The Geography of Lost Things

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
600 0
The Geography of Lost Things
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
October 02, 2018
ISBN
9781481499217
Buy This Book
      

In this romantic road trip story perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Morgan Matson, a teen girl discovers the value of ordinary objects while learning to forgive her absent father. After Ali’s father passes away, he leaves his one and only prized possession—a 1968 Firebird convertible—to his daughter. But Ali doesn’t plan on keeping it. Not when it reminds her too much of all her father’s unfulfilled promises. So when she finds a buyer three hundred miles up the Pacific coast willing to pay enough money for the car to save her childhood home, Ali can’t wait to get going. Except Ali has no idea how to drive a stick shift. But guess who does? Ali’s ex-boyfriend, Nico. And Nico has other plans. He persuades Ali that instead of selling the car, they should “trade up” the items they collect on their trip to eventually reach the monetary amount Ali needs. Agreeing with Nico’s crazy plan, Ali sets off on a unique adventure that is unlike anything she ever could have expected. And it’s through Ali’s travels, through the strangers she meets and the things that they value—and why they value them—that Ali eventually comes to understand her father and how his life may not have been as easy and carefree as she previously thought. Because just like the seemingly insignificant objects Ali collects, not everything is exactly as it appears.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

The Geography of Lost Things
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
THE GEOGRAPHY OF LOST THINGS by Jessica Brody is a YA contemporary novel that begins with Ali needing to sell her late father’s car for cash. She finds a buyer five hours away, but the car isn’t an automatic and she doesn’t know how to drive stick. The only person who can help is Nico, Ali’s ex-boyfriend, who’s surprisingly willing to join her on this road trip. Despite their disastrous breakup, they head up into the Pacific Northwest together, and along the way, Ali begins to realize that everything isn’t always as it seems. Through forgiveness, she may still have a shot at being happy.

First of all, I love the packaging for this book. The cover image, the font choices, and even the color scheme are all really eye-catching and communicate important information. Before even reading anything about the story, I can tell there will be a road trip, a romance, and an inward journey. In other words, the packaging tells me what I need to know and sells me immediately.

Luckily, the premise of this book matches expectations. Two exes stuck in a car together? It’s the ultimate “one bed, two people trope” expanded to an entire novel format. From the beginning, it’s clear that Nico and Ali will end up back together, and for the most part, I like how Brody gets us there. However, for all the buildup and waiting we have to do as readers, I wanted a bigger reconciliation in the end. I have a sense that Brody simmered their relationship to make the book more about Ali and her father, Jackson. However, while Jackson’s storyline fueled Ali motives, I found the flashbacks a bit too frequent, which slowed the pacing down for me.

The writing is also a little too polished, almost like Brody ticked off all the boxes for what makes a great novel, but the different elements didn’t fully congeal. For instance, Ali has a lot of quirky traits that set her apart from other characters. She lives and dies by online personality quizzes, she hates liars and lying, she is very knowledgeable about animals and wants to be a vet, she’s the exact opposite of a hoarder, and she thinks black coffee is boring. All of these distinctions make her very specific, but, for me, they were distracting. Though I love dynamic characters, I wish Brody picked one or two traits and allowed them to shine through the entire story instead of ping-ponging back and forth.

Overall, THE GEOGRAPHY OF LOST THINGS is a fresh voice in the YA contemporary world. The story is both nostalgic and new, cliché and original. It offers timeless lessons that made me look at my own life. Set during the summer, THE GEOGRAPHY OF LOST THINGS is the perfect book to escape this winter’s cold.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

IMG_4918.jpg
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The black X of the Aramach Rebels marks the...
City of Beasts
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
"If you see a beast, and you have the...
The Grace Year
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
No one speaks of the grace year. It’s forbidden....
The Fractured Empire
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Ceithren Empire is finally at peace, but for...
The Survival List
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sloane Weber is devastated when her older sister dies...
To Kill a Kingdom
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This action-packed YA debut pits a deadly siren princess and...
Into the Crooked Place (Into the Crooked Place, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Into the Crooked Place begins a gritty two-book YA fantasy...
Kingdom of Souls
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magic has a price—if you’re willing to pay. The...
A Warm Friendship
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
"This heartwarming story deals with friendship, empathy, caring, nurturing and...
The Rift
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
As corporate greed is pitted against supernatural forces, two young...
Abraham Lincoln: The Making of America #3
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
The third installment of the Making of America series, Abraham...
Tiger Queen
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
From Annie Sullivan, author of A Touch of Gold,...
A Match Made in Mehendi
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of When Dimple Met Rishi comes a...
Cold Day in the Sun
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Holland Delviss wants to be known for her talent...
Perfectly You
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Ivy Nixon is the student body Vice President at...
A Treason of Thorns
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Dark, gripping, and utterly unique, this atmospheric historical fantasy...

Latest Member Reviews

A Warm Friendship
 
4.5
"A WARM FRIENDSHIP is a story of friendship and loss, celebrating the time that you have together. Squirrel finds Snowman..."
Hilda and the Mountain King (Hilda, #6)
 
5.0
"HILDA AND THE MOUNTAIN KING is an engaging and thrilling children's fantasy adventure. This graphic novel tells the story of..."
Good Night, Santa: A Magical Christmas Story
 
5.0
"GOOD NIGHT, SANTA is a simple but elegant book that celebrates the Christmas season, perfect for bedtime. The illustrations are..."
Jolly Jingly Christmas: The Best Christmas Book Ever!
 
5.0
"JOLLY JINGLY CHRISTMAS is a cute rhyming, lift-the-flap, musical, non-religious celebration of the season. Each of the five full page..."
Dear Sweet Pea
 
4.0
"Sweet Pea is in her last year of primary school (K-7th grade) and will be starting at secondary school the..."
I Can Make This Promise
 
5.0
"I CAN MAKE THIS PROMISE is a moving middle grade contemporary fiction about trusting your parents, finding your heritage, and..."
Peppa Pig Festival of Mud
 
4.5
"What I Loved: The story is based off an episode of Peppa Pig, and definitely reads like one. It..."
Everybody Says Meow
 
N/A
"What I Loved: This is one of those books that you can't help but smile while you read, even..."
The Other, Better Me
 
4.0
"THE OTHER, BETTER ME is a contemporary middle grade novel that follows a ten-year-old, Lola, as she explores herself and..."
Goldilocks For Dinner
 
5.0
"What I loved: The illustrations in this book are unique and eye catching, engaging the children from the outset. The..."
Ember and the Ice Dragons
 
4.0
"EMBER AND THE ICE DRAGONS is a lush middle grade historical fantasy that follows Ember, a dragon who was transformed..."
Douglas
 
3.5
"DOUGLAS is the story of a mouse who lives at the theater. She often likes to eat the snacks dropped..."
Wild Honey from the Moon
 
5.0
"WILD HONEY FROM THE MOON is a story of boundless love and a mother's quest. Mother Shrew is worried about..."
The Halloween Tree
 
5.0
"Be prepared to start a new holiday tradition with THE HALLOWEEN TREE. On the Christmas tree lot, there is one..."
Wake Up, Farm! (Pop-Up Peekaboo)
 
5.0
"WAKE UP, FARM! is a delightful pop-up, lift-the-flap book that brings the farm to young readers. Beginning with Rooster who..."
Isle of You
 
5.0
"ISLE OF YOU is a beautiful picture book that contains words of encouragement and coping mechanisms for dealing with difficult..."
Dasher: How a Brave Little Doe Changed Christmas Forever
 
5.0
"DASHER is a beautiful and elegant Christmas story that introduces the reindeer before Rudolph. Dasher lives with her family in..."
Cog
Cog
 
4.0
"Cog looks like an ordinary twelve year old boy, but he is an advanced android that the scientists at uniMind..."
The Best At It
 
5.0
"Rahul lives in Indiana with his parents, younger brother Arun, and grandfather, whom he calls Bhai. He has a best..."
One Speck of Truth
 
4.0
"Alma knows that if good girls were girls with no questions, she wasn't a good girl. She has SO MANY..."