Tell Me Everything

Featured
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
679 0
Tell Me Everything
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
February 26, 2019
ISBN
978-1338139150
Buy This Book
      

Your secret's safe...until it's not. Ivy's always preferred to lay low, unlike her best friend Harold, who has taken up a hundred activities as sophomore year begins. But Ivy has her own distraction: the new anonymous art-sharing app, VEIL. Being on the sidelines has made Ivy a skilled observer, and soon she discovers that some of the anonymous posters are actually her classmates. While she's still too scared to put her own creations on the app, Ivy realizes that she can contribute in an even better way -- by making gifts for the artists she's discovered. The acts of kindness give her such a rush that, when Ivy suspects Harold is keeping a secret, she decides to go all in. Forget gifts -- Harold needs a major party. But when her good intentions thrust her into the spotlight, Ivy's carefully curated world is thrown into chaos. Now she has to find the courage to stand out... or risk losing everything and everyone she loves most.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

intriguing contemporary YA
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
TELL ME EVERYTHING follows Ivy, beginning the summer before her sophomore year. Ivy’s parents are ecologists, and her passion for art feels out of their realm. However, Ivy does not really challenge herself and them, and she chooses to stay in the shadows. At the beginning of summer, she says goodbye to her best friend, Harold, and she feels like they have A Moment.

When Harold goes to an intellectual camp, Ivy is left to her own devices. And her device has been stalking VEIL, an anonymous app where users can post their art. VEIL gives you a feed of users within 5 miles of your current location and its algorithm blurs out any faces or names in the art or words. Every Sunday, the app is completely wiped and begins anew the next day. As anew app, the users are primarily high school students, but the anonymity ensures that no one will know who they are. Ivy stalks the feed, but she never makes her own posts.

After someone posts a hateful and homophobic rant on VEIL, parents, the school, and many students begin a debate about the anonymity and needing students to answer for such posts. Ivy is in fierce defense of anonymity, although she does not agree with the post. To counter the students who are thinking about no longer using the app, Ivy decides to perform random acts of kindness for the people whose identity she can figure out. As Ivy performs these acts, she learns the value of anonymity or not and comes to some realizations about assumptions and her own responsibilities in that context.

What I loved: There are some intriguing discussions of art and its value in different contexts. This applies not only to Ivy’s art but that of the other students. The use of the internet is also something relevant to the YA audience and looks at a few sides of the app lightly (though this debate is rather simplified through Ivy’s point-of-view). Ivy’s parents are really amazing, and it’s always wonderful to see parents in YA who are really understanding, supportive, and there for their kids.

What left me wanting more: I would have liked more discussion of the plus/minuses of such apps in the internet context to really understand the side of anonymity (other sides are well voiced but Ivy finds this hard to articulate). The book tends to meander with the acts of kindness, Ivy’s new friendship, and her search for her art. I would have liked a more focused story as well as more Ivy/Harold- the scenes we do get with Harold were really strong, but they felt a little too few and far between, particularly in the middle of the book.

Final verdict: Overall, this is an interesting discussion of art and the internet. Targeted to the YA audience, this book fits well with some additional context of apps and wise usage as well as how to be a good friend/ally. Recommend for contemporary YA lovers who are looking for something unique.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...
The Night Walk
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mama opened our bedroom door. "Wake up, you two," she...
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the perfect, ugly expression of holiday cheer in this...
You and Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This sweet celebration of love is perfect for sharing with...
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Babies and toddlers can lift the flaps to look inside...
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join a tiny mouse as she searches for the biggest...
The Shadow War
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inglourious Basterds meets Stranger Things in this dark and...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. ...

Latest Member Reviews

shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Reawakened
 
3.3
"My favorite thing about this book is the Egyptian elements. Reading Lily’s adventures in pyramids gave me strong Indiana Jones..."
Three Day Summer
 
4.7
"Michael doesn't know what he wants to do with his life. He should go to community college to avoid the..."
Crush (Crave, #2)
 
4.7
"CRUSH is an intense and nail-biting sequel to CRAVE. This second book picks up a few months after the first..."
The Shadow War
 
3.0
"Audiobook review: Following 5 teens trying to survive, THE SHADOW WAR imagines World War II with a..."
Meet Cute: Some people are destined to meet
 
4.0
"MEET CUTE is a fun, romantic anthology featuring stories about people first meeting. Ranging from cute to funny to dark..."
Glimpsed
 
3.7
"GLIMPSED gives us a twist on the typical fairytale with Charity, a fairy godmother from a line of fairy godmothers...."
Shine Until Tomorrow
 
5.0
"Wow, this book didn’t turn out to be anything like I expected. The story: Tamara is a young..."
Prepped
 
5.0
"PREPPED is a really captivating YA contemporary fiction. Becca is 17 years old and dreams of going away to college..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
5.0
"This book has become one of my all-time favorites. Every time I start reading I couldn’t put it down, touched..."
Curse of the Divine (Ink in the Blood, #2)
 
4.7
"CURSE OF THE DIVINE is a dark, atmospheric, and compelling finale to a unique YA fantasy duology. In the first..."
Who Put This Song On?
 
4.7
"In a small, very white town, Morgan is trapped in the expectations and assumptions of everyone around her. She hasn't..."