Tiger Queen

Featured
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
877 0
Tiger Queen
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
September 10, 2019
ISBN
978-0310768777
Buy This Book
      

From Annie Sullivan, author of A Touch of Gold, comes Tiger Queen, a sweeping YA fantasy adventure that tells the story of a fierce desert princess battling to save her kingdom. Fans of Rebel of the Sands and Meagan Spooner will devour this retelling of Frank Stockton’s famous short story, “The Lady, or the Tiger?” In the mythical desert kingdom of Achra, an ancient law forces sixteen-year-old Princess Kateri to fight in the arena to prove her right to rule. For Kateri, winning also means fulfilling a promise to her late mother that she would protect her people, who are struggling through windstorms and drought. The situation is worsened by the gang of Desert Boys that frequently raids the city wells, forcing the king to ration what little water is left. The punishment for stealing water is a choice between two doors: behind one lies freedom, and behind the other is a tiger. But when Kateri’s final opponent is announced, she knows she cannot win. In desperation, she turns to the desert and the one person she never thought she’d side with. What Kateri discovers twists her world—and her heart—upside down. Her future is now behind two doors—only she’s not sure which holds the key to keeping her kingdom and which releases the tiger.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Retelling of The Lady, or the Tiger?
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
All Kateri wants to do is impress her father, become the queen she's meant to be, protect her people, and avenge her mother's death. She was killed by one of The Desert Boys, a group of people who live in the desert. They steal from the town's wells and the Kateri's people are suffering because of it.

Kateri must prove herself to her father and her people by battling her suitors. If she can best them all, she can become queen and choose who to marry. But when the last suitor is someone she knows she can't defeat, she has no choice but to find someone who can train her to win. So, she flees to the desert.

Enter Cion. He's the leader of the Desert Boys and the only one who can help Kateri. He's the last person she wants to turn to, but it's her only way out. However, the more time she spends with Cion and the Desert Boys, the more she understands why they do what they do. Not only that, but her father has been keeping her in the dark about more than she ever could've imagined. It's up to Kateri to keep the promise she made to her mom and protect her people.

TIGER QUEEN is an enchanting and epic retelling of “The Lady, or the Tiger?” with a kickass, strong female lead. Kateri is so tough that I can't help but cheer her on. Even when she discovers earth-shattering secrets, she still keeps her head held high and pushes on. I absolutely loved Cion as well and his fierce loyalty. Annie Sullivan gives depth to her characters that makes you fall in love with them. The words weaved together in this story are alluring and suck you right in until you reach the back cover. It definitely gave me an Aladdin feel with all of the sand, which makes it even more amazing.


Final Verdict: I would recommend this to fans of retellings, fantasy, strong heroines, legends and myths, and fairytales.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
lush and engrossing stand-alone fantasy
(Updated: August 01, 2019)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
TIGER QUEEN is an engrossing retelling of the short story, THE LADY, OR THE TIGER? that really takes it above and beyond. Kateri is a princess of Achra, a desert kingdom which suffers under a severe drought. Kateri is from a long line of rulers, and she remembers her promise to her mother to love and take care of the people. However, her primary focus is proving herself worthy to take over the crown through battles which she must fight, once a month. If she wins, she gets closer to taking the crown, but if she is ever to lose, she must marry the man who bests her.

Secondarily, her heart is burning for revenge against the Desert Boys, who she believes murdered her mother and baby brother. The Desert Boys are a mysterious group who live in the desert and fight off soldiers to steal water from the ever dwindling water supply. The king continues to tighten restrictions on water, rationing it to very low levels for the townspeople, and restricting the number of children a family can have to two, to also promote conservation of water. As the value of sons is very high- signifying virility and strength of the father, this limit leads to unfair practices and sometimes the death of women who bear daughters. Kateri knows her father would have rather had a son, and he can be cruel in his lack of care for her- until she wins the fights easily, but any sign of weakness can bring his anger.

However, when her father announces that the last challenger will be a viciously cruel man who also was responsible for her training and so will likely beat her, Kateri knows she needs to find someone new to train her- and who better than the Desert Boy who bested her in the past? Her journey will be both physical and emotional as she comes to see her life and that of others through new eyes.

What I loved: Lush, beautifully crafted, and lyrically written, the world of Achra and the desert is built wonderfully. This story pulls the reader in right from the start. Kateri shows a lot of character growth throughout the story, and I loved watching the way she changes and finds herself. She is a fantastic lead, and readers see the world through her first person point-of-view. The whole plot is completely engrossing and will certainly have broad appeal. I also loved the twisting takes on the short story that really make this unique. The romance is just the cherry on the sundae that is this delicious read.

Final verdict: TIGER QUEEN is a gorgeous, lush YA fiction that will hold a lot of appeal for fans of THE REMNANT CHRONICLES, THE GIRL OF FIRE AND THORNS, and THE WINNER'S CURSE. Highly recommend for anyone looking for a beautifully crafted stand-alone book.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Gabby Garcia's Ultimate Playbook  (Gabby Garcia #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
If life were a baseball game, all-star pitcher Gabby Garcia...
Roll With It
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ellie’s a girl who tells it like it is. That...
That's What Friends Do
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Samantha Goldstein and David Fisher have been friends ever since...
Jane Anonymous: A Novel
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bestselling author Laurie Faria Stolarz’s thrilling novel Jane Anonymous is...
Someone Else's Shoes
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Izzy, a budding stand-up comic, is already miserable about...
Midnight on Strange Street
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
AVERY MILLER is looking for a fresh start, away from...
From the Desk of Zoe Washington
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zoe Washington isn’t sure what to write. What does a...
The Okay Witch
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is harder than it looks. ...
Cub
Cub
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Cindy has just dipped a toe into seventh-grade drama—with...
Speed Demon
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Eager to find his place at his elite new school,...
The Ghost in Apartment 2R
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if there was a ghost in your brother's room?...
Full Disclosure
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In a community that isn't always understanding, an HIV-positive teen...
Resurrection Girls
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Olivia Foster hasn’t felt alive since her little brother drowned...
Orpheus Girl
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In her debut novel, award-winning poet Brynne Rebele-Henry re-imagines the...
Riot Baby
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rooted in foundational loss and the hope that can live...
The Haunting of Henry Davis
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two kids are about to find out that their lives...

Latest Member Reviews

Jane Anonymous: A Novel
 
5.0
"Told from the perspective of a girl who was captured and escaped, JANE ANONYMOUS is a thriller of both physical..."
Jason & Kyra
 
N/A
"posso usare l'italiano or english"
Fireborne (The Aurelian Cycle, #1)
 
4.7
"In all seriousness, Fireborne by Rosaria Munda is the best. I have nothing to compare it to. It is unique,..."
Tweet Cute
 
4.3
"TWEET CUTE is a fun enemies-to-dating and anonymous-You've-Got-Mail style YA contemporary romance. The book follows the two protagonists in equal..."
Throw Like a Girl
 
4.3
"THROW LIKE A GIRL is a charming story about chasing your dreams, a little romance, and a passion for sports...."
The Boy Next Story
 
4.0
"'The Boy Next Story' by Tiffany Schmidt follows main character Aurora, who goes by Rory, as she tries to figure..."
 
4.0
"Veronica can see the ghost of her dead mother. She also suffers from debilitating migraines that hold her back from..."
Pax Novis (The Pax Archives, #1)
 
4.0
"PAX NOVIS is an engaging YA sci-fi novel that takes place in the future, when humans have colonized other planets...."
And I Darken
 
3.3
"To be honest, I went into this expecting vampires. I guess between the visual tone to the..."
Endling: The First
 
5.0
"Applegate delivers an action-packed middle-grade sequel in a uniquely otherworldly setting, with characters that are relatable, cute and fuzzy, along..."
The Guinevere Deception (Camelot Rising, #1)
 
5.0
"THE GUINEVERE DECEPTION is an incredible new YA fantasy that combines a dark mystery, magic, and romance/love into a gorgeous,..."
Refraction
 
4.3
"REFRACTION is a highly readable/devourable book that is certainly a page-turner. In the post-apocalyptic future, a small island appears to..."
Jason & Kyra
 
N/A
"hi :) bross :)"
Fan the Fame
 
4.7
"WHAT I LOVED: Excuse me, who gave Anna Priemaza permission to bug my house and use my brother and I..."
I'm Not Dying with You Tonight
 
3.7
"Los Angeles, Ferguson, and Baltimore. Three cities where years of racism, injustice, unchecked police brutality, and rampant anti-Black racism came..."
Serpent & Dove
 
4.0
"I’d been hearing about this book on Bookstagram, BookTube, and BookTwitter as an anticipated release for September 2019. And then..."
Stalking Jack the Ripper
 
5.0
"I have no words….well, that’s a lie. I have lots of words. Just where to start?! Stalking Jack the Ripper..."
How to Make Friends with the Dark
 
3.0
"A weighty YA Contemporary, grappling with a wide array of crises and quandaries. What I..."
The Burning Shadow (Origin Series, #2)
 
5.0
"I’m not going to lie….I read The Burning Shadow in two days. It could’ve been one sitting if my eyelids..."
The Grace Year
 
5.0
"It’s been one week since I finished The Grace Year by Kim Liggett as I sit down to start this..."