There's Something About Sweetie

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1029 0
There's Something About Sweetie
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
May 14, 2019
ISBN
9781534416789
Buy This Book
      

Ashish Patel didn’t know love could be so…sucky. After he’s dumped by his ex-girlfriend, his mojo goes AWOL. Even worse, his parents are annoyingly, smugly confident they could find him a better match. So, in a moment of weakness, Ash challenges them to set him up. The Patels insist that Ashish date an Indian-American girl—under contract. Per subclause 1(a), he’ll be taking his date on “fun” excursions like visiting the Hindu temple and his eccentric Gita Auntie. Kill him now. How is this ever going to work? Sweetie Nair is many things: a formidable track athlete who can outrun most people in California, a loyal friend, a shower-singing champion. Oh, and she’s also fat. To Sweetie’s traditional parents, this last detail is the kiss of death. Sweetie loves her parents, but she’s so tired of being told she’s lacking because she’s fat. She decides it’s time to kick off the Sassy Sweetie Project, where she’ll show the world (and herself) what she’s really made of. Ashish and Sweetie both have something to prove. But with each date they realize there’s an unexpected magic growing between them. Can they find their true selves without losing each other?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Menon's best novel yet
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Sandhya Menon's backlist is full of romantic, heartfelt stories, and THERE'S SOMETHING ABOUT SWEETIE is no exception. Sweetie Nair is a fat athlete and ready to embark on project Sassy Sweetie so she can prove to herself and everyone around her what she is capable of. Ashish Patel (who readers of WHEN DIMPLE MET RISHI will remember) has been off ever since his first love broke up with him. When Ashish brazenly challenges his parents to set him up, they create a dating contract between him and Sweetie. Ashish and Sweetie both have something they want to prove to themselves, but as they grow closer, they have to balance what they need for themselves as individuals without ruining what it starting between them.

There is so much to love in Sweetie and Ashish's story. First, Sweetie herself is an incredible character. Fat representation in general is hard to find (especially fat WOC characters), and it's even more rare that the representation is authentic. Sweetie feels incredibly real. On one hand, she loves what her body can do, like running record-destroying times. On the other hand, she's surrounded by cultural norms that say she can't/shouldn't be happy with her body and that she can't be a full person with her body as is. She has to navigate not only society and her mother especially telling her she can't do certain things, wear certain clothes, or go out with certain people (like Ashish) because of her size, but she's also dealing with internalized fatphobia. Sweetie's journey is learning to stand up for herself and to her mom is beautiful, powerful, and has a very hopeful conclusion.

Ashish isn't taking his breakup well. It's a joy to read a book that shows such a nuanced portrayal of vulnerability and emotion in a male character. His side brings up aspects we don't always see in YA, like how breakups can take a long time (months, or even years) to get over, no matter how good or bad the relationship was, and it's not easy sitting with that hurt. Ashish has to learn to be radically honest and vulnerable at times, both with others and with himself. Something I really appreciate about the romance is that when Ashish and Sweetie start dating, neither of them are magically 'better.' Sweetie is still finding her voice, and Ashish doesn't automatically gain his confidence back. What they each struggle with is ultimately a very personal, individual journey, and not something that should, or truly can be, fixed by another person. They learn to grow while falling for each other.

I also adore the side plots. Oliver and Elijah are hilarious and angsty at the same time. Samir and Ashish have a great friendship arc, and I'm here for a buddy cop spin off with Samir and Pinky.

THERE'S SOMETHING ABOUT SWEETIE has heart, beauty, and deep feelings. Menon has stunned again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...

Latest Member Reviews

Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
The Zombie Queen
 
3.8
"Tamara is the daughter of the Vampire Queen and the Zombie King. She is extremely powerful and is wanted by..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"When country music sensation Becks leaps off the stage mid performance and kisses Nicky everything he’s worked so hard to..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"The story: When Callie's parents send her to help her uncle for the summer working at the Circus of..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"An intriguing and twisty book. The story: Callie is just a girl who loves to surf...."
The Hunt
 
4.5
"What a ride! The story: Tempest is our fierce heroine who wants nothing more than to become the..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"'Dating Nashville' by Michelle MacQueen and Ann Maree Craven follows some of the same characters that graced the pages of..."
Glass Kingdom
 
5.0
"I don't even know where to start with this book. I practically finished it in one day (and I would..."
The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"Growing up with the stories of the Nihryst, Adalina wants nothing more than to find them and break their curse...."
Jesse and the Ice Princess (Gulf City High)
 
4.8
" The story: Jesse Kerrigan has it all: good looks, charisma, and popularity. Even though he’s..."
Fae Hunter
 
4.5
"An enjoyable tale of a young woman who loses her sister and her sight to the Fae, but that is..."