House of Salt and Sorrows

 
4.7 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
922 0
House of Salt and Sorrows
Author(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
August 06, 2019
ISBN
978-1984831927
Buy This Book
      
Annaleigh lives a sheltered life at Highmoor, a manor by the sea, with her sisters, their father, and stepmother. Once they were twelve, but loneliness fills the grand halls now that four of the girls' lives have been cut short. Each death was more tragic than the last--the plague, a plummeting fall, a drowning, a slippery plunge--and there are whispers throughout the surrounding villages that the family is cursed by the gods.

Disturbed by a series of ghostly visions, Annaleigh becomes increasingly suspicious that the deaths were no accidents. Her sisters have been sneaking out every night to attend glittering balls, dancing until dawn in silk gowns and shimmering slippers, and Annaleigh isn't sure whether to try to stop them or to join their forbidden trysts. Because who--or what--are they really dancing with?

When Annaleigh's involvement with a mysterious stranger who has secrets of his own intensifies, it's a race to unravel the darkness that has fallen over her family--before it claims her next. House of Salt and Sorrows is a spellbinding novel filled with magic and the rustle of gossamer skirts down long, dark hallways. Get ready to be swept away.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

House of Salt and Sorrows
(Updated: August 16, 2019)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Annaleigh just wanted to be in charge of the lighthouse close to her island home. Rumors circulate on the island that her family is cursed. There used to be twelve sisters, but four of them died tragically. Then her father comes home with a new wife who doesn't want to continue mourning and brings up the idea of a ball for Annaleigh's sisters to celebrate their sixteenth birthday. New pairs of dancing shoes and a secret passageway lead the sisters to dances that are made from fairy tales. Annaleigh though can't stop thinking that someone in fact had murdered her sisters and is determined to find out the truth.

What worked: This is a spellbinding twist on the classic fairy tale Twelve Dancing Princess. This story though is darker and much more satisfying! Add mythological seafaring gods, a mystery, and a charismatic stranger, all set on a rocky island.

Usually when a book has numerous characters, it's confusing to know who is who. Craig though shows us the sisters in such a way a reader doesn't get confused. Annaleigh is strong, courageous, and not afraid to follow her heart. She also has a forgiving heart and tries to make her new stepmother feel more welcomed.

The magical dances are the stuff of fairy tales. Annaleigh is swept up in the dances, but later feels something isn't quite right. When her father tells his guests, during a holiday celebration, that he'll give them their choice of any of the sisters if they can find out the mystery behind the tattered shoes, a change sweeps over the household. A change that has tragic and surprising reveals.

I loved the Wuthering Heights feel of Annaleigh and the mysterious Cassius. Readers can sense that he might in fact be more than he's letting on. There is a definite chemistry between the two.

Captivating Gothic fantasy where a family curse might be much more.

Good Points
1. Spellbinding twist on the fairy tale Twelve Dancing Princess
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
darkly haunting and spell-binding
(Updated: April 05, 2019)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
HOUSE OF SALT AND SORROWS is an elegant and enchanting dark YA fantasy. Fans of the 12 Dancing Princesses will be delighted by this deliciously haunting retelling. Annaleigh is the sixth of twelve daughters whose lives have been filled with death. On the islands where they live and her father currently holds the dukedom, the eldest child inherits, whether or not they are male. Annaleigh never imagined she would be in a viable position to inherit, and she has been completely shocked by the events that have led to her having only one older sister, Camille, left. As the four before her have died, Annaleigh suspects that she or Camille are next.

The deaths began with the loss of their mother after childbirth and have continued for so many years that the mourning customs have been their only customs. The series of deaths have led the people around them to believe that the Thaumus family is cursed. However, Annaleigh looks beyond the deaths to suspect murder. As she investigates, stranger and stranger happenings have her second-guessing herself and everything she sees and knows.

With her new stepmother expecting and the shroud of sorrow hanging over the family for so long, everyone but Annaleigh is eager to move on and forget the past. When they find a portal that will take them anywhere, the sisters are all ready to adorn their beautiful gowns and shoes and dance all night at elegant balls. However, Annaleigh is focused on discovering who might be targeting their family before it is too late. With twists and turns and a handsome love interest, this book is completely spell-binding.

Annaleigh is a beautifully crafted character and easy to relate to. Through her eyes, we witness the (at times) horrors and mysteries that shroud the Thaumus family. This is easily a book which kept me up at night turning pages and is difficult to put down. The premise is expertly executed, capturing the 12 Dancing Princesses in a unique and completely fascinating way. As one of my favorite fairytales, I had high expectations, and they were completely met and exceeded.

In terms of the love interest for Annaleigh, this felt a little insta-love-ish, and I was on-board later in the story, though I had a hard time getting into them as a couple. I would have either liked more build up to the romance or for it to be excluded (there is certainly enough else to keep the reader’s eager attention). Other than that, the book has a fantastic build to a twisty and perfect conclusion. The setting is lyrically crafted and absolutely ideal for this dark and spell-binding story. Everything is wrapped up so well at the end also- what a perfect stand-alone novel!

I highly recommend for people who like horror/thrillers, mysteries, fantasy, and dark fairytale retellings. I would add warnings for murders, suicide, and mental illness. Perfect for fans of WINTERSONG and THE WHITE STAG.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Juliet Takes a Breath
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Juliet Milagros Palante is leaving the Bronx and headed to...
Lety Out Loud
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrated author Angela Cervantes returns to the fan favorite animal...
We Set the Dark on Fire
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
At the Medio School for Girls, distinguished young women are...
The Education of Margot Sanchez
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Pretty in Pink comes to the South Bronx in this...
Stella Diaz Has Something to Say
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In her first middle-grade novel, award-winning picture book author and...
Sarai and the Meaning of Awesome
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sarai Gonzalez is AWESOME. ...
Strange Birds: A Field Guide to Ruffling Feathers
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the award-winning author of The First Rule of Punk...
With the Fire on High
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
by Elizabeth Acevedo (Goodreads Author) 4.31 ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Four girls. One unforgettable July. ...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The definitive collection of British and Irish folktales from master...
The Fowl Twins (The Fowl Twins, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
One week after their eleventh birthday, the Fowl twins--scientist Myles,...
Kai and the Monkey King (Brownstone's Mythical Collection, #3)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Kai grows tired of her bookish mum not being...
Astro Kittens: Cosmic Machines (Astro Kittens)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Greetings, my little Astro Kittens! Are you ready to take...
Astro Kittens: Into the Unknown (Astro Kittens)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Greetings, my little Astro Kittens! Are you ready to take...
All the Things We Do in the Dark
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Sadie meets Girl in Pieces in this dark, emotional thriller...
The Rubicus Prophecy (The Witches of Orkney, #2)
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Abigail has just started her second year at the Tarkana...

Latest Member Reviews

Adaptive
 
4.8
"The story: Lune Avery has survived the Elite Trials and escaped the clutches of her tyrant father,..."
 
4.8
"This darker and grittier sequel of Issaura's Claws, steers readers on a journey outside the kingdom of Elysia into the..."
Winter's Captive
 
5.0
"YA fantasy has always been my favorite. However, the past few months, I'd been in a slump. I struggled getting..."
The Fractured Empire
 
5.0
"I don’t know where to start! The Fractured Empire by Robin D. Mahle is the first in the World Apart..."
Tin Men
 
4.8
"Tin Men by Amalie Jahn The story: After losing his estranged father, Charlie Johnson’s..."
Tin Men
 
4.5
"Would you risk your future to discover your past? What I Loved: The premise of..."
Perfectly You
 
4.3
"What I loved: Ivy's character is strong, driven, and even a bit inconsiderate at times. Giving her character flaws..."
COLD DAY IN THE SUN
 
4.3
"An adorable story that has a lot to say. The story: Holland is the only..."
Lily and the Wedding Date Mistake
 
4.0
"'Lily and the Wedding Date Mistake' by Seven Steps is a story of friendship lost and found between main characters..."
Bea and the Bad Boy
 
4.8
"'Bea and the Bad Boy' by Anna Catherine Field is a page-turning story that evolves from two people who don't..."
Igloo High
 
3.8
"'Igloo High' by Jacinthe Dessureault has many of the typical aspects that young adult novels contain, including a popular girl,..."
Super Powers
 
4.5
"The story: Hot on the heels of the event of Super Humans (Book One), we get inside..."
Perfectly Oblivious
 
4.3
"This was a sweet high school love story centered around basketball and missed intentions. What I liked: ..."
The Kilwade Tragedy
 
5.0
"Before I start this review, I do want to let you all know that this book is trigger heavy. The..."
Colliding Skies
 
4.3
" What I loved: The cover, obviously, is gorgeous and eye catching. Skye's character is a genuine..."
Kismet and Karma
 
5.0
"The other side of the story. The Story: We finally get to see just what happened..."
Fate and Fortune
 
5.0
"Such a cute story. The Story: Paige is heartbroken after her boyfriend of two years..."
Oberon Academy Book One: The Orphan
 
4.5
"This is a promising start to an exciting new fae series! What I loved: The writing style is..."
Bea and the Bad Boy
 
3.8
"When Bea's best friend Katherine and twin brother Atticus start dating, she feels betrayed and can't stand to see them..."
The C Word
 
5.0
"Addison and Julian have history between them that neither like to talk about. Things changed after that fateful night of..."