Breakout

Featured
 
4.5 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
1885 0
Breakout

Six days. That’s the amount of time until Lezah’s execution. She’ll die never knowing what got her locked up in that godforsaken prison in the first place. Her only chance of survival is to escape. Except the monitoring bracelet that digs into her wrist, the roaming AI, and the implant in her neck make freedom close to impossible. Her best chance is to team up with the four other inmates who are determined to break out, even if one of them is beyond gorgeous annoying—oh, and in for murder. But he has a secret of his own. One that could break Lezah if she finds out, but could also set him free. Figuring out how to work with him and the rest of this mismatched group of criminals is the only way Lezah will survive to see the outside world again. But nothing in this prison is as it seems. And no one.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Fast-Paced Dystopian Adventure
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
BREAKOUT by A.M. Rose is an edge-of-your-seat, YA dystopian adventure that will have you turning page after page well past bedtime.

Lezah was imprisoned for a crime she didn’t remember committing, and with six days left until her execution, decided it was time to escape. With help from several other inmates, including the swoon-worthy Seph, Lezah attempted to not only break out of the prison but remember her past and figure out who was controlling the prison.

I loved Lezah as a character and started rooting for her on page one. Even as I struggled to get a real picture of who she truly was, Rose masterfully revealed pieces of the puzzle which came together seamlessly (and unexpectedly!) later in the book.

The world-building was phenomenal and honestly one of my favorite parts of the book. With climate change such a real-world concern and technology advancing at such a tremendous pace, the world depicted in Breakout was certainly not far-fetched, which made the premise all the more terrifying.

The pace of this book was intense, and Lezah and her friends find themselves in constant danger. There were times I actually felt as though I was trapped in hell with them, even to the point of holding my breath.
The favorite element of Breakout, however, was definitely the tight-knit group of friends. In many of the dystopian/sci-fi books I read, the pacing and world-building are tremendous but the character development ultimately falls short, and I end up not caring what happens to them one way or the other. This was not the case for Breakout. Rose expertly blended a gripping storyline with characters that were so well-developed, it was impossible not to connect with them. I loved the sweet romance that developed between Lezah and Seph, and thought it was so completely age appropriate that the teenage heroine managed to fight for her life while still noticing the smell of the cute guy battling beside her. Long live young love!

In all, I give Breakout five glorious stars. Fans of Maze Runner and other high-concept dystopias will love Breakout. Highly recommend to all sci-fi lovers as well.
Good Points
BREAKOUT by A.M. Rose is an edge-of-your-seat, YA dystopian adventure that will have you turning page after page well past bedtime.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
fast-paced YA sci-fi/dystopian that pulls you in from the start
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
BREAKOUT is a thrilling and fast-paced YA sci-fi/dystopian. Lezah is in prison for a crime she cannot remember. This future prison is cruel where the guards are robots and the prisoners must wear bracelets that discipline them with shocks for any steps out of line (even just a movement to pick up something they dropped). When their counter runs out, it seems that they will be killed. Lezah’s bracelet is rapidly approaching zero.

When something unusual happens and Lezah is able to get a small needle, she begins formulating an escape plan. When her cellmate joins in, they begin on a difficult and rough journey to break out of the prison. With lots of twists and turns, this is a book that will keep you guessing. The plot starts off with a bang and it just keeps getting faster and faster along the way. While it is fast, the book is easy to follow, and the main characters will have you questioning who Lezah can really trust.

What I loved: The book is a major page-turner, difficult to put down and hard to guess what will happen next. Lezah and the other main characters were really interesting and great to follow. The journey took a lot of turns I did not expect, which is always exciting in a read. The futuristic sci-fi elements about technology and AI were really unique too, and they added something extra to this prison-break thriller.

What left me wanting more: The plot was almost too fast in places, and there is a lot about this futuristic world that I did not fully grasp. I would have liked a little more world-building and more flesh to the later parts of the book. There are still a lot of unanswered questions at the end, so I am hoping this will be part of a series where we can learn more about the world and the remaining mysteries. I think the book could easy have been double the length to fit in more information, and I still would have loved it, but I do know that skipping some of these details kept the plot particularly fast, which has its own appeal.

Final verdict: If you are looking for a fast-paced thriller with bits of romance and sci-fi/dystopian, look no further! Fans of THE MAZE RUNNER will particularly enjoy this exciting book! While I do wish the book was even longer with more world-building and answers, I am eagerly hoping for a sequel to enjoy these characters and futuristic world even more.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming text honoring the ever-evolving relationship of a parent...
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The brand-new sequel to a well-reviewed bestseller that has been...
Noble Thief (Fantasy and Fairytales Book 6)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A prince of two kingdoms. A woman fighting against the...
All These Bodies
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen bloodless bodies. Two teenagers. One impossible explanation. ...
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They are the Beautiful Ones, Loisail’s most notable socialites, and...
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
What makes the great white shark (one of) the greatest...

Latest Member Reviews

The Promised Prince
 
5.0
"Hello viewers, I am Eva Joe, from the USA, i want to use this opportunity to thank Dr. DAVID ..."
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
"When Renna goes swimming in a pond, she never expects to meet a boy named Trev in the most unladylike..."
Moon & Shadow: A tale of Liamec (Tales of Liamec Book 1)
 
4.3
"Overall, This book was different from anything I've read in a while. It was more like a folktale which was..."
The Raven and the Dove
 
5.0
"I've honestly had my eye on this book for a while, and finally decided to pick it up. As the..."
Fate Calling
 
5.0
"Fate Calling by Lindsay Grace is a beautifully written fae fantasy about a young human girl named Aislinn and a..."
Reign of Secrets
 
3.8
"What worked: The magical aspect of this book had me turning pages quickly. It was easy to read and..."
The Lightbringer: Through the Elder Stone
 
5.0
"The Lightbringer plays on that classic trope of light vs dark, but in a fresh way with unheard of magical..."
Fate Calling
 
5.0
"When Aislinn and Catriona are taken into the fae realm, their fate falls into the hands of a broody prince/rightful..."
With Shield and Ink and Bone
 
4.8
"The story: A Viking, Liv has earned her shield and is set to take her place as a shield..."
With Shield and Ink and Bone
 
4.5
"For those who can't get enough of Vikings, Norse Mythology, and kick-butt female leads, this one is for you. ..."
The First Holidays
 
5.0
"This short story is perfect for people who loved The Last Summer and for those excited for The Final Chance...."
My Best Friend Prince Charming
 
4.5
"‘My Best Friend Prince Charming’ by Cindy Ray Hale tells the story of Ryker and Shannon, two best friends who..."
The Fire in the Glass
 
4.7
"Lily can see the future and when she sees her friend killed, she tries to save her. Lily is an..."
Anchored
 
5.0
"Unlike anything I've read before. The Story: Alora is of two worlds. During her..."
The Curse of Jenny Greene
 
5.0
"I should start by saying The Curse of Jenny Greene is far from my normal genre preferences. I’m not usually..."
Emmie and the Tudor Queen
 
4.5
"This sequel resolved a lot of questions I had that weren’t answered in the first book like where did the..."
The Reclaimed Kingdom (The Syphon Series, Book 1)
 
5.0
"I’m a new fan of Dana Claire as I recently read “The Connection” and loved it. While I eagerly..."
Sleeping Beauty's Spindle
 
4.0
"Briar Rose hasn't had any easy life. After losing her parents, she's struggling to keep her siblings together as a..."
The First Holidays
 
5.0
"A sweet and perfect novella to go with this series. The Story: Four best..."
The Connection
 
4.8
"I’ll cut to the chase before I delve into a more detailed review; I loved this book! I binge-read The..."