The Geography of Lost Things

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
2636 0
The Geography of Lost Things
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
October 02, 2018
ISBN
9781481499217
Buy This Book
      

In this romantic road trip story perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Morgan Matson, a teen girl discovers the value of ordinary objects while learning to forgive her absent father. After Ali’s father passes away, he leaves his one and only prized possession—a 1968 Firebird convertible—to his daughter. But Ali doesn’t plan on keeping it. Not when it reminds her too much of all her father’s unfulfilled promises. So when she finds a buyer three hundred miles up the Pacific coast willing to pay enough money for the car to save her childhood home, Ali can’t wait to get going. Except Ali has no idea how to drive a stick shift. But guess who does? Ali’s ex-boyfriend, Nico. And Nico has other plans. He persuades Ali that instead of selling the car, they should “trade up” the items they collect on their trip to eventually reach the monetary amount Ali needs. Agreeing with Nico’s crazy plan, Ali sets off on a unique adventure that is unlike anything she ever could have expected. And it’s through Ali’s travels, through the strangers she meets and the things that they value—and why they value them—that Ali eventually comes to understand her father and how his life may not have been as easy and carefree as she previously thought. Because just like the seemingly insignificant objects Ali collects, not everything is exactly as it appears.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

The Geography of Lost Things
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
THE GEOGRAPHY OF LOST THINGS by Jessica Brody is a YA contemporary novel that begins with Ali needing to sell her late father’s car for cash. She finds a buyer five hours away, but the car isn’t an automatic and she doesn’t know how to drive stick. The only person who can help is Nico, Ali’s ex-boyfriend, who’s surprisingly willing to join her on this road trip. Despite their disastrous breakup, they head up into the Pacific Northwest together, and along the way, Ali begins to realize that everything isn’t always as it seems. Through forgiveness, she may still have a shot at being happy.

First of all, I love the packaging for this book. The cover image, the font choices, and even the color scheme are all really eye-catching and communicate important information. Before even reading anything about the story, I can tell there will be a road trip, a romance, and an inward journey. In other words, the packaging tells me what I need to know and sells me immediately.

Luckily, the premise of this book matches expectations. Two exes stuck in a car together? It’s the ultimate “one bed, two people trope” expanded to an entire novel format. From the beginning, it’s clear that Nico and Ali will end up back together, and for the most part, I like how Brody gets us there. However, for all the buildup and waiting we have to do as readers, I wanted a bigger reconciliation in the end. I have a sense that Brody simmered their relationship to make the book more about Ali and her father, Jackson. However, while Jackson’s storyline fueled Ali motives, I found the flashbacks a bit too frequent, which slowed the pacing down for me.

The writing is also a little too polished, almost like Brody ticked off all the boxes for what makes a great novel, but the different elements didn’t fully congeal. For instance, Ali has a lot of quirky traits that set her apart from other characters. She lives and dies by online personality quizzes, she hates liars and lying, she is very knowledgeable about animals and wants to be a vet, she’s the exact opposite of a hoarder, and she thinks black coffee is boring. All of these distinctions make her very specific, but, for me, they were distracting. Though I love dynamic characters, I wish Brody picked one or two traits and allowed them to shine through the entire story instead of ping-ponging back and forth.

Overall, THE GEOGRAPHY OF LOST THINGS is a fresh voice in the YA contemporary world. The story is both nostalgic and new, cliché and original. It offers timeless lessons that made me look at my own life. Set during the summer, THE GEOGRAPHY OF LOST THINGS is the perfect book to escape this winter’s cold.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Dog Patrol: Our Canine Companions and the Kids Who Protect Them
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In a full-color dog book unlike any other, acclaimed children’s...
Watch Over Me
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mila is used to being alone. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Her job is to keep their secrets safe. ...
City of the Plague God
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Best-selling author Rick Riordan presents CITY OF THE PLAGUE GOD,...
The Shadow War
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inglourious Basterds meets Stranger Things in this dark and thrilling...
The Valley and the Flood
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rose Colter is almost home, but she can't go back...
Don't Tell A Soul
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stay up all night with this modern day Rebecca! Perfect...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
58 Farm End: a twisted romantic crime thriller series (Book...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Beatrice Walker thought she lived in a normal world—that is...
Crying is Like the Rain: A Story of Mindfulness and Feelings
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A gentle metaphor for understanding and processing anxiety and sadness....
The Brass Queen
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
She knows a liar when she sees one. ...
The Final Chance
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Friends no matter what. At least that's what Beth Ann...

Latest Member Reviews

The Parkour Club
 
5.0
" The Parkour Club is a rollicking good read! Bronte’s journey to find her place in the world..."
The Forgotten World (The World Apart Series Book 3)
 
5.0
"I don't know how this series keeps getting better, but it does. This third book is just... so much happens..."
The Tempest Sea
 
5.0
"This book... oof. It hurt. But if you know me at all, you know my favorite books are the kind..."
The Fractured Empire
 
5.0
"This book grabbed me from the very beginning, throwing me into this beautifully-crafted, intriguing new world. The plot is fast-paced..."
My High School Royal Boyfriend
 
4.0
"'My High School Royal Boyfriend' by Kylie Key follows new River Valley High students Blaire and Alex, as they try..."
Born at Dawn
 
3.7
"BORN AT DAWN is an upper YA fantasy full of adventure - the main character is half human and half..."
Born Royal
 
3.8
"As a girl, Vi suffered various forms of torture from her mom and she was the equivalent to a lab..."
The Lost Prince (The Nihryst Book 2)
 
5.0
"THE LOST PRINCE opens up where the first one left off. Ada is with Lee searching for a cure to..."
Edge of Light
 
5.0
"This book literally starts out with a bang as multiple meteorites strike cities across the earth at the same time,..."
The Runaway (Barrett Boys #1)
 
5.0
"Annie lives in a small town where everyone knows everything about each other. She is usually the subject of the..."
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.5
"A cute story. The story: My High School Rebel Boyfriend stars a high school senior, Harper,..."
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
"Definitely a book that's worth a read. The Story: Kenna wants to be able..."
Golden Curse (The True Story of Rapunzel)
 
5.0
"This beautiful story is highly enjoyable. The writing flows easily, and the characters feel relatable. The main conflict was interesting..."
The Raven and the Dove
 
4.0
"An intriguing tale of forbidden love as two young lovers fight to stay together. Well written and entertaining. ..."
The Devil's Apprentice
 
4.5
"This was actually a pretty interesting story. At first I really wasn't sure how it was going to go so..."
Heart Sister
 
4.8
"The story: When Emmitt’s twin sister Minnie dies in a tragic accident, it cripples not only him..."
Mastery of Earth (Legends of the Tri-Gard Book 3)
 
5.0
"Oh the feels this book gave me. Davi's officially back but still not really? His memories are all over the..."
Glass Princess
 
5.0
"This second entry was good, well technically fifth. I am really glad that the story picked up right after the..."
Depths: A Tale of the Little Mermaid
 
3.8
"Set in a Greek/Roman era, where not only one but three worlds are colliding, Arianna is a human girl who..."
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
4.0
"'My High School Rebel Boyfriend' by Kylie Key follows main characters Harper and Mitchell as they have to find a..."