Wicked Saints: A Novel (Something Dark and Holy, #1)

Featured
 
4.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
2039 0
Wicked Saints: A Novel (Something Dark and Holy, #1)
Age Range
13+
Release Date
April 02, 2019
ISBN
978-1250195661
Buy This Book
      

“Prepare for a snow-frosted, blood-drenched fairy tale where the monsters steal your heart and love ends up being the nightmare.” - Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author of The Star-Touched Queen A girl who can speak to gods must save her people without destroying herself. A prince in danger must decide who to trust. A boy with a monstrous secret waits in the wings. Together, they must assassinate the king and stop the war. In a centuries-long war where beauty and brutality meet, their three paths entwine in a shadowy world of spilled blood and mysterious saints, where a forbidden romance threatens to tip the scales between dark and light. Wicked Saints is the thrilling start to Emily A. Duncan’s devastatingly Gothic Something Dark and Holy trilogy. “This book destroyed me and I adored it.”- Stephanie Garber, New York Times bestselling author of Caraval

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Wicked Saints by Emily A Duncan
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
FEEDBACK
When I first heard about this book I thought it was interesting. Then I saw all the hype surrounding it. I thought this book was going to be okay, but maybe not worth all the noise surrounding it. Usually, when a book is very hyped I try not to get myself too worked up about it. Once I started reading it though, I could not stop. This book is probably my most surprised book of the year. I absolutely loved it and I don’t know if I can explain how much it had me on edge. The story was so unique and fascinating that I immediately drew myself into the world. Each description was so thought out that I could imagine what was being told. Every time Nadya was cold, I was cold. The warmth she felt from Malachiasz, I felt. There was so much detail in this book, but it was just the right amount. I never felt over burden with details that sometimes you find it rich fantasy worlds. The only thing I had issues with were the names – I probably pronounced Malachiasz a different way each time. Regardless of that though, the pacing of this book was fantastic. I couldn’t wait to sit back down and read again. With reading so many fantasy books, I am a pretty good judge about what is going to happen next. This book, was the first book in such a long time to throw me for loops. And not even at the end of the book but throughout the whole thing. I was astounded about how many plot twists came my way and I was living for them. At one point I was reading this at work and I looked to my coworker and was like “I cannot with all these plot twists. I don’t even know what’s going on anymore!” The story definitely took a turn I was not expecting and I cannot wait to read the next one.

These characters are something else. I absolutely loved Nadya’s character. There were so many aspects of her that just reached to me. Obviously, I’m nothing like Nadya but her character development was just so real. I loved everything about her from her steadfast faith to questioning it towards the end of the novel. Each doubt she had, I had also. Each heartbreak she felt, I felt also. This is exactly how you create a fantastic character. Malachiasz…. Oh my broken boy. My feelings for him are as jumbled and clear as Nadya’s are. And the enemies to lovers? Ugh, give me it all day. I also really liked Serefin’s character. His development was beyond what I could imagine. I can’t even begin to explain how amazing he is. I’m so glad he is turning out the way he is, and his ending? Oh my, next book is going to be interesting. But if anything happens to any of these side characters, I will fight you. You hear me Emily? You leave them alone.

FINAL THOUGHTS
Overall, Wicked Saints by Emily A. Duncan is a ride! This book took so many turns that I don’t know how I kept up. The progression of this book was absolutely amazing and so surprising, I’m still not even sure how we ended up there. Each part of the story felt unique and wonderful, perfect for the created world. I also really loved the characters. There was so much to them that just instantly made me feel connected to each one. I’m really excited to see what the next book brings. I highly recommend this book if you are looking for a dark filled fantasy books that will keep you guessing on what is going to happen next.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
full of twists and turns
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
WICKED SAINTS was an absolutely wonderful YA fantasy. We plunge into this world with a holy war- Tranavians against Kalyazins. The Tranavians possess blood magic and do not answer to the gods - they use spell books combined with their blood to cast powerful spells. The most potent blood mages are the Vultures, whose bodies and minds have turned into something darker- and more powerful. The Kalyazins view this as an abomination. They worship the gods, and most of their people are without magic, except the clerics who are given this gift by a patron god.

Nadya is a cleric who has been raised in a monastery. She does not answer to only one god but can call on most- whether and how they answer is up to them. The monastery is under attack by the Tranavians, who are led by their high prince, and the Kalyazins are desperate to save Nadya- she is the only known cleric and their hope for winning this hopeless war. Nadya escapes and encounters other people along the way, two Akolans and a Tranavian who is working against the Tranavian side. Together, they seek to travel to Tranavia and kill the king to end the war. Along the journey, Nadya begins to explore what divinity means and religion, as well as power in its many forms.

In other chapters, we follow Serefin, the high prince, who is a powerful blood mage (not a Vulture though), and who is ready to end this war. He is surprised when his father calls him back to the capitol for a Rawalyk, a ceremony to choose his bride. As Serefin travels back, we learn more about Tranavian politics and even more sinister plots.

This book was impossible to put down and I absolutely loved every second of it. We see the world from both sides of the war and all the complications along with them. This was a fascinating and truly unique story- I don't want to say too much to avoid spoilers, but AHHHHH! There are so many twists and turns and unexpected events, and I loved it! Fans of dark YA fantasy will need to add this to their TBR for sure. I cannot wait for the next one!

As a final note, I will add warnings for self-mutilation/harm (with the blood magic) and also for a bit of a cliffhanger ending.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A young prince must rely on a mysterious stranger to...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Outer Space
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Blast off into outer space with this mess-free sticker craft!...
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates are...
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mischievous Ntombi is not at all afraid of the fearsome...
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Brave young Pedro faces monsters and greedy guards when he...
What Beauty There Is
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
What Beauty There Is is Cory Anderson's stunning YA...
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This original board book series, which begins with America's favorite...
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This hilarious story of a pangolin with an identity crisis...
Poison Priestess (Lady Slayers, #2)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
In 17th-century Paris, 19-year-old Catherine Monvoisin is a well-heeled...
Sam Can't Sleep
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
When Sam can’t sleep, he decides to ask all the...
The Prison Healer (The Prison Healer, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kiva Meridan has spent the last ten years...
Fate Calling
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A cursed fae prince. A lonely human lass. A...
Welcome to California
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to California! We're glad you're here! Introducing a new...
Zoe Rosenthal is Not Lawful Good
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A buttoned-up overachiever works overtime to keep her inner...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi, this...
The Sky Above Us
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
From the author of We Speak in Storms comes...

Latest Member Reviews

The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
"‘The Mother of Monsters’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, tells the story of Ntombi, the chief's daughter. She..."
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
"‘Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, is great for younger elementary readers and anyone who..."
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
"BASEBALL BABY is a delightful board book about baseball. The book begins with heading to the park to play baseball..."
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
"I AM NOT A PENGUIN is a silly picture book that manages to teach young readers about pangolins. A pangolin..."
Sam Can't Sleep
 
4.5
"SAM CAN'T SLEEP is a fun picture book read that introduces the concept of nocturnal animals. It's nighttime, and all..."
Welcome to California
 
4.0
"WELCOME TO CALIFORNIA is a fun picture book of facts about the state. It covers topics from the state capitol..."
Zoom: Dinosaur Adventure
 
4.5
"ZOOM: DINOSAUR ADVENTURE takes the reader on a journey to the time of the dinosaurs. Jamie and Jasmine are going..."
Let's Pretend Fire Station
 
5.0
"LET'S PRETEND FIRE STATION is a delightful peek-through board book about firefighters. The book features pictures of children, firetrucks, and..."
Rosa Loves Dinosaurs / A Rosa Le Encantan Los Dinosaurios
 
3.5
"ROSA LOVES DINOSAURS/ A ROSA LE ENCANTAN LOS DINOSAURIOS is a fun bilingual board book about a love of dinosaurs...."
Eva Evergreen, Semi-Magical Witch
 
5.0
"Eva Evergreen is a young witch about to embark on her Novice Quest. As the daughter of one of the..."
Homer on the Case
 
4.5
"HOMER ON THE CASE is a delightful middle grade mystery, featuring unlikely detectives. Homer, a homing pigeon, and Lulu, a..."
The Thingity-Jig
 
5.0
"THE THINGITY-JIG is a fun picture book read about invention and friendship. Although all his friends are asleep, Bear feels..."
Bridge of Souls (City of Ghosts #3)
 
4.0
"What worked: This is a satisfying conclusion to City of Ghosts series. Engaging characters, fast-paced plot, and spooky magic woven..."
This is Your World
 
5.0
"THIS IS YOUR WORLD is a lovely picture book that introduces the world and the importance of taking care of..."
Mermaid Life: The Joy of Making Waves
 
5.0
"MERMAID LIFE is a fun collection of artwork themed around mermaids. With a few fun facts, silly moments, and inspirational..."
Yawn
 
4.5
"YAWN is a cute book about the contagious nature of yawns. A little boy begins a yawn that carries through..."
The Bear in the Boat
 
4.5
"THE BEAR IN THE BOAT is a sweet story of kindness and helping your neighbors. A storm is arriving, and..."
It's Bath Time! (Indestructibles)
 
4.5
"IT'S BATH TIME! is an adorable installment in the Indestructibles series. The book features baby animals and baby who have..."
I Really, Really Need to Pee!
 
4.0
"I REALLY, REALLY NEED TO PEE! is a silly picture book about a bush baby that is out and about..."
Bloom
 
4.5
"BLOOM is a sweet picture book about the power of kind words. A young girl passes by a beautiful flower..."