Wicked Saints: A Novel (Something Dark and Holy, #1)

Featured
 
4.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
1513 0
Wicked Saints: A Novel (Something Dark and Holy, #1)
Age Range
13+
Release Date
April 02, 2019
ISBN
978-1250195661
Buy This Book
      

“Prepare for a snow-frosted, blood-drenched fairy tale where the monsters steal your heart and love ends up being the nightmare.” - Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author of The Star-Touched Queen A girl who can speak to gods must save her people without destroying herself. A prince in danger must decide who to trust. A boy with a monstrous secret waits in the wings. Together, they must assassinate the king and stop the war. In a centuries-long war where beauty and brutality meet, their three paths entwine in a shadowy world of spilled blood and mysterious saints, where a forbidden romance threatens to tip the scales between dark and light. Wicked Saints is the thrilling start to Emily A. Duncan’s devastatingly Gothic Something Dark and Holy trilogy. “This book destroyed me and I adored it.”- Stephanie Garber, New York Times bestselling author of Caraval

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Wicked Saints by Emily A Duncan
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
FEEDBACK
When I first heard about this book I thought it was interesting. Then I saw all the hype surrounding it. I thought this book was going to be okay, but maybe not worth all the noise surrounding it. Usually, when a book is very hyped I try not to get myself too worked up about it. Once I started reading it though, I could not stop. This book is probably my most surprised book of the year. I absolutely loved it and I don’t know if I can explain how much it had me on edge. The story was so unique and fascinating that I immediately drew myself into the world. Each description was so thought out that I could imagine what was being told. Every time Nadya was cold, I was cold. The warmth she felt from Malachiasz, I felt. There was so much detail in this book, but it was just the right amount. I never felt over burden with details that sometimes you find it rich fantasy worlds. The only thing I had issues with were the names – I probably pronounced Malachiasz a different way each time. Regardless of that though, the pacing of this book was fantastic. I couldn’t wait to sit back down and read again. With reading so many fantasy books, I am a pretty good judge about what is going to happen next. This book, was the first book in such a long time to throw me for loops. And not even at the end of the book but throughout the whole thing. I was astounded about how many plot twists came my way and I was living for them. At one point I was reading this at work and I looked to my coworker and was like “I cannot with all these plot twists. I don’t even know what’s going on anymore!” The story definitely took a turn I was not expecting and I cannot wait to read the next one.

These characters are something else. I absolutely loved Nadya’s character. There were so many aspects of her that just reached to me. Obviously, I’m nothing like Nadya but her character development was just so real. I loved everything about her from her steadfast faith to questioning it towards the end of the novel. Each doubt she had, I had also. Each heartbreak she felt, I felt also. This is exactly how you create a fantastic character. Malachiasz…. Oh my broken boy. My feelings for him are as jumbled and clear as Nadya’s are. And the enemies to lovers? Ugh, give me it all day. I also really liked Serefin’s character. His development was beyond what I could imagine. I can’t even begin to explain how amazing he is. I’m so glad he is turning out the way he is, and his ending? Oh my, next book is going to be interesting. But if anything happens to any of these side characters, I will fight you. You hear me Emily? You leave them alone.

FINAL THOUGHTS
Overall, Wicked Saints by Emily A. Duncan is a ride! This book took so many turns that I don’t know how I kept up. The progression of this book was absolutely amazing and so surprising, I’m still not even sure how we ended up there. Each part of the story felt unique and wonderful, perfect for the created world. I also really loved the characters. There was so much to them that just instantly made me feel connected to each one. I’m really excited to see what the next book brings. I highly recommend this book if you are looking for a dark filled fantasy books that will keep you guessing on what is going to happen next.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
full of twists and turns
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
WICKED SAINTS was an absolutely wonderful YA fantasy. We plunge into this world with a holy war- Tranavians against Kalyazins. The Tranavians possess blood magic and do not answer to the gods - they use spell books combined with their blood to cast powerful spells. The most potent blood mages are the Vultures, whose bodies and minds have turned into something darker- and more powerful. The Kalyazins view this as an abomination. They worship the gods, and most of their people are without magic, except the clerics who are given this gift by a patron god.

Nadya is a cleric who has been raised in a monastery. She does not answer to only one god but can call on most- whether and how they answer is up to them. The monastery is under attack by the Tranavians, who are led by their high prince, and the Kalyazins are desperate to save Nadya- she is the only known cleric and their hope for winning this hopeless war. Nadya escapes and encounters other people along the way, two Akolans and a Tranavian who is working against the Tranavian side. Together, they seek to travel to Tranavia and kill the king to end the war. Along the journey, Nadya begins to explore what divinity means and religion, as well as power in its many forms.

In other chapters, we follow Serefin, the high prince, who is a powerful blood mage (not a Vulture though), and who is ready to end this war. He is surprised when his father calls him back to the capitol for a Rawalyk, a ceremony to choose his bride. As Serefin travels back, we learn more about Tranavian politics and even more sinister plots.

This book was impossible to put down and I absolutely loved every second of it. We see the world from both sides of the war and all the complications along with them. This was a fascinating and truly unique story- I don't want to say too much to avoid spoilers, but AHHHHH! There are so many twists and turns and unexpected events, and I loved it! Fans of dark YA fantasy will need to add this to their TBR for sure. I cannot wait for the next one!

As a final note, I will add warnings for self-mutilation/harm (with the blood magic) and also for a bit of a cliffhanger ending.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Two Dogs on a Trike
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Count up to 10 and back down again in this...
Bonaparte Plays Ball
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join a skeleton named Bonaparte and his teammates as they...
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...

Latest Member Reviews

The Unleashed
 
4.0
"After Steele House burned down, Hendricks and her family move to a rental after Steele House, trying to put that..."
Toil & Trouble: 15 Tales of Women and Witchcraft
 
4.3
"WHAT I LOVED: The two stories that tie for the best of the anthology are Tess Sharpe’s “The Heart..."
Pride
 
4.7
"It can be difficult to retell a tale as well-known as Pride and Prejudice, but Zoboi's retelling modernizes the story..."
Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."
Summer and July
 
5.0
"'Summer and July' by Paul Mosier is a beautifully written story perfect for summer reading. Readers will find themselves immersed..."
A Wicked Magic
 
4.0
"Friends Dan and Liss find a Black book of magic and try a spell. Only the spell goes terribly..."
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
"SCARLET ODYSSEY is a high fantasy that takes place in a world at war. Men are often raised to be..."
Tigers, Not Daughters
 
5.0
"TIGERS, NOT DAUGHTERS is a lyrical book of sisterhood and grief. The Torres sisters had tried to escape their father..."