Moon Water: A Novel

Featured
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
691 0
Moon Water: A Novel
Author(s)
Age Range
13+
Release Date
August 20, 2019
ISBN
978-1631526756
Buy This Book
      

Set in the Blue Ridge Mountains during the summer of 1969, Moon Water follows Nettie, a gritty sixteen-year-old who is reeling from sucker punches coming from all directions. Her boyfriend since grade school wants to break up just as they were beginning to figure out the sex thing, her life-long nemesis is jabbing her with perfectly polished nails, and her hell’s fire and brimstone preacher refuses to baptize her. In the middle of this turmoil, an old medicine woman for the Monacan Indians gives her a cryptic message about a coming darkness: a blood moon whose veiled danger threatens Nettie and those she loves. To survive, Nettie and her best friend, Win, have to build a mysterious dreamcatcher–one that requires them to scour the perilous mountains for Nature’s ancient but perfect elements.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

fast-paced, coming-of-age historical Christian fiction
(Updated: July 07, 2019)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
MOON WATER follows Nettie in the summer of 1969 when her life is in turmoil. Nettie is 16 years old and her life is changing. She is not sure if she and her boyfriend, Andy- a childhood friend turned more- will last once they go to college, and this worry has been making her unsure of whether she loves him. Andy decides to give her a break until she can figure it out.

At the same time, she is preparing for baptism in the church. However, Nettie still has a lot of questions about religion that she isn't sure about, and her honesty means she cannot lie to the pastor, resulting in a delay in her baptism. He assigns her to work with another pastor more closely to go over material and believe more fully before she is baptized.

Nettie and her BFF Win are inseparable and do everything together, and this summer is no different. As per usual, they often take the train to Win's grandmother Nibi. Nibi is a Monacan Shaman or Medicine Woman, and she has warnings for the girls with the upcoming blood moon. As part of this, she is teaching them carefully how to make dreamcatchers starting with how to painstakingly gather the materials they need. Many other lessons are tucked into the process.

What I loved: The best parts of the book were those with the dreamcatchers and the lessons that Nibi teaches the girls. I would have loved to be even more fully immersed in the Monacan culture and Nibi's vast knowledge. The plot is fast-paced, a lot of the story told in dialogue, which keeps things interesting and moving quickly. There are also some interesting debates on Christianity and good/evil in the context of Christianity (I would certainly label this as Christian fiction), as Nettie prepares for her baptism. Some of the concepts/lessons, such as good and evil coexisting and not being easy to separate, are universal, however.

What left me wanting more: The book seemed more focused on the Christian spiritual journey than on the Native American, and I was looking for more along the latter. I would also love to read a book from Win's point-of-view, exploring her culture more closely. Here, it was a secondary plot.

This may be a spoiler, so if you want to avoid them- skip this paragraph. A big part of the latter story was sexual assault/harassment. While this is handled with some care (police mentioned), I would have liked to see more about the recovery/resources. Parents are hardly involved and no therapist or other resources are described. The book overall has a quick pace that does not get into the details, but this is a pretty big plot point here, so I would have liked to see more.

I would also add warnings for character death and natural disasters.

Final verdict: Overall, this is a fast-paced coming-of-age story that weaves some Native American traditions into Christian fiction with interesting morality and faith-based discussions. I would recommend for people looking for something unique that will spark interesting discourse on good/evil, sins, and moving forward after traumatic events.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Salty, Bitter, Sweet
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A slow-burn romance in a cutthroat kitchen! There’s more to...
The Midnight Lie (The Midnight Lie, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Set in the world of the New York Times–bestselling Winner’s...
The Winter Duke
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
She survived the curse. Now she must survive the throne....
Most Likely (Most Likely, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the creator of the hit TV series The Bold...
Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...

Latest Member Reviews

Most Likely (Most Likely, #1)
 
5.0
"MOST LIKELY is a fantastic YA contemporary about friendship. The book starts with a woman becoming president and reflecting back..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"After our mindbending landing on the moon back in 1969, we’ve faltered in our quest to explore space. Mars seems..."
The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."
The Way You Make Me Feel
 
3.7
"Clara Shin is the class clown and definitely qualifies as a troll too. (Big difference between the two, I'm not..."
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
"Recently recognized as a National Book Award finalist and a Stonewall Honor book, Pet is also Akwaeke Emezi’s YA debut..."