Kingsbane (Empirium, #2)

Featured
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
379 0
Kingsbane (Empirium, #2)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
May 21, 2019
ISBN
978-1492656654
Buy This Book
      

In this sequel to the instant New York Times bestseller Furyborn, two queens, separated by a thousand years, connected by secrets and lies, must continue their fight amid deadly plots and unthinkable betrayals that will test their strength―and their hearts. Rielle Dardenne has been anointed Sun Queen, but her trials are far from over. The Gate keeping the angels at bay is falling. To repair it, Rielle must collect the seven hidden castings of the saints. Meanwhile, to help her prince and love Audric protect Celdaria, Rielle must spy on the angel Corien―but his promises of freedom and power may prove too tempting to resist. Centuries later, Eliana Ferracora grapples with her new reality: She is the Sun Queen, humanity's long-awaited savior. But fear of corruption―fear of becoming another Rielle―keeps Eliana's power dangerous and unpredictable. Hunted by all, racing against time to save her dying friend Navi, Eliana must decide how to wear a crown she never wanted―by embracing her mother's power, or rejecting it forever.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

engaging page-turner with fantastic world-building
(Updated: May 21, 2019)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
This exciting and fast-paced sequel picks up right where the first book left off. For that reason, this book does not work as a stand-alone and catching up on previous events is helpful before heading into this sequel.

KINGSBANE follows several points-of-view, similar to the first book, mostly fluctuating between the two queens, Rielle and Eliana, who are separated by a thousand years. As we know, Rielle was named the Sun Queen based on a prophecy which told of two queens who would save or destroy the world. Rielle lives in a time of magic. Angels, who had been warring with humans before being trapped in another world, are beginning to break through the shield separating the worlds and are siding with or against humans. Empirium, the magic that exists throughout the world, embodies certain people with power of an element. As the Sun Queen, Rielle has the power of all the elements.

Her daughter, Eliana, was taken after her birth and moved through time by the marque Simon, accidentally to a thousand years in the future. Eliana was an assassin before Simon was able to locate her and begin to train her to save the world. In this time, magic is viewed as a myth of the past and Angels control the world, destroying and oppressing humans. Eliana is fighting within herself at knowing Rielle was her mother and the terrible things that Rielle had done as well as against the idea that she should lead or be able to save humanity. We follow Rielle and Eliana in alternating chapters across time as Rielle is led towards the end of the world and Eliana is working to save it.

What I loved: This book keeps you on your toes. With a fast pace and filled to the brim with action, romance, and adventure, there is never a dull moment. This book is full of twists and turns, building and escalating through each chapter. There are also various single chapters from others’ points-of-view, and these were helpful for filling in some of the gaps left by what Eliana and Rielle know. This is a page-turner and with many cliffhanger-esque moments, it is very difficult to put down.

The world and characters are well-built and all three-dimensional with history, places, and flaws. The world-building is as strong as LORD OF THE RINGS, HARRY POTTER, and other epic fantasies. The characters are all fully realized, including the ‘villains’ and they feel fully alive. Along these lines, the romance is top notch for both Rielle and Eliana, and a cherry on top of the delicious storylines.

What left me wanting more: As someone who read the first book around its release, a recap would have been helpful to remembering where we are in time with reminders for key events/people in the book. However, the internet is helpful for such things if one is not rereading the series! This book could also easily be split into two different books for each queen. The writing style frequently has small cliffhangers at the end of a chapter before switching to the other queen (e.g. Rielle or Eliana), so you must read through another chapter before finding out how it resolves. This style makes it feel like you get wrapped up into one life before abruptly switching, getting wrapped up in the other, and abruptly switching again. On the flip side, this style keeps the book intensely interesting and constantly keeps the reader moving through the pages quickly. These are overall minor concerns for a fascinating book.

Final verdict: KINGSBANE is a fantastic sequel to FURYBORN, which will enchant and engross readers. As this is the second in a trilogy, the ending is a big cliffhanger, so be prepared to eagerly await book three. I would also add warnings for explicit sexual content, attempted assault (did not get very far), and rough sex. I would highly recommend for older YA readers who love high fantasy, magic, and intensely engaging storylines.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

A Small Zombie Problem (Zombie Problems, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In his fiction debut--and the start of a new series--celebrated...
My Funny Bunny
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
When a boy receives a gift box from his uncle...
Kindness Rules! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Manners don’t come naturally to everyone! But did you know...
Teeny Tiny Ghost
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An adorable spooky twist on "The Teeny Tiny Woman" that's...
A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hop into the world of Peter Rabbit and his friends...
Solving for M
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Raymie Nightingale and The Fourteenth Goldfish,...
A Parade of Elephants
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times–bestselling and Caldecott Medalist Kevin Henkes follows five...
My Fate According To The Butterfly
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When superstitious Sab sees a giant black butterfly, an omen...
The Rough Patch
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Caldecott Honor Book An...
Sunny's Tow Truck Saves the Day!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When a family car gets a flat on the way...
How to Be a Cat
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In cut-paper artist Nikki McClure’s latest picture book, a kitten...
TBH, IDK What's Next (TBH, #4)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Three BFFs set out to have the BEST SUMMER EVER...
Finding Esme
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Esme’s life changes when she discovers dinosaur bones on...
Five Little Pumpkins on Halloween Night
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join these happy pumpkins in a cheerful rhyming countdown, in...
Wreck: A Novel
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Set on the shores of Lake Superior, Wreck follows high...
The Madman of Piney Woods
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Benji and Red couldn't be more different. They aren't friends....

Latest Member Reviews

A Small Zombie Problem (Zombie Problems, #1)
 
4.0
"A SMALL ZOMBIE PROBLEM is a charming story in the vein of A SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS and Tim Burton...."
My Funny Bunny
 
3.0
"MY FUNNY BUNNY is about dealing with disappointments and not judging others too quickly. It's the main character's sixth birthday,..."
Kindness Rules! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
4.5
"KINDNESS RULES! is a fun new manners book, perfect for preschoolers. Magic Manners, an elephant who knows her stuff, teaches..."
Teeny Tiny Ghost
 
5.0
"Be prepared to fall in love with the tenacious TEENY TINY GHOST in this sweet book, perfect for Halloween. The..."
Solving for M
 
5.0
"SOLVING FOR M is a beautiful and enthralling middle grade novel about finding your way in a new school and..."
A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
"A PUMPKIN FOR PETER tells the story of when Peter Rabbit went with his mother and sisters to go pick..."
A Parade of Elephants
 
4.5
"Five elephants march along the pages of Kevin Henkes's picture book, A PARADE OF ELEPHANTS. As they make their way..."
My Fate According To The Butterfly
 
5.0
"My Fate According to the Butterfly is probably the first Middle Grade novel I’ve read in a very long time...."
The Rough Patch
 
5.0
"In THE ROUGH PATCH, Evan's best friend is his dog, and they do everything together. Author and illustrator Brian Lies..."
How to Be a Cat
 
5.0
"HOW TO BE A CAT is an elegant book of verbs. Two cats give actions throughout their day, including scratch,..."
Sunny's Tow Truck Saves the Day!
 
5.0
"SUNNY'S TOW TRUCK SAVES THE DAY! is a delightful picture book about a family on their way to picnic who..."
TBH, IDK What's Next (TBH, #4)
 
4.5
"TBH, IDK WHAT'S NEXT follows four best friends over their summer before seventh grade. They are all determined to have..."
Five Little Pumpkins on Halloween Night
 
5.0
"FIVE LITTLE PUMPKINS ON HALLOWEEN NIGHT is a cute board book that celebrates Halloween with a counting of pumpkins! In..."
The Madman of Piney Woods
 
4.0
"THE MADMAN OF PINEY WOODS follows two young boys in Canada as their lives are changing and intersecting. Benji Alston..."
Wintercake
 
4.0
"WINTERCAKE is a lovely picture book that celebrates friendship and the holiday spirit. Thomas is about to make a wintercake..."
Roar Like a Dandelion
 
4.0
"A unique alphabet book, ROAR LIKE A DANDELION is filled with instructional that are sure to spark some giggles. Each..."
The Bear and the Star
 
4.5
"THE BEAR AND THE STAR is an elegant, Christmas-style book. Bear knows that it is time and so he finds..."
I Do Not Like That Name
 
4.0
"I DO NOT LIKE THAT NAME features a girl, Sophie, and her rabbit, Herb, as they order an elephant from..."
The Love Letter
 
5.0
"Lovely, endearing, and heartfelt, THE LOVE LETTER demonstrates the power of telling someone how much you care. Hedgehog, Bunny, and..."
The Wobbly Waitress
 
3.5
"THE WOBBLY WAITRESS is a silly read that will make young children giggle. Mabel is a giraffe waitress at the..."