The Evil Queen (The Forest of Good and Evil, #1)

Featured
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
2572 0
The Evil Queen (The Forest of Good and Evil, #1)

Far, far away, in the realm of Enchantia, creatures of legend still exist, magic is the norm and fairy tales are real. Except, fairy tales aren’t based on myths and legends of the past—they are prophecies of the future. Raised in the mortal realm, Everly Morrow has no idea she’s a real-life fairy-tale princess—until she manifests an ability to commune with mirrors. Look. See… What will one peek hurt? Soon, a horrifying truth is revealed. She is fated to be Snow White’s greatest enemy, the Evil Queen. With powers beyond her imagination or control, Everly returns to the land of her birth. There, she meets Roth Charmaine, the supposed Prince Charming. Their attraction is undeniable, but their relationship is doomed. As the prophecy unfolds, Everly faces one betrayal after another, and giving in to her dark side proves more tempting every day. Can she resist, or will she become the queen—and villain—she was born to be? The battle between good and evil is on.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

exciting and engrossing new fairytale retelling
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
If you love a snarky heroine, surprise twists and turns, and a fairytale-themed plot, THE EVIL QUEEN is designed to be your new favorite read. This book follows Everly in the first person as she uncovers her history and perseveres to protect the people she loves. From the beginning, we know that girls were born after their mothers ate from a forbidden, magical apple tree, and that they will play a role in bringing a fairytale to life- Snow White. However, which role each girl will play is unknown. The beginning of the book also gives us a taste of where things will end, but we must also follow the journey to get there.

Everly was taken from Enchantia, the magical land where the women had eaten from a tree which is full of mystical creatures, fairies, fairytales, and humans with magic, when she was an infant. She has been raised in the mortal realm with her twin sister, Hartly. Now, as a teenager, Everly has begun to see things in mirrors. In particular, she sees another girl who looks like Snow White and whom she refers to as an angel. As she will soon learn, however, her scrying powers (e.g. seeing things in mirrors) are from her Sorcerian heritage. Sorcerians do not have wells of magical ability like others in the realm. Instead, they must take the power from others to use for their natural abilities but also to take other abilities. If they take a little, the being will feel tired until they regenerate it, but if they take a lot, they will kill them. As such, they are generally considered evil and hated by many.

Although we know that the girls and main characters will play out the tale of Snow White, who will play which role is unclear. Each character seems to possess characteristics or abilities that would point to one or many of the potential roles. For instance, Prince Roth Charmaine (Everly’s love interest) could be Prince Charming or he could be the Huntsman or he could be something else altogether. It is only as the story plays out that we might be able to learn how the fairytale will come to pass.

What I loved: This book surprised me in a lot of ways. Although Everly seems slated to be the Evil Queen, a major theme is that your actions determine whether you are evil or good, and this has many sides/views. For instance, if you do something which could seem evil out of self-defense, does this make you evil? There are also some themes about prejudice (regarding trolls and sorcerers) and sexism which also add to the thoughtful plot. Familial love is also a major theme in the book, particularly love between siblings. The romantic love also adds a nice touch to the overall story.

World-building in this book is top-notch. While the early parts of the book are a little slower due to all the information there is to take in, this pays off later in the book when it is all much easier to understand and imagine. Adding to that, the characters, primary and secondary, are all really well fleshed out and come alive throughout the story. There are so many fantastic characters whom I adored throughout the story, and aside from the main characters, Phobia, a spidorpian, might be my favorite. On the whole, there’s so many to love, hate, and be intrigued by though that I felt completely engrossed in the story and their lives.

As for the main characters, primarily Everly and Roth, they are beautifully crafted. Everly is multidimensional. We see the world through her eyes, and although she is full of snark, she is also full of heart- whether guarding herself, worrying about her family, or caring for her friends. Roth is a completely swoony hero, and while he doesn’t always make the best decisions, he also cares deeply and tries to do what is right.

Final verdict: Overall, this is a consuming, engrossing, and addictive YA fantasy/fairytale retelling that will keep you guessing. Fans of Gena Showalter, Jennifer L. Armentrout, and Gregory Maguire will delight in this exciting new tale that turns Snow White on its head.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Two Dogs on a Trike
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Count up to 10 and back down again in this...
Bonaparte Plays Ball
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join a skeleton named Bonaparte and his teammates as they...
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...

Latest Member Reviews

The Unleashed
 
4.0
"After Steele House burned down, Hendricks and her family move to a rental after Steele House, trying to put that..."
Toil & Trouble: 15 Tales of Women and Witchcraft
 
4.3
"WHAT I LOVED: The two stories that tie for the best of the anthology are Tess Sharpe’s “The Heart..."
Pride
 
4.7
"It can be difficult to retell a tale as well-known as Pride and Prejudice, but Zoboi's retelling modernizes the story..."
Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."
Summer and July
 
5.0
"'Summer and July' by Paul Mosier is a beautifully written story perfect for summer reading. Readers will find themselves immersed..."
A Wicked Magic
 
4.0
"Friends Dan and Liss find a Black book of magic and try a spell. Only the spell goes terribly..."
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
"SCARLET ODYSSEY is a high fantasy that takes place in a world at war. Men are often raised to be..."
Tigers, Not Daughters
 
5.0
"TIGERS, NOT DAUGHTERS is a lyrical book of sisterhood and grief. The Torres sisters had tried to escape their father..."