That's Not What Happened

 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
1270 0
That's Not What Happened
Age Range
12+
Release Date
August 28, 2018
ISBN
978-1338186529
Buy This Book
      
From New York Times bestseller Kody Keplinger comes an astonishing and thought-provoking exploration of the aftermath of tragedy, the power of narrative, and how we remember what we've lost.

It's been three years since the Virgil County High School Massacre. Three years since my best friend, Sarah, was killed in a bathroom stall during the mass shooting. Everyone knows Sarah's story--that she died proclaiming her faith.

But it's not true.

I know because I was with her when she died. I didn't say anything then, and people got hurt because of it. Now Sarah's parents are publishing a book about her, so this might be my last chance to set the record straight . . . but I'm not the only survivor with a story to tell about what did--and didn't--happen that day.

Except Sarah's martyrdom is important to a lot of people, people who don't take kindly to what I'm trying to do. And the more I learn, the less certain I am about what's right. I don't know what will be worse: the guilt of staying silent or the consequences of speaking up . . .

Editor reviews

1 reviews

made me rethink my perspective
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
WHAT I LOVED:
There have been countless school shootings in the United States and hundreds if not thousands of lives have been lost in those massacres, but the base for That’s Not What Happened comes from the most infamous of them all: the Columbine High School massacre of 1999. There’s a myth that victims Cassie Bernall and Rachel Scott declared their devotion to God before their deaths and were killed because of it, but Cassie’s has been thoroughly disproved and I hadn’t even heard of Rachel’s before reading this book, so I’m inclined to believe it didn’t happen either.

This matters because narrator Leanne is living that myth when her best friend Sarah is said to have made such a declaration before her death and Leanne knows she didn’t. She was there. But fellow survivor Ashley overheard somebody doing so and mistook their voice for Sarah’s, so Ashley spread the word and it became fact. Leanne just wants to get the truth out there so Sarah is remembered truthfully, but that brings her into conflict with Ashley, the rest of the town, and Sarah’s own parents, who have largely been able to cope because of Sarah’s myth and refuse to believe it didn’t happen. It’s a horrific, familiar illustration of how malleable facts are in modern times and how plenty are willing to stick to a lie even when they’re confronted with the truth.

But Leanne’s motives don’t have much to do with Sarah at all. Like her fellow survivors Denny, Eden, Miles, Ashley, and the no-longer-around Kellie, she’s desperate to reclaim her own story from the media coverage of the past and the coverage that will come with the book’s Sarah’s parents plan to release about their not-martyr daughter. This diverse cast is well-drawn and they pull each other out of their own personal dark places, like Eden’s growing drinking problem and the inner torment Miles feels because the stories about him were both hurtful and very, very wrong. I can’t emphasize enough how great a novel this is for making you think.

WHAT LEFT ME WANTING:
Where the novel falters is how it feels caught between 1999 and 2018. Though some modern discourse surrounding school shootings pops up, like some claiming the shooting was a false flag and the survivors are “crisis actors,” social media doesn’t seem to play much of a role for anyone. It’s one thing if it’s just for Leanne, but none of the others seem to mention it either. This is a book very obviously inspired by the 1999 Columbine High School massacre and the myth of Cassie Bernall’s/Rachel Scott’s martyrdom, but how we talk about those mass murders has changed a lot in 20 years. This book doesn’t quite reflect that.

FINAL VERDICT:
That’s Not What Happened did what great books do by making me rethink my perspective and the way I consume media–specifically media about school shootings, the survivors’ stories, and how those survivors are portrayed. It took me back to the experience of reading the Parkland Speaks anthology, which was true to the survivors’ experience and allowing them to be heard exactly the way they wanted to be heard instead of their experiences being defined by outside forces. (By horrific coincidence, Parkland happened just months before Keplinger’s book came out.) I recommend it and I recommend That’s Not What Happened in equal measure.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...

Latest Member Reviews

The Threads of Magic
 
3.0
"Pip picks pockets to get food for himself and his sister, El. When he picks something unexpected, a mysterious box..."
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
"STANLEY'S LUNCH BOX is a cute board book that combines a favorite character with a shopping trip to the market...."
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."
You and Me
 
5.0
"YOU AND ME is a sweet book about love between caregiver and child. The lyrical poetry of the rhyming text,..."
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
"BABY'S FIRST FARM takes readers on a delightful lift-the-flap journey around the farm. The board book is a simple story..."
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
"CAN I COME TOO? tells the story of a small mouse who decides to go on a big adventure to..."
Karma Moon: Ghost Hunter
 
3.0
"Karma Moon loves living with her dad in their New York neighborhood, answering phone calls for his Totally Rad documentary..."
Beetle and the Hollowbones
 
5.0
"Beetle is a goblin-witch who isn't loving the small magic her grandmother teaches her. She'd rather hang out with Blob..."
Brenda is a Sheep
 
3.5
"BRENDA IS A SHEEP is a silly book about friendship and acceptance. Brenda is a sheep (actually a wolf in..."
The Kiosk
 
3.0
"THE KIOSK is a picture book about a woman who is stuck inside her kiosk. Every day, she helps people..."