Storm and Fury

Featured
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
1618 0
Storm and Fury
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
June 11, 2019
ISBN
978-1335218797
Buy This Book
      

Enter a world of gargoyle protectors, rising demons and one girl with an explosive secret. Eighteen-year-old Trinity Marrow may be going blind, but she can see and communicate with ghosts and spirits. Her unique gift is part of a secret so dangerous that she’s been in hiding for years in an isolated compound fiercely guarded by Wardens—gargoyle shape-shifters who protect humankind from demons. If the demons discover the truth about Trinity, they’ll devour her, flesh and bone, to enhance their own powers. When Wardens from another clan arrive with disturbing reports that something out there is killing both demons and Wardens, Trinity’s safe world implodes. Not the least because one of the outsiders is the most annoying and fascinating person she’s ever met. Zayne has secrets of his own that will upend her world yet again—but working together becomes imperative once demons breach the compound and Trinity’s secret comes to light. To save her family and maybe the world, she’ll have to put her trust in Zayne. But all bets are off as a supernatural war is unleashed…

Editor reviews

2 reviews

wonderful light-hearted YA fantasy/romance
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
With Armentrout’s characteristic snark and swoony romance, STORM AND FURY will not disappoint fans who have been eagerly awaiting this new spin-off series. As a spin-off, fans will love revisiting the world and characters of the Dark Elements trilogy. While it is not necessary to have read the previous trilogy to understand this book, I would still recommend catching up on it, in part because it is a wonderful trilogy and in part because while this book introduces the world lightly, the previous books gave a lot of helpful context.

Trinity is eighteen and has grown up at the Warden compound, believing herself to be a weapon. She is bonded to Misha, a Warden who is her assigned and bonded Protector and who is like a brother to her. Wardens are, in the most simplistic terms, shape-shifting gargoyles who hunt demons. Demons come in many forms and generally wreak havoc. Angels also exist and help guide the Wardens, mostly staying out of direct human or demon contact. What we know is expanded in this new book, and the world of the Dark Elements trilogy becomes larger and more complex.

Everything begins to change when some of the DC clan of Wardens come to the compound asking for help against a new problem. Trinity is particularly drawn to the handsome Zayne, and he seems to be drawn to her. When outside events escalate, they must work together to figure out what is going on. Their pull is undeniable, but each have issues they must start to work through before they can come together.

What I loved: Armentrout’s books all have some wonderful banter and snark, and this book is no exception. I absolutely loved the banter and flirting between Zayne and Trinity- it is top notch. Add that to action and mystery, and it is a fast-paced page-turner that will keep you up late reading. I also really adored the new character of Peanut, a ghost who died in the 1980s that talks to Trinity. His dialogue was some of the funniest and cheekiest in the book. We also get to see old favorites that fans will be delighted to have reappear in this new series.

On top of that, there are also some important messages about invisible disabilities. Trinity has a visual problem and rare disorder shared by the author. As such, this really shines through the book and introduces readers to some important issues.

Final verdict: With fantastic world-building and a whole new story, this spin-off series is a must-read for fans of light-hearted YA fantasy, action/adventure, and romance. New and old fans will rejoice in the fast-paced plot, delicious banter, and steamy romance. The next book in this delightful series cannot come soon enough!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Angels, Demons, and Gorgoyle Shapeshifters!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Trinity has never been allowed to leave her home compound because of her secret. Here, she has friends, a protector, and the Wardens to look after her, even though there’s rarely a demon attack. The Wardens are these really cool and unique gargoyle shifters. They protect the world from demons and Trinity has trouble finding her place while hiding the truth.

Enter Zayne, a Warden who she can’t help but be drawn to. But he can never discover the secret of who she really is. When demons attack her home and take her best friend, Zayne is the only one who can help her find him. However, the path he takes goes against everything she’s ever been taught.

I love the lead female, Trinity, because she’s someone likable and I could relate to her. She’s so nosy and I love it. I love the tension between Trinity and Zayne and how they work so well together. The twists throughout the book, especially the end, has me eager for the second!


Final Verdict: I would recommend this book to fans of fantasy, paranormal, shifters, demons, angels, and romance.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Red Queen,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The world is brimming full of incredible inventions - but...
Sisters of Shadow and Light
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The night my sister was born, the stars died and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He thinks she's shallow, she thinks he's a nerd. What...
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A groovy New York Times bestseller! ...
Seneca Element (The Seneca Society Book 2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you knew that creating singularity between your mind...
Our Year of Love and Parties
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this poignant, funny, and romantic novel, four nights...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Elemental Manipulation is tricky. Only those with the power can...
The Path Divided
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every choice has a consequence. When a magical picture...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Marlee Stanley joins her two sisters and the...
Shadowscent
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
An Ember in the Ashes meets Indiana Jones in...
Reverie
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inception meets The Magicians, except with better wigs and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
They call me the Dark Queen… Ryleigh...
Scarred
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
Life leaves you scarred. Love can make you beautiful....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two friends in the 1980's were graduating from Cosmetology School....
Twisting Minds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
How can you trust your heart when you can't trust...

Latest Member Reviews

Pippin No Lickin'
 
5.0
"As a family with 2 busy boys, 14 and 12, we appreciate Layne’s contribution to helping children understand the importance..."
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
"'Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party' by Kimberly & James Dean is a cute story about friendship and..."
The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)
 
4.0
"Agatha loves the work of Detective Hercule Poirot. He's actually her imaginary friend and she uses his work to influence..."
Starfell: Willow Moss & the Lost Day (Starfell, #1)
 
4.0
"STARFELL is a charming and magic-filled middle grade fantasy that sweeps young readers away into another world. Willow Moss seemed..."
Journey of the Pale Bear
 
5.0
"What an adventure I just had! From the moment, I opened the book, I was transported to the 13th century..."
Hey Grandude!
 
4.5
"'Hey Grandude!' by Paul McCartney, illustrated by Kathryn Durst, is a fun, colorful, and exciting adventure. The illustrations enhance the..."
The Peacock Detectives
 
4.0
"THE PEACOCK DETECTIVES is a story told by a young narrator, who is in Grade 6 but reads at a..."
Big Nate: Back to Back Hits: On a Roll and Goes for Broke
 
5.0
"This is a combination of two Big Nate novels; Big Nate on a Roll and Big Nate Goes For Broke...."
The Fowl Twins (The Fowl Twins, #1)
 
5.0
"I have never read the original Artemis Fowl books but now I absolutely intend to. The Fowl Twins is highly..."
Amelia Bedelia & Friends: Beat the Clock
 
5.0
"Brilliant. This was the perfect book to read with my five year old niece. It's every bit as..."
Amelia Bedelia & Friends: The Cat's Meow
 
5.0
"Cute and Fun There's no end to the adorableness of Amelia Bedelia and this book is no different. Amelia..."
The Monster Hypothesis
 
5.0
"THE MONSTER HYPOTHESIS is a really fun middle grade investigative mystery. Kick is living with her grandmother, a fake psychic..."
Carnevil (Monsterstreet #3)
 
5.0
"Ren and Kip aren't sure what to expect when they visit their Aunt for Halloween. She works at an Old..."
Stuffed
 
4.0
"STUFFED follows Clark and Foon. Clark is a boy who loves stuffed animals and feels that they keep him safe...."
The Edge of the Word (Mightier than the Sword, #2)
 
5.0
"THE EDGE OF THE WORD is another absolutely delightful interactive story, where you are the main character in the book...."
Rat Rule 79: An Adventure (Yonder, #1)
 
5.0
"RAT RULE 79 is charming, ridiculous, and completely engaging. Fred is about to turn thirteen in a new place, as..."
Magic Tree House Deluxe Holiday Edition: Christmas in Camelot
 
4.0
"Jack and Annie get an invitation from "M" to spend Christmas in Camelot, which excites them since they haven't heard..."
Awesome Dog 5000 (#1)
 
4.0
"Marty Fontana and his mother move to a new town for her job, and have a house that belonged to..."
The Big Game
 
4.0
"Danny lives in Texas with his mother and former Pittsburgh Steelers player father, who now sells farm machinery. The father..."
Pippa Park Raises Her Game
 
4.0
"Pippa loves to play basketball and struggles a tiny bit in school. She lives with her much older sister, Mina,..."