The Vanishing Stair

 
4.3 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
913 0
The Vanishing Stair
Age Range
13+
Release Date
January 22, 2019
ISBN
0062338080
The Truly Devious case—an unsolved kidnapping and triple murder that rocked Ellingham Academy in 1936—has consumed Stevie for years. It’s the very reason she came to the academy. But then her classmate was murdered, and her parents quickly pull her out of school. For her safety, they say. She must move past this obsession with crime.

Stevie’s willing to do anything to get back to Ellingham, be back with her friends, and solve the Truly Devious case. Even if it means making a deal with the despicable Senator Edward King. And when Stevie finally returns, she also returns to David: the guy she kissed, and the guy who lied about his identity—Edward King’s son.

But larger issues are at play. Where did the murderer hide? What’s the meaning of the riddle Albert Ellingham left behind? And what, exactly, is at stake in the Truly Devious affair? The Ellingham case isn’t just a piece of history—it’s a live wire into the present.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

engaging sequel to an exciting mystery series
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
THE VANISHING STAIR continues the TRULY DEVIOUS plot as Stevie returns to the enigmatic private school, Ellingham. Stevie becomes more entrenched into the mystery of the crimes that originally took place in the 1930s as she works with a local professor on her research for a book she is writing about the kidnapping of Ellingham's wife and daughter, a great unsolved mystery.

The book picks up where the last one left off with Stevie's new clues, and more clues are collected throughout. At the same time, she is also wondering about what happened to Ellie, who seemed to disappear into the mountains after Stevie brought forward some new facts about another student's death.

The pacing was again a little slow at the start, but this book makes huge leaps forward for both the past and present crimes here. This is not just a middle book which stagnates- a lot happens in this text. There are also some new characters and old characters who we get to view in new ways. I think I am finding connections that may appear in the final book, but I am excited to keep reading and find out.

This is a series that gets better with the additional books, and I definitely can't wait to continue it. Although the romance is pretty meh, the mystery plots make this a highly engaging and creative series that I cannot wait to continue with. Highly recommend for fans of SHERLOCK HOLMES and murder-mysteries.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
The Vanishing Stair Review
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Feedback

As soon as I finished the first book I was so eager to continue. I absolutely loved Truly Devious and after the way the book ends - I needed more information. This books picks up pretty closely following the events of the first book. Stevie is pulled from Ellingham because of her parents. She isn’t happy and all she wants to do is go back. Edward King strikes a deal with Stevie for her to return. Again, this book is cleverly set up by the back and forth between the past and present. I really liked the way Johnson did this because it gave the readers an insight of the events on how they actually happened instead of the guessing. This was crucial in this book because of the evidence Stevie found in the first book. Meanwhile, more clues keep getting uncovered and it was just so much fun uncovering them with Stevie and the gang. There were no dull parts and the books pacing was just as god as the first. I am so invested into this story and what’s going to happen next. The final reveal was a lot of fun because it was who I suspected and this is always my favorite part of mysteries - the “who done it”. Following Stevie unfold the story really made me feel apart of it also because of Johnson’s writing. The only issue I had with this story was the “miscommunication/not telling a secret” trope. This drives me crazy because it could have been so easy from the beginning to just explain the situation instead of it blowing up later. Other than that, my only issue is that book 3 is still so far away!!

Again, such amazing characters. I really like how they all click and their relationships just feel natural. The only thing that bothered me this time around was David. He was a little excessive, and I know he is supposed to be but I was just a little over it by the end. Stevie was still a great protagonist and I really liked how she focused more on the case this book. This is when Stevie shines and it’s great to see her knowledge of the kidnapping really push her forward. Janelle is perfect as always. Her character in the first book was so enjoyable that I’m not surprised I still loved her so much in this book. Nate grew on me so much more this book which is saying a lot because he was one of my favorite characters in the previous books. I just love how he interacts with Stevie and Janelle. Even though he is not trying to be funny, he cracked me up the entire time. I can’t wait to see the trouble they will get in the next book.

Final Thoughts

Overall, The Vanishing Stair by Maureen Johnson is fantastic. With such a gripping story, I could not help but fly through this book. Even though one of my least favorite tropes was present in this story, it did not diminish how great the book was. It is quirky, smart, and mysterious all in one. The characters are still fantastic and I really enjoyed unfolding this mystery with Stevie. I highly recommend this book if you enjoyed the first one but be aware that you’ll be upset with how far the next on in this series is! I cannot wait to continue this story.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...

Latest Member Reviews

Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
"STANLEY'S PAINT BOX is a charming board book about colors. Stanley is helping Sophie, Little Woo, and Benjamin paint boxes...."
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
"TAD is a colorful and engaging journey into the water, as we follow Tad, a tadpole. Tad lives with her..."
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
If...
 
3.5
"IF... is an imaginative picture book that features artwork imagining impossible scenarios in artwork, with simple text to correspond. For..."
The Three Little Yogis and the Wolf Who Lost His Breath: A Fairy Tale to Help You Feel Better (Feel-Good Fairy Tales)
 
4.0
"THE THREE LITTLE YOGIS AND THE WOLF WHO LOST HIS BREATH is a great picture book that teaches children meditation..."
Rival Magic
 
3.0
"Antonia, wizarding apprentice to Master Betrys, may not be the best at actual magic, but she tries her absolute best..."
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
"BE OUR GUEST! is a colorful book of photographs. The book takes us to a hotel, where a monkey named..."
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
"HAT TRICKS is a story of magic. Hattie the rabbit pops out of her magic hat to perform some magic...."
Stanley's Toolbox
 
4.5
"STANLEY'S TOOLBOX is a delightful board book that shows many tools in action as Stanley helps to repair Little Woo's..."
Spring Is Here!
 
5.0
"SPRING IS HERE! is a delightful board book that features several animals in the springtime setting. The book is extra..."
Lali's Feather
 
5.0
"LALI'S FEATHER is a delightful and colorful picture book that explores birds and imagination. Lali is playing when she finds..."
A Friend for Mole
 
3.5
"A FRIEND FOR MOLE is a cute picture book that speaks to unlikely friendships and shared experiences. Mole is happy..."
 
5.0
"This book is a winner the moment a reader lays eyes on that cover--and the title. My niece--who is picky..."
 
5.0
"This book is absolutely adorable. Dragons can suddenly show up wherever the characters are and they have to..."
The Girl and the Ghost
 
4.0
"5 Reasons to Read THE GIRL AND THE GHOST 1.) Beautiful prose- This was my first time..."
Brother's Keeper
 
5.0
"BROTHER'S KEEPER is a highly engrossing and heartfelt read about a 12-year-old girl and her dangerous journey from North to..."
Izzy Gizmo and the Invention Convention
 
5.0
"IZZY GIZMO AND THE INVENTION CONVENTION is a delightful, rhyming book about staying true to yourself and getting creative. Izzy..."
The Welcome Wagon
 
3.0
"THE WELCOME WAGON features four friends who decide to welcome a new family to Cubby Hill. As they travel to..."
Once Upon a Crime: Batman Tales
 
3.5
"BATMAN TALES: ONCE UPON A CRIME reimagines fairytales as Batman stories. There are four main stories in this graphic novel...."
Finder, Coal Mine Dog
 
4.5
"Thomas' father perished in a mining accident, so when his mother became ill and died, he ended up with his..."