Ask Me Anything

 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
579 0
Ask Me Anything
Author(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
May 07, 2019
ISBN
978-1640636583
Buy This Book
      
I should’ve kept my mouth shut.

But Wilmont Academy’s been living in the Dark Ages when it comes to sex ed, and someone had to take matters into her own hands. Well, I’m a kick-ass coder, so I created a totally anonymous, totally untraceable blog where teens can come to get real, honest, nothing-is-off-limits sex advice.

And holy hell, the site went viral―and we’re talking way beyond Wilmont―overnight. Who knew this town was so hard up?

Except now the school administration is trying to shut me down, and they’ve forced Dean―my coding crush, aka the hottest guy in school―to try to uncover who I am. If he discovers my secret, I’ll lose him forever. And thousands of teens who need real advice won’t have anyone to turn to.

Ask me anything…except how to make things right.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

interesting book about issues facing teens
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
ASK ME ANYTHING is a book with a lot to unpack. Amber and Dean attend a private school which is well-known for its educational standards and which is also conservative, teaching only abstinence only sex education. After talking to her BFF who is sexually active and needs a safe space to ask questions, Amber has an idea.

When she also makes a bet with Dean to do something big with their hacking skills in their senior year, Amber decides to make a blog where teens at their school can safely and anonymously ask questions that aren't covered by their lacking sex ed classes. With her father being a teen psychologist and her mother a romance novelist, Amber is lucky to have two supportive and caring parents to go to for information- she may as well use that information to help others.

Dean is being blackmailed by the principal to help with uncovering the person behind the Ask Me Anything blog so that his sister's prank won't be exposed. It turns out the principal has been blackmailing a lot of students to do things for him and keep his well-paid position where it is.

Dean has long had a crush on Amber, and she has one on him also- however, there's a psychological block to them getting together. One that they will need to work through with support. As they get to know each other better, their feelings and relationship grow.

I would add some warnings for sexual assault (attempted and actual, multiple stories with varying degrees of detail) as well as teen pregnancy. This book contains some really big and important issues which are facing teens and young people- beyond assault/consent, there is also coming out, navigating parental relationships, facing sexism, and even some points about racism/feminism. It is all handled really well through the context of the blog.

Amber is dealing with some issues on her own, but luckily, she has absolutely incredible parents who are such a great model and really help her to work through them and understand the world around her. It is always great to see such a healthy parent-child relationship and to see young people getting the support they need. The book itself is also a great source of information and thought-provocation through the posts on the blog. The book spends a lot of time on the relationship building between Amber and Dean, and I would have preferred to have even more of the blog (though their relationship is really sweet and cute).

I would have liked to see more psychological support for Amber in terms of a professional, but I think this was a pretty accurate portrayal of the way things usually go. Her support from parents was top notch and was great to see, regardless.

Overall, this is a strong and interesting story about students who try to help each other as well as about sex ed. This is a great book for fans of contemporary YA romance and older teens.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...

Latest Member Reviews

Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."