The Athena Protocol

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1250 0
The Athena Protocol
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
October 08, 2019
ISBN
978-0062849601
Buy This Book
      

Bourne Identity meets Karen McManus in this action-packed series opener about a spy gone rogue, perfect for fans of Ally Carter and Killing Eve. Jessie Archer is a member of the Athena Protocol, an elite organization of female spies who enact vigilante justice around the world. Athena operatives are never supposed to shoot to kill—so when Jessie can’t stop herself from pulling the trigger, she gets kicked out of the organization, right before a huge mission to take down a human trafficker in Belgrade. Jessie needs to right her wrong and prove herself, so she starts her own investigation into the trafficking. But going rogue means she has no one to watch her back as she delves into the horrors she uncovers. Meanwhile, her former teammates have been ordered to bring her down. Jessie must face danger from all sides if she’s to complete her mission—and survive. Don’t miss this gripping page-turner that New York Times bestselling author Patrick Ness called “a ferocious, take-no-prisoners thriller that actually thrills!”

Editor reviews

1 reviews

engaging female driven action/adventure
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
THE ATHENA PROTOCOL was a fantastic YA spy/thriller that pulls you in from the start. Jessie is an agent of Athena, a secret organization of female spies who go around the world enacting justice. For instance, the beginning of the book has her team infiltrating a camp where women are being trafficked to help get them out and capture the man who is committing these crimes. However, when Jessie enacts her own brand of justice- against orders- she is forced to leave the organization.

Jessie is fully committed to what they do and knows that her team will not be able to do their next op without her. Going undercover, she operates outside of the organization in the hopes of helping them take down a bigger target. While she dodges her former teammates and infiltrates the target, Jessie must also deal with her personal feelings about the last mission, as well as her current contact on this mission, and concerns about her future at Athena.

What I loved: First of all, I loved the fact that all the main characters are female- it was great to get so many different opinions and skills among so many talented and awesome female characters. There is also great representation with some different ethnic backgrounds and sexual orientations (Jessie is attracted to women). There are also some mentions about mental health/illness which are surface level but leave it open for future stories to go more in-depth (PTSD in one character and counseling for them). This is a difficult job, and that is reiterated throughout. Jessie goes through a lot for her mission and justice.

In terms of the overall story, it was action-packed and kept up a strong pace right from the start. The spy action sequences are Jason Bourne or Mission Impossible level, and it will be delightful for fans of this genre. The plot comes with its own twists and turns that make this quite the page-turner.

Final verdict: Overall, this was a fascinating and action-packed read that features some incredible female characters with broad appeal for fans of thrillers and spy stories. I could easily see this becoming a must-read series in the action/adventure genre. Highly recommend for anyone who loves bold heroines, spies, and thrilling mysteries.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Artemis Fowl: Guide to the World of Fairies
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This beautifully illustrated novel is a compendium of Artemis Fowl's...
Personalized Notebook Doodles Adorable Pets Coloring Book
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From hamsters and hermit crabs to cats and canaries, you'll...
The Last Summer
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For the first eleven years of their lives, neighbors Lila...
The Falling in Love Montage
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two girls embark on a summer of montage-worthy dates (with...
Super Puzzletastic Mysteries: Short Stories for Young Sleuths from Mystery Writers of America
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bestselling author Chris Grabenstein and the Mystery Writers of America...
Beauty Mark: A Verse Novel of Marilyn Monroe
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In a powerful novel in verse, an award-winning author offers...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Anger, hurt, and rejection threaten Joshua’s ability to save the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bernita, a teenager from a prominent South American family, knows...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
How do you fix a computer glitch that disappears before...
Hope in the Mail: Reflections on Writing and Life
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Part writing guide and part memoir, this inspiring book from...
Daniela and the Pirate Girls
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Who hasn’t heard of the legendary vessel, the Black Croc!...
Child of Galaxies
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Your body was made from the stuff of the stars,...
Shy Ones
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
He's not the type to stand out. In fact, unless...
You Brought Me the Ocean
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The voices that shaped LGBTQ Young Adult literature, Lambda Award-Winning...
The Most Dangerous Place on Earth
 
2.0
 
0.0 (0)
In an idyllic community of wealthy California families, new teacher...
Slamdown Town
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ollie and his older brother, Hollis, have wrestling in their...

Latest Member Reviews

The Falling in Love Montage
 
5.0
"THE FALLING IN LOVE MONTAGE is a beautiful YA contemporary romance that follows Saoirse (Seer-sha). Saoirse speaks to the reader..."
Crave
 
4.3
"After the death of her parents, Grace comes to an Alaskan boarding school. Once there, she senses something is 'off'..."
You Brought Me the Ocean
 
3.7
"YOU BROUGHT ME THE OCEAN is a graphic novel of the origin story for Aqualad. Jake is 17 and living..."
The Most Dangerous Place on Earth
 
2.0
" I received a free copy from the publisher through Netgalley. The Most Dangerous Place on Earth centers around a..."
Pumpkinheads
 
4.7
"I am pretty new to graphic novels so when I won a copy of 'Pumpkin Heads' on GoodReads I was..."
Burn
 
3.7
"BURN imagines a world that is just like ours, except that dragons exist. Dragons have been around for longer than..."
Wonder Woman: Tempest Tossed
 
5.0
"WONDER WOMAN: TEMPEST TOSSED is a fantastic new story featuring Diana coming into her own. She has been raised among..."
The Archer at Dawn (The Tiger at Midnight, #2)
 
5.0
"THE ARCHER AT DAWN is a fantastic sequel in the THE TIGER AT MIDNIGHT trilogy. This second book picks up..."
My Calamity Jane
 
5.0
"What worked: This is a fun paranormal twist on historical figures set in the Wild West of 1876. I loved..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
5.0
"FEEDBACK This book was everything I wanted and more. It begins with Kallia and her performance. It quickly descends into..."
The State of Us
 
5.0
"THE STATE OF US is a really fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows the children of two political rivals. Dean's..."
Live Like Legends
 
5.0
"LIVE LIKE LEGENDS is an absolutely fantastic YA fantasy romance. We follow Kalista, who is a princess born to be..."
Blood Countess (Lady Slayers)
 
4.3
"Visually, this book is a gorgeous work of art, splattered with blood from cover to cover. For those familiar with..."
Like Sisters on the Homefront
 
4.7
"Top 3 reasons to read LIKE SISTERS ON THE HOMEFRONT: 1.) The characters- Gayle, a NYC girl sent to..."
Daphne and Velma: The Vanishing Girl
 
3.7
"Daphne Blake and Velma Dinkley are opposites. Daphne is popular, traditionally pretty, and sociable. Velma prefers books and information to..."
Felix Ever After
 
5.0
"Felix has never been in love, but he wants to be. He wants the experience of opening your heart, having..."
The Sullivan Sisters
 
5.0
"Eileen, Claire, and Murphy Sullivan used to be close. They had their special traditions, their shared laughs, and their shared..."
The Summer of Impossibilities
 
3.7
"THE SUMMER OF IMPOSSIBILITIES is a YA contemporary about friendship in the vein of THE SISTERHOOD OF THE TRAVELING PANTS...."
Tarnished Are the Stars
 
4.3
"FEEDBACK I actually really enjoyed this story. The beginning was a little confusing because there wasn’t too much explanation of..."
The Bitterwine Oath
 
3.3
"San Solano, Texas is not only known for its Southern charm but also gruesome murders that took place fifty..."