Kingsbane (Empirium, #2)

Featured
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
1024 0
Kingsbane (Empirium, #2)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
May 21, 2019
ISBN
978-1492656654
Buy This Book
      

In this sequel to the instant New York Times bestseller Furyborn, two queens, separated by a thousand years, connected by secrets and lies, must continue their fight amid deadly plots and unthinkable betrayals that will test their strength―and their hearts. Rielle Dardenne has been anointed Sun Queen, but her trials are far from over. The Gate keeping the angels at bay is falling. To repair it, Rielle must collect the seven hidden castings of the saints. Meanwhile, to help her prince and love Audric protect Celdaria, Rielle must spy on the angel Corien―but his promises of freedom and power may prove too tempting to resist. Centuries later, Eliana Ferracora grapples with her new reality: She is the Sun Queen, humanity's long-awaited savior. But fear of corruption―fear of becoming another Rielle―keeps Eliana's power dangerous and unpredictable. Hunted by all, racing against time to save her dying friend Navi, Eliana must decide how to wear a crown she never wanted―by embracing her mother's power, or rejecting it forever.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

engaging page-turner with fantastic world-building
(Updated: May 21, 2019)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
This exciting and fast-paced sequel picks up right where the first book left off. For that reason, this book does not work as a stand-alone and catching up on previous events is helpful before heading into this sequel.

KINGSBANE follows several points-of-view, similar to the first book, mostly fluctuating between the two queens, Rielle and Eliana, who are separated by a thousand years. As we know, Rielle was named the Sun Queen based on a prophecy which told of two queens who would save or destroy the world. Rielle lives in a time of magic. Angels, who had been warring with humans before being trapped in another world, are beginning to break through the shield separating the worlds and are siding with or against humans. Empirium, the magic that exists throughout the world, embodies certain people with power of an element. As the Sun Queen, Rielle has the power of all the elements.

Her daughter, Eliana, was taken after her birth and moved through time by the marque Simon, accidentally to a thousand years in the future. Eliana was an assassin before Simon was able to locate her and begin to train her to save the world. In this time, magic is viewed as a myth of the past and Angels control the world, destroying and oppressing humans. Eliana is fighting within herself at knowing Rielle was her mother and the terrible things that Rielle had done as well as against the idea that she should lead or be able to save humanity. We follow Rielle and Eliana in alternating chapters across time as Rielle is led towards the end of the world and Eliana is working to save it.

What I loved: This book keeps you on your toes. With a fast pace and filled to the brim with action, romance, and adventure, there is never a dull moment. This book is full of twists and turns, building and escalating through each chapter. There are also various single chapters from others’ points-of-view, and these were helpful for filling in some of the gaps left by what Eliana and Rielle know. This is a page-turner and with many cliffhanger-esque moments, it is very difficult to put down.

The world and characters are well-built and all three-dimensional with history, places, and flaws. The world-building is as strong as LORD OF THE RINGS, HARRY POTTER, and other epic fantasies. The characters are all fully realized, including the ‘villains’ and they feel fully alive. Along these lines, the romance is top notch for both Rielle and Eliana, and a cherry on top of the delicious storylines.

What left me wanting more: As someone who read the first book around its release, a recap would have been helpful to remembering where we are in time with reminders for key events/people in the book. However, the internet is helpful for such things if one is not rereading the series! This book could also easily be split into two different books for each queen. The writing style frequently has small cliffhangers at the end of a chapter before switching to the other queen (e.g. Rielle or Eliana), so you must read through another chapter before finding out how it resolves. This style makes it feel like you get wrapped up into one life before abruptly switching, getting wrapped up in the other, and abruptly switching again. On the flip side, this style keeps the book intensely interesting and constantly keeps the reader moving through the pages quickly. These are overall minor concerns for a fascinating book.

Final verdict: KINGSBANE is a fantastic sequel to FURYBORN, which will enchant and engross readers. As this is the second in a trilogy, the ending is a big cliffhanger, so be prepared to eagerly await book three. I would also add warnings for explicit sexual content, attempted assault (did not get very far), and rough sex. I would highly recommend for older YA readers who love high fantasy, magic, and intensely engaging storylines.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Speak enters the world of Gossip Girl in this modern...
Sister of the Bollywood Bride
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Morgan Matson's Save the Date comes a...
Nosotros Means Us: Un cuento bilingüe
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A moving bilingual ode to the unshakeable bond between a...
Awakened Are the Starry-Eyed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new city and unexpected freedom give Andrea the fresh...
A Brutal Justice
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Protect the weak. Safety for all. Power without virtue is...
A Tale of Ashes
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Across the country, human teens are going missing, and all...
The Captain's Daughters
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What would you do if you were abducted by aliens,...
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Truth or Dare
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Summervale… One of the USA’s top vacation...
Around Curiosity's Edge: Hidden Meridians
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A hidden world waits, a dark society schemes, and a...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.7
"WHAT I LOVED: Claire is a rich Chinese girl living the high life in Shanghai with both her parents even..."
Sister of the Bollywood Bride
 
4.0
"SISTER OF THE BOLLYWOOD BRIDE is an engaging YA contemporary read about sisterhood, family, and community with a dash of..."
On the Way to Birdland
 
5.0
"Reviewed By Vincent Dublado for Readers’ Favorite A touching coming of age novel by Frank Morelli, On..."
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
"THE HOLLOW INSIDE is a shocking and riveting YA thriller. Phoenix and her mother Nina have been living out of..."
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
"SPELLS TROUBLE is a thrilling YA fantasy that takes the reader from Salem during the witch trials to the midwest..."
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
"10 TRUTHS AND A DARE is a book about family and owning up to your mistakes. Olivia is about to..."
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
"It's the start of Grand Season and Nina's chance to join the Beautiful Ones, Loisail's notable socialites, hasn't gone well...."
A Song of Wraiths and Ruin (A Song of Wraiths and Ruin #1)
 
5.0
"This was... one of the best books I've read in a long time. It was one of my absolute favorite..."
Yes No Maybe So
 
5.0
"I should start by saying I don't normally read books involving politics because I read to escape real life. That..."
Made in Korea
 
4.7
"MADE IN KOREA is a sweet romantic-comedy about competition, family, and reaching for your dreams. Valerie runs a very successful..."
The Keeper of Night
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF DR.IFADE CONTACT ON WHATS_APP NUMBER +1(551)333-5249. OR HIS EMAIL ..."
Perfectly Parvin
 
5.0
"PERFECTLY PARVIN is a laugh-out-loud, charming YA contemporary fiction read. Parvin is about to begin her freshman year of high..."
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
The Love Song of Ivy K. Harlowe
 
3.0
"THE LOVE SONG OF IVY K. HARLOWE is a new adult read about love, pining, and friendship. Andie is 19..."
The People We Choose
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
The People We Choose
 
3.3
"THE PEOPLE WE CHOOSE is an intriguing YA contemporary about how we define family. Calliope is nearly 18 years old,..."
Choices
 
5.0
"It's no secret that I adore Michelle's books, so it was fun reading one of her earlier books. ..."
Take Me Home Tonight
 
3.0
"TAKE ME HOME TONIGHT is an unexpected YA contemporary read, told from three perspectives. Kat, Stevie, and Teri are all..."
Jackaby
 
4.7
"This book was a pleasant surprise. Jackaby by William Ritter is the first in the series by the same name...."
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
"GUTTER GIRL is a unique YA contemporary romance that follows two main characters, Jace and McKenna. McKenna is an outcast..."