Courting Darkness (Courting Darkness duology)

Featured
 
4.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
821 0
Courting Darkness (Courting Darkness duology)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
February 19, 2019
ISBN
978-1783448265
Buy This Book
      

First in a duology, this darkly thrilling page-turner set in the world of the best-selling His Fair Assassin series is perfect for fans of THRONE OF GLASS, RED QUEEN, and GAME OF THRONES. Told in alternating perspectives, when Sybella discovers there is another trained assassin from St. Mortain’s convent deep undercover in the French court, she must use every skill in her arsenal to navigate the deadly royal politics and find her sister in arms before her time—and that of the newly crowned queen—runs out. When Sybella accompanies the Duchess to France, she expects trouble, but she isn’t expecting a deadly trap. Surrounded by enemies both known and unknown, Sybella searches for the undercover assassins from the convent of St. Mortain who were placed in the French court years ago. Genevieve has been undercover for so many years, she no longer knows who she is or what she’s supposed to be fighting for. When she discovers a hidden prisoner who may be of importance, she takes matters into her own hands. As these two worlds collide, the fate of the Duchess, Brittany, and everything Sybella and Genevieve have come to love hangs in the balance.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Fun follow up to the prior trilogy
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Having loved the original Fair Assassin books, I was cautiously optimistic about this new duology continuing Sybella's story and introducing new characters. After reading it, I think this may have been better to tie specifically to the prior series (book 4 instead of book 1 in a new duology) because it picks up right where MORTAL HEART ends. Sybella is accompanying the Duchess to France where she will wed the king and finally end the long war. Unfortunately, the French court is almost as deadly as the battlefield they just left, and Sybella must figure out a way to keep everyone she loves safe. Meanwhile, we meet a new character, Genevieve. She was placed as a spy in a Count's household 5 years ago and has had no directions from the Abbey since. When she learns devastating news, she decides to journey to the French court to make herself useful, but the journey there is filled with snags and stumbles. As Genevieve and Sybella's paths start to cross, the stakes are higher than ever to avoid another war and more lost lives.

Sybella is such a fantastic character, and I enjoyed seeing the loose threads of her prior ending start to resolve in unexpected ways. She had such growth in DARK TRIUMPH, but the road to trust and love in yourself and those around you is rarely a straight line. She is faced with old and new challenges in the French court. I particularly enjoyed the focus on her relationship with the Duchess as she becomes queen.

Genevieve is a wonderful addition to the prior trio of young women in this series. She's brash, at the end of her rope, and angry. She's had silence for so long, lost a dear friend, and feels trapped in every avenue left available to her. I love her spunk and determination to do something good, even if she's looking in the wrong direction. She also develops a possibly star-crossed romance with a prisoner in the household she was stuck at who is connected to her story more than she could ever imagine.

I highly recommend doing a read (or reread) of the original trilogy before diving into IGNITING DARKNESS. Regardless, IGNITING DARKNESS was a fantastic addiction to the world of St. Mortain and his daughters.

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
A must read for His Fair Assassin fans.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
While I thoroughly enjoyed this book, I was equally frustrated by it. Marketed as a new duology set in the world of His Fair Assassin, readers new to LaFevers should be able to jump into Sybella and Genevieve’s story with ease. That was not the case for me. I spent the first half of the book utterly confused and utterly fascinated. I loved this book and these characters, but new readers should definitely begin with Grave Mercy (His Fair Assassin book 1) before attempting this new duology. Fans of LaFevers will be able to jump right into the story as a continuation of the series.

As a new reader, I found Sybella and Genevieve’s characters difficult to separate in the beginning, although I quickly became addicted to Genevieve’s half of the story. She is a new character for this series, so I was able to connect with her in a way I couldn’t do with Sybella. Unfortunately, her side of the story slowed the pacing for me. Fans of LaFevers will likely be drawn to Sybella’s story as a returning character and fan favorite.

With quickly alternating points of view, it took me a while to get to know these characters as individuals. But this rich dark historical fantasy world of sleeper assassins, court intrigue and daughters of death, grabbed me (after a somewhat slow start) and refused to let go. As much as I wanted to stop reading and pick up Grave Mercy instead, I could not put it down.

Lafevers is a new favorite for me. With a careful hand, she creates a perfect blend of the historical fiction of the French court with the wild fantasy elements of kickass assassin nuns and daughters of death. (Who doesn't want to read that?)

Don’t miss this beautiful duology, just be sure to start with the original trilogy first. I can’t wait to dive back into this world again with His Fair Assassin while I’m waiting on the sequel!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Meanwhile
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate 10 years of this completely original graphic novel take...
Grant Beagan: The Finder's Code
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He’s just an ordinary teenager who likes astronomy, video games,...
Fisher- Price Fun in the Jungle: Explore, Touch, and Feel
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Children will love exploring the different textures in this playful...
Glitter Globes: The Night Before Christmas
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
On the night before Christmas, all over the house, not...
Belinda Fellgate: HellCat
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A contemporary teen fantasy about an inept 14-year-old girl who...
Breathless
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Jennifer Niven, the #1 New York Times bestselling author...
Music for Tigers
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Shipped halfway around the world to spend the summer...
Skyhunter (Skyhunter, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A broken world. An overwhelming evil. ...
Kingdom of Ice and Bone (The Frozen Sun Saga, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lira and Reyker have lost everything. Including each other....
Sword of the Seven Sins
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Eva Marteinn never wanted to be a killer. Raised...
Things That Should Stay Buried
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Some destinies are written in the stars. Others must...
How It All Blew Up
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda goes to Italy...
Horrid
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From the author of You Must Not Miss comes...
Tsalix Silverthorn and the Scepter of Destiny
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The latest phenomenal work from New York Times Bestselling author...
The Adventures of Bubba Jones (#4): Time Traveling Through Grand Canyon National Park
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the fourth book of this award-winning national park series,...
The Companion
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The other orphans say Margot is lucky. Lucky to...

Latest Member Reviews

The Kingdom of Back
 
5.0
"Marie Lu’s The Kingdom of Back is an historical fantasy based on real-life talents, Wolfgang Amedeus Motzart and his sister,..."
Meanwhile
 
3.7
"'Meanwhile' by Jason Shiga is a graphic novel adventure that will remind readers of the types of books in which..."
Breathless
 
4.0
"BREATHLESS is a book about change, secrets, and the aftermath. Claudine (Claude) is about to graduate high school, and she..."
Skyhunter (Skyhunter, #1)
 
5.0
"SKYHUNTER is an enthralling and lush YA fantasy. Lu really paints the story with her words, and this new novel..."
The Library of Lost Things
 
5.0
"I wasn't sure what to expect with The Library of Lost Things, but I know I didn't anticipate a book..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra, a teenager from the 2160s, is put into cryogenic stasis fulling expecting to wake up on another planet one..."
Kingdom of Ice and Bone (The Frozen Sun Saga, #2)
 
4.0
"KINGDOM OF ICE AND BONE picks up where the first book left off. Lira and Reyker are separated and each..."
How It All Blew Up
 
5.0
"HOW IT ALL BLEW UP is an absolutely riveting coming-out story. Amir Azadi is an Iranian American who has always..."
Music for Tigers
 
3.7
"A vividly descriptive Middle-Grade work with an ecological focus--enriched by elements of music, friendship, and atypical neurology. When her..."
The Shadow Mission (The Athena Protocol, #2)
 
4.3
"THE SHADOW MISSION is an even better sequel to THE ATHENA PROTOCOL with lots of action and spy-related danger. In..."
Horrid
 
4.3
"HORRID is an intensely creepy story that follows Jane and her mother, Ruth. Jane's father has just died and after..."
Color Outside the Lines
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: The stories vary in genre, time period, and the makeup of the couples, but many of them..."
I'll Be the One (I'll Be the One #1)
 
5.0
"WHAT I LOVED: Haneul "Skye" Shin is talented, fat, and contrary to the max. Her mom tells Skye she..."
Legendborn (Legendborn, #1)
 
5.0
"LEGENDBORN is absolutely thrilling YA fantasy that captivated me from the start. Bree gained early entrance into UNC-Chapel Hill and..."
Blood & Honey
 
5.0
"This is going to be a hard review to write because I have so many words that want to come..."
Don't Call the Wolf
 
5.0
"Ren is the queen of the forest, a lynx shifter, and the protector of the forest's creatures. When a dragon..."
The Companion
 
4.3
"Everyone thinks Margot is lucky. She's the sole survivor of a horrific car crash that killed her family. While at..."
A Golden Fury
 
3.0
"Thea Hope has learned alchemy as her mother's apprentice, forced into the shadows when all she wants is equal credit..."
Foul is Fair
 
3.0
"Elle is part of the glittering crowd, beautiful and untouchable, or so they believe. One night, Elle and her friends..."
Burn Our Bodies Down
 
4.0
"Audiobook review Margot is tired of not getting answers from her mother about where she came from..."