The Soul of Power (The Waking Land, #3)

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
401 0
The Soul of Power (The Waking Land, #3)
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
14+
Release Date
June 04, 2019
ISBN
9780399177446
Buy This Book
      

One young woman learns the true nature of power—both her own and others’—in the riveting conclusion to The Waking Land Trilogy. “Bates brilliantly concludes an impressive high fantasy trilogy with this tale of scheming and magic.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review) Sophy Dunbarron—the illegitimate daughter of a king who never was—has always felt like an impostor. Separated from her birth mother, raised by parents mourning the loss of their true daughter, and unacknowledged by her father, Sophy desires only a place and a family to call her own. But fate has other ideas. Caught up in Elanna Valtai’s revolution, Sophy has become the reigning monarch of a once-divided country—a role she has been groomed her whole life to fill. But as she quickly discovers, wearing a crown is quite a different thing from keeping a crown. With an influx of magic-bearing refugees pouring across the border, resources already thinned by war are stretched to the breaking point. Half the nobility in her court want her deposed, and the other half question her every decision. And every third person seems to be spontaneously manifesting magical powers. When Elanna is captured and taken to Paladis, Sophy’s last ally seems to have vanished. Now it is up to her alone to navigate a political maze that becomes more complex and thorny by the day. And worse, Sophy is hiding a huge secret—one that could destroy her tenuous hold on the crown forever. Don’t miss any of Callie Bates’s magical Waking Land trilogy: THE WAKING LAND • THE MEMORY OF FIRE • THE SOUL OF POWER

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Enthralling YA fantasy
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
THE SOUL OF POWER is a strong conclusion in The Waking Land trilogy. While the first book focused on Elanna (El) and the second on Jahan, this third book is all about Sophy Dunbarron, now the queen of Eren and Caeris. This book requires the context of the first two to really get into and thus does not work as a stand-alone. Eren and Caeris were countries once together but have separated becoming enemies and having one conquer the other. They were both under the power of Paladis, and sorcery has been outlawed/thought to be evil.

El, the Caveadear or steward of the land, has awakened the land and participated in the rebellion of the people against the then rulers. Now, installing Sophy and fighting against neighboring kingdoms, she is captured by Paladis and their Witch Hunters. Sophy has already sent Jahan to Paladis as ambassador, and her hold on the people is tenuous with hatred between Ereni and Caerisians still lying under the surface. As Sophy tries to navigate the political landscape, she must worry about other rebellions and dissatisfactions- and the secret she carries.

As tensions continue to rise, Sophy is increasingly aware of the difficulties of ruling. She must decide not only what is best for the people but also for herself as she fills the role she was raised to fill. While the characters from previous books are present here, there are many new characters and/or old characters who are now given larger roles, that are completely enchanting. This whole series is filled with extraordinarily well-crafted people who leap off the page in their descriptions and mannerisms. Each book has completely brought me into this realm.

This book has less romance than in the past, as Sophy is already with Alistair. Her main objectives are career-related (if we can call ruling the country as such), and this is always refreshing in the YA literature. The world is so well-crafted that it is easy to imagine and completely enthralling, much in the way of high fantasy books like Lord of the Rings. This whole series has been such a fascinating and engaging ride that I highly recommend for people who like YA or adult fantasy, and especially for fans of The Girl of Fire and Thorns series.

Overall, this is a great finale in a fantastic series, and I highly recommend you read it from start to finish. With beautifully crafted characters and amazing world-building, The Waking Land trilogy is a wonderfully enthralling journey. I would add warnings for rape (past/not in detail), sexism, torture (not described in detail), and gruesome deaths.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Where the World Ends
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Winner of the 2018 Carnegie Medal! New from Michael L....
Carnevil (Monsterstreet #3)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
“Fast, funny, frightening—and filled with shocks and surprises. These books...
Prophecy Untold (Shadow Realms book 3)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finding out my mother was taken by the demons...
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut about first love and second...
Six Goodbyes We Never Said
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Two teens meet after tragedy and learn about love,...
Golden Crown
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
No longer only a warrior. Not just a queen....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The first vampire. The last Nephilim. The end...
The Galactic Adventures of Hazel - Gurecoa
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
What is it like to live in 4519 AD...
Batman: Nightwalker (The Graphic Novel)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
This action-packed graphic novel based on the New York...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Rose Hemmersbach aspires to break out of small town...
Stuffed
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome, little one. You have been chosen to join us,...
Merged
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seven of our country’s most gifted teens will become Nobels,...

Latest Member Reviews

Legacy Awakened
 
5.0
"Ava is the child of prophesy and all eyes are on her because she is the daughter of the Prime..."
Hushed
 
4.0
"Romy has just finished school and is torn because she isn't sure what she wants to do with her life...."
Golden Crown
 
4.3
"I have mixed feelings about this book. It follows the second book immediately and starts off with Etta struggling with..."
Prophecy Untold (Shadow Realms book 3)
 
4.0
"Kali is the hope of saving the world from vampires and demons. She’s a vampire huntress who also happens to..."
Prophecy of Darkness (Legends of the Tri-Gard) (Volume 1)
 
5.0
"Yes, this book was amazing. Yes, this book was so engaging. Yes, I could not put this book down. ..."
Fire Falling
 
4.5
"I fell in love with Air Awakens. The chemistry between the characters and the plot development had a perfect blend...."
Girl at Heart
 
4.7
"I know better than to start a Kelly Oram book at bedtime. I know better, yet I do it with..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"If you read the first series, Redefining Me, you got a glimpse at these characters and probably love them just..."
The F Word (Redefining Me book 1)
 
5.0
"'Dating My Best Friend' (former title: 'The F Word') by Michelle MacQueen and Ann Maree Craven delves deeply into themes..."
Pawns (The Wielders of Arantha)
 
5.0
"Pawns by Patrick Hodges is the first book in the Wielders of Arantha series. Complex and creative don’t begin to..."
The Reader
 
5.0
"I devoured The Reader by M.K. Harkins. There’s no other way to describe it. I read it in one sitting..."
Adaptive
 
4.8
"The story: Lune Avery has survived the Elite Trials and escaped the clutches of her tyrant father,..."
 
4.8
"This darker and grittier sequel of Issaura's Claws, steers readers on a journey outside the kingdom of Elysia into the..."
Winter's Captive
 
5.0
"YA fantasy has always been my favorite. However, the past few months, I'd been in a slump. I struggled getting..."
The Fractured Empire
 
5.0
"I don’t know where to start! The Fractured Empire by Robin D. Mahle is the first in the World Apart..."
Tin Men
 
4.8
"Tin Men by Amalie Jahn The story: After losing his estranged father, Charlie Johnson’s..."
Tin Men
 
4.5
"Would you risk your future to discover your past? What I Loved: The premise of..."
Perfectly You
 
4.3
"What I loved: Ivy's character is strong, driven, and even a bit inconsiderate at times. Giving her character flaws..."
COLD DAY IN THE SUN
 
4.3
"An adorable story that has a lot to say. The story: Holland is the only..."
Lily and the Wedding Date Mistake
 
4.0
"'Lily and the Wedding Date Mistake' by Seven Steps is a story of friendship lost and found between main characters..."