Something,...
Fa-La-La Llama (Touch-and-Feel Board Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Get ready to deck the halls with these joyful, singing,...
The Oddmire, Book 3: Deepest, Darkest
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The third adventure in the beloved fantasy series full of...
The Oddmire, Book 2: The Unready Queen
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Human-raised brothers Tinn and Cole join forces with Fable, daughter...
The Oddmire, Book 1: Changeling
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is fading from the Wild Wood. To renew it,...
Our Way Back to Always
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
To All the Boys I've Loved Before meets Morgan Matson...
The Last Gate of the Emperor
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Kwame Mbalia and Prince Joel David Makonnen comes an...
Traitors Among Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
World War II may be over. But two sisters are...
The Devil Makes Three
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
When Tess and Eliot stumble upon an ancient book hidden...
African Icons: Ten People Who Shaped History
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet the ten remarkable kings, queens, inventors, scholars, and visionaries...
Liar's Room
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This spooky stand-alone from MG horror expert Dan Poblocki is...

Latest Member Reviews

Mary, Will I Die?
 
3.0
"It started off as a prank among friends five years ago. All they had to do was say Bloody Mary..."
Small Favors
 
4.0
"Amity Falls is a small, quiet, religious town surrounded by forests. Ellerie Downing lives there with her sisters, brother, and..."
 
3.0
"WHAT I LOVED: Thanks to my brother being big into Dungeons & Dragons, I have some familiarity with tabletop gaming..."
Our Way Back to Always
 
5.0
"OUR WAY BACK TO ALWAYS is a beautiful YA contemporary romance about two best friends, Sam and Lou. After a..."
Poison Ivy: Thorns
 
4.3
"POISON IVY: THORNS is an intriguing graphic novel that takes us back to the origin story for Poison Ivy. Pamela,..."
The Devil Makes Three
 
4.3
"THE DEVIL MAKES THREE is a dark YA horror that creeps up on you. The book follows two teens, Eliot..."
Poison Ivy: Thorns
 
4.3
"Let me start with the artwork. This was so beautifully done and I loved every single panel. It really pulled..."
Lies My Memory Told Me
 
4.7
"What I Loved: In Lies my Memory Told Me, Nova is the daughter of the people who created Enhanced Memory...."
The Dead and the Dark
 
5.0
"THE DEAD AND THE DARK is a deliciously creepy paranormal thriller/horror. Logan lives with her two fathers, who co-host a..."
The Great Destroyers
 
3.3
"THE GREAT DESTROYERS is an intriguing alternate history that brings robot fighting into the Cold War. Jo is a teenager..."
Fresh
 
4.3
"FRESH is an entertaining and thought-provoking coming-of-age story. Elliott is a middle child, heading to college far from home at..."
Illusionary (Hollow Crown, #2)
 
5.0
"ILLUSIONARY is a beautifully written sequel in a strong YA fantasy duology. The book begins after the first ended, with..."
Bluebird
 
5.0
"It's 1946 and Eva and her friend Brigit leave behind destroyed Berlin for New York City. Eva carries a deadly..."
Incendiary (Hollow Crown #1)
 
4.3
"INCENDIARY is an intriguing YA fantasy with rebellion, magic, and intrigue. Renata was stolen from her parents as a child..."
Love and Other Sins
 
5.0
"Read it in one sitting and can’t wait to read the next one!!"
 
4.3
"This was definitely an interesting book. I really enjoyed all of the witchy aspects of the book! It starts off..."
Small Favors
 
4.7
"SMALL FAVORS is a compelling, spooky, and atmospheric YA fantasy/horror that keeps the reader guessing. Ellerie is a young woman..."
Sidelined
 
4.7
"Julian is looking forward to his senior year in Meridien, Texas. He wants to play football and hopefully get scouted..."
Spectacle
 
3.7
"WHAT I LOVED: Nathalie Baudin is an extraordinary girl even before she discovers her psychometric abilities. She’s just sixteen,..."
Somewhere Only We Know
 
4.0
"Everything I know about K-pop comes from thirsty Twitter fancams, what has made it into the American mainstream, and an..."