The Cerulean

 
0.0
 
3.0 (1)
1819 0
The Cerulean
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
January 29, 2019
ISBN
978-0062489982
Buy This Book
      
From New York Times bestselling author Amy Ewing (The Jewel) comes the exciting first book in a new fantasy duology. Rich, vivid world-building and ethereal magic combine in an epic tale that’s perfect for fans of Snow Like Ashes, These Broken Stars, or Magonia.

Sera Lighthaven has always felt as if she didn’t quite belong among her people, the Cerulean, who live in the City Above the Sky. She is curious about everything—especially the planet that her City is magically tethered to—and can’t stop questioning things. Sera has always longed for the day when the tether will finally break and the Cerulean can move to a new planet.

But when Sera is chosen as the sacrifice to break the tether, she feels betrayed by everything in which she’d been taught to trust. In order to save her City, Sera must end her own life.

But something goes wrong, and Sera survives, ending up on the planet below in a country called Kaolin. Sera has heard tales about the dangerous humans who live here, and she quickly learns that these dangers were not just stories.

Meanwhile, back in the City, all is not what it seems, and the life of every Cerulean may be in danger if Sera is not able to find a way home.

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
2.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Too Long
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
So, I didn't even know this was a thing until everyone was dogging it on twitter. When I saw that it was triggering people, I just had to read it and oh boy, do I have my opinion to share. Because I read the book, I didn't just go off what someone else said because I'm a thinking human with my very own brain! Shocking in today's world when some take another's review as their own opinion without even reading the damn book themselves.

Anyway, rant over. Let's talk about the book.

This book follows four different characters, Sera, Leela, Leo, and Agnes. Sera and Leela are best friends that live in the City in the Sky until the day that Sera is chosen to break the tether that keeps her world connected to Kaolin and Pelago. Which means, she's going to die. Only she doesn't die. She's taken by Leo and Agnes and used by their father for his greed. While Leela is left to unravel the secrets of the City in the Sky.

This wasn't a bad book at all. The characters are well fleshed out and the world was great, more so the City in the Sky, while Kaolin seemed more like a land that we would live in and that's fine just not nearly as cool as Sera and Leela's world. I loved reading when we were in the City in the Sky, the world was rich and vivid and sounds so freaking pretty!

Leo is an ass through most of the book and even in the end.... I still didn't really care for him. Agnes is fine... just a little... dull? I mean for the most part, she lets everyone treat her like crap and then when she should be helping Sera, she wants her hair instead or she just lets Sera get hurt. So I didn't really like either of them as characters and their POVs were painful to get through.

I did love Sera and Leela and their parts of the book were great! Though honestly, I think the main problem with this book is how long it is. A third could be cut out and it would flow better, maybe even half of this book could be cut and it would work much better. There are parts that I really feel was there for filler. The parts that were good really had me hooked, like the end with Leela. I wanted more of her POV. I think I would've loved this book more if we'd just stayed in the City in the Sky. The world was so different and cool. Three mothers? No fathers? Clothes made out of clouds?! I mean, that's cool, that's what I wanted. Not dropping down into a world like ours that is rather dull and boring.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Skyhunter (Skyhunter, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A broken world. An overwhelming evil. ...
Tsalix Silverthorn and the Scepter of Destiny
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The latest phenomenal work from New York Times Bestselling author...
Kingdom of Ice and Bone (The Frozen Sun Saga, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lira and Reyker have lost everything. Including each other. ...
The Adventures of Bubba Jones (#4): Time Traveling Through Grand Canyon National Park
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the fourth book of this award-winning national park series,...
How It All Blew Up
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda goes to Italy in...
Music for Tigers
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Shipped halfway around the world to spend the summer with...
The Companion
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The other orphans say Margot is lucky. Lucky to...
Sanctuary
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It's 2032, and in this near-future America, all citizens...
Teen Titans: Beast Boy
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Author Kami Garcia (Beautiful Creatures) and artist Gabriel Picolo,...
The Magic Misfits: The Fourth Suit (The Magic Misfits, #4)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Misfits must work together to fend off mysterious attacks...
Duck and Penguin Do Not Like Sleepovers
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A hilarious bedtime romp tackles the thrills and anxieties of...
Furia
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A powerful, #ownvoices contemporary YA for fans of The...
Fussy Flamingo
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A hysterical flamingo children's book about a picky eater and...
Blood & Honey
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The stakes are higher. The witches are deadlier. And...
Legendborn (Legendbord #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Filled with mystery and an intriguingly rich magic system,...
The Shadow Mission (The Athena Protocol, #2)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The gripping sequel to The Athena Protocol, a feminist Bourne...

Latest Member Reviews

Skyhunter (Skyhunter, #1)
 
5.0
"SKYHUNTER is an enthralling and lush YA fantasy. Lu really paints the story with her words, and this new novel..."
The Library of Lost Things
 
5.0
"I wasn't sure what to expect with The Library of Lost Things, but I know I didn't anticipate a book..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra, a teenager from the 2160s, is put into cryogenic stasis fulling expecting to wake up on another planet one..."
Kingdom of Ice and Bone (The Frozen Sun Saga, #2)
 
4.0
"KINGDOM OF ICE AND BONE picks up where the first book left off. Lira and Reyker are separated and each..."
How It All Blew Up
 
5.0
"HOW IT ALL BLEW UP is an absolutely riveting coming-out story. Amir Azadi is an Iranian American who has always..."
Music for Tigers
 
3.7
"A vividly descriptive Middle-Grade work with an ecological focus--enriched by elements of music, friendship, and atypical neurology. When her..."
The Shadow Mission (The Athena Protocol, #2)
 
4.3
"THE SHADOW MISSION is an even better sequel to THE ATHENA PROTOCOL with lots of action and spy-related danger. In..."
Horrid
 
4.3
"HORRID is an intensely creepy story that follows Jane and her mother, Ruth. Jane's father has just died and after..."
Color Outside the Lines
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: The stories vary in genre, time period, and the makeup of the couples, but many of them..."
I'll Be the One (I'll Be the One #1)
 
5.0
"WHAT I LOVED: Haneul "Skye" Shin is talented, fat, and contrary to the max. Her mom tells Skye she..."
Legendborn (Legendborn, #1)
 
5.0
"LEGENDBORN is absolutely thrilling YA fantasy that captivated me from the start. Bree gained early entrance into UNC-Chapel Hill and..."
Blood & Honey
 
5.0
"This is going to be a hard review to write because I have so many words that want to come..."
Don't Call the Wolf
 
5.0
"Ren is the queen of the forest, a lynx shifter, and the protector of the forest's creatures. When a dragon..."
The Companion
 
4.3
"Everyone thinks Margot is lucky. She's the sole survivor of a horrific car crash that killed her family. While at..."
A Golden Fury
 
3.0
"Thea Hope has learned alchemy as her mother's apprentice, forced into the shadows when all she wants is equal credit..."
Foul is Fair
 
3.0
"Elle is part of the glittering crowd, beautiful and untouchable, or so they believe. One night, Elle and her friends..."
Burn Our Bodies Down
 
4.0
"Audiobook review Margot is tired of not getting answers from her mother about where she came from..."
His Hideous Heart
 
4.0
"HIS HIDEOUS HEART is a powerhouse of incredible writers retelling different works of Edgar Allen Poe. From "The Raven" to..."
Courting Darkness (Courting Darkness duology)
 
4.0
"Having loved the original Fair Assassin books, I was cautiously optimistic about this new duology continuing Sybella's story and introducing..."
Birthday
 
5.0
"Top 3 Reasons to Read Meredith Russo’s Birthday: 1.) BIRTHDAY matches the exceptional storytelling of Russo’s debut,..."