The Storm Crow (The Storm Crow, #1)

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1781 0
The Storm Crow (The Storm Crow, #1)
Age Range
13+
Release Date
July 09, 2019
ISBN
978-1492672937
Buy This Book
      

In the tropical kingdom of Rhodaire, magical, elemental Crows are part of every aspect of life...until the Illucian empire invades, destroying everything. That terrible night has thrown Princess Anthia into a deep depression. Her sister Caliza is busy running the kingdom after their mother's death, but all Thia can do is think of all she has lost. But when Caliza is forced to agree to a marriage between Thia and the crown prince of Illucia, Thia is finally spurred into action. And after stumbling upon a hidden Crow egg in the rubble of a rookery, she and her sister devise a dangerous plan to hatch the egg in secret and get back what was taken from them.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

exciting and engrossing new YA fantasy
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
THE STORM CROW is an engrossing and imaginative YA fantasy. Anthia (Thia) is a princess of Rhodaire and eagerly awaits when she will be able to bond with a Crow. Rhodaire is a unique kingdom for its magical Crows, who have abilities that can be used to make the kingdom more livable and also protect it, making it a formidable enemy. One of the other kingdoms, Illucia, has been conquering kingdoms, but the crows have prevented them from doing the same to Rhodaire- until they burn all the rookeries and destroy the Crow eggs, also killing Thia’s mother, the Queen.

As Thia’s sister takes over Rhodaire, she is also facing the imminent threat of invasion and takeover by Illucia. To prevent their attack, Thia must wed the crown prince of Illucia, Ericen. However, she is not sure what awaits her as she travels with him into enemy territory. She is also carrying a secret, a Crow egg which she recovered from the rubble, and a plan for allying with the other kingdoms against Illucia. Accompanied by her BFF and guard, Kiva, their journey is just beginning.

What I loved: There are so many things to love about this book- the premise is so unique, the world-building is perfect, and the pacing is fantastic. There is also great diversity amongst the main characters in terms of LGBT representation and skin color, which varies between the kingdoms. Another strong secondary theme is about Thia’s depression, which is well described and paints a vivid portrait of the difficulty of living with it. There is also mental illness representation for PTSD in places (for two characters). While the kingdoms don’t have therapists, there is an acknowledgement for the difficulty of such illnesses and depression is named.

In terms of the plot, it flows really well, and builds up until the end, leaving us eagerly awaiting the sequel. The Crows are really interesting with different types having different abilities. The villain (Queen of Illucia) is evil- but also understandable from a certain vantage point, making her multidimensional. I also really love how many of the kingdoms have female rulers. There are some mysteries, and people have unexpected roles in later parts of the book. The information we get about other kingdoms is quite intriguing, and I am curious to learn more in the next book. Be prepared to get completely pulled into this story!

Final verdict: I highly recommend this exciting page-turner to all lovers of YA fantasy. I only wish the next book was already out! Thia, Ericen, and other secondary characters grew very close to my heart, and I can’t wait to get back into their well-crafted world. Fans of ERAGON, THE RED QUEEN, and GIRL OF FIRE AND THORNS will enjoy this delicious new story.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Speak enters the world of Gossip Girl in this modern...
Sister of the Bollywood Bride
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Morgan Matson's Save the Date comes a...
Nosotros Means Us: Un cuento bilingüe
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A moving bilingual ode to the unshakeable bond between a...
Awakened Are the Starry-Eyed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new city and unexpected freedom give Andrea the fresh...
A Brutal Justice
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Protect the weak. Safety for all. Power without virtue is...
A Tale of Ashes
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Across the country, human teens are going missing, and all...
The Captain's Daughters
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What would you do if you were abducted by aliens,...
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Truth or Dare
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Summervale… One of the USA’s top vacation...
Around Curiosity's Edge: Hidden Meridians
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A hidden world waits, a dark society schemes, and a...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...

Latest Member Reviews

Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
"COLORS OF HABITATS is a beautifully illustrated oversized book of inspiration for artists. The book walks through different habitats from..."
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
"I AM THE SHARK is a fun and educational picture book about self-confidence. A great white shark is introducing the..."
The Missing: The True Story of My Family in World War II
 
5.0
"My Name Ollis Bator from Tx USA. After 12years of marriage, me and my husband have been into one quarrel..."
The Missing: The True Story of My Family in World War II
 
4.0
"‘The Missing: The True Story of My Family in WWII’ by Michael Rosen shares the story of a family who..."
Take Me Home: Forests of the World
 
5.0
"Advice to save your marriage and get your Ex Boyfriend/girlfriend back ,contact ogagaspellcastertemple@gmail.com or WhatsApp +2347059387282 for Urgent effective love..."
The Light of Days Young Readers’ Edition: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos
 
5.0
"What worked: This is one gut-wrenching, powerful collection of stories of young Jewish women Resistance fighters in Hitler's Ghettos. While..."
Take Me Home: Forests of the World
 
5.0
"TAKE ME HOME: FORESTS OF THE WORLD is an approachable nonfiction book that teaches about different kinds of forests, from..."
Take Me Home: Waters of the World
 
5.0
"TAKE ME HOME: WATERS OF THE WORLD is an engaging nonfiction picture book that teaches basics and fun facts about..."
Colors in Nature
 
4.0
"COLORS IN NATURE is a beautifully illustrated book of art that features animals and plants. The book walks through each..."
Welcome to Arizona
 
4.0
"WELCOME TO ARIZONA is a simple, fun travel guide picture book for children about the state. The book covers fun..."
The Light of Days Young Readers’ Edition: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos
 
5.0
"What worked: This is one gut-wrenching, powerful collection of stories of young Jewish women Resistance fighters in Hitler's Ghettos. While..."
There's No Ham in Hamburgers: Facts and Folklore About Our Favorite Foods
 
5.0
"While I was familiar with most of the information in the book, due to apparently all too frequent deep..."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Outer Space
 
4.5
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: OUTER SPACE is another fun collection of paint-by-sticker images with an outer space theme. The book..."
Things That Go (I Can Learn)
 
5.0
"THINGS THAT GO is a delightful lift-the-flap and peek-through exploration of vehicles. In three sets of pages with flaps, die-cuts,..."
Welcome to Florida
 
4.3
"WELCOME TO FLORIDA is a fun touristy picture book about the state of Florida. The book goes through some of..."
Sounds of the Sky
 
5.0
"SOUNDS OF THE SKY is a great nonfiction collection of animal facts, focusing on birds. The book takes the reader..."
Sounds of the Wild
 
5.0
"SOUNDS OF THE WILD is a fantastic non-fiction children's book that takes the reader on a journey through several islands'..."
Rhyme with Me (Indestructibles)
 
5.0
"RHYME WITH ME! is a great new installment in the Indestructibles line of books. This new book features questions, which..."
When Elephants Listen with Their Feet: Discover Extraordinary Animal Senses
 
4.3
"WHEN ELEPHANTS LISTEN WITH THEIR FEET is a seriously cool collection of animal facts around the senses. The book goes..."
Ultimate Earth: Oceans and Seas
 
4.3
"ULTIMATE EARTH: OCEANS AND SEAS is an engaging look at the creatures who live in the water with lift-the-flaps and..."