Romanov

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1804 0
Romanov
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
May 07, 2018
ISBN
978-0785217244
Buy This Book
      
From the author of Fawkes comes a magical take on the story of Anastasia Romanov.

The history books say I died.

They don’t know the half of it.

Anastasia “Nastya” Romanov was given a single mission: to smuggle an ancient spell into her suitcase on her way to exile in Siberia. It might be her family’s only salvation. But the leader of the Bolshevik army is after them . . . and he’s hunted Romanov before.

Nastya’s only chances of saving herself and her family are either to release the spell and deal with the consequences, or to enlist help from Zash, the handsome soldier who doesn’t act like the average Bolshevik. Nastya’s only dabbled in magic, but it doesn’t frighten her half as much as her growing attraction for Zash. She likes him. She thinks he might even like her . . .

That is, until she’s on one side of a firing squad . . . and he’s on the other.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

intriguing genre-crossing YA book
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
ROMANOV is a wonderful YA historical fiction which weaves magic into the story of the Romanovs. This book completely hooked me from the start and did not disappoint with twists and turns and magic and romance that added new elements to the story we know. The book begins with the Romanovs in exile at Tobolsk. The Bolsheviks are keeping them under lock and key fairly loosely at first but the restrictions begin growing over time. Anastasia (primarily called by her nickname Nastya) is 16 years old when this has begun and looks to her father for guidance. He has endless patience and forgiveness for the soldiers who he views as also trying to do the best for Russia.

Things begin to change when her father, mother, and sister are taken to Ekaterinburg, and Nastya is given a task by her father to protect the Matryoshka doll which was gifted to her family by a powerful spellcaster. As Nastya takes this mission, she must work hard to keep the doll safe and to know when to use the spells within. She is also trying to help her brother, Alexei, who has hemophilia, and is often in pain because of it. Nastya wishes she knew more spells to heal him rather than just take away the pain, but she is also running out of the spell ink she needs to cast these simple spells.

As Nastya and her siblings travel to join their parents and Maria in Ekaterinburg, they know that everything is changing for their family for the worse. Centering around Nastya and her hopes, dream, and dedication to the mission given her by her father, this book is anything but boring. If you know the story, this follows the history pretty closely- with the added element of magic and some new characters in the soldiers who guard the Romanovs.

The first half of the book consists of a lot of character, setting, and world building; however, I found it anything but dull. I was completely caught up in Nastya, her siblings, her parents, and the Bolshevik soldiers for whom they came to care. The second half contains the death and bloodshed that are to be expected in such a story, and we felt as Nastya does, connected to these characters who will face the worst. Nastya is such a great character and so insightful at 16/17. She sees what is happening with her family, with her sister, with the soldiers, and views it from many perspectives. She has the heart of a troublemaker and uses this to help her family as they are under lock and key. Nothing is so black and white, and I think this was beautiful.

The added element of magic was interesting- this is different than the typical magic, requiring spell ink and knowledge rather than the usual formats you will see in books, and this felt really unique. With some added romance for Nastya, full of the push and pull regarding the situations and decisions they will face, this book has something for everyone. I absolutely devoured this book, and I highly recommend for people who like cross-genre YA. This is a book not to be missed!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...

Latest Member Reviews

Christmas Parade
 
4.5
"CHRISTMAS PARADE is another cute and brightly colored board book from Boynton. In this book, children see a Christmas parade,..."
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
"BEST FRIEND IN THE WHOLE WORLD is a sweet picture book about friends and doing the right thing. Roland lives..."
The Threads of Magic
 
3.0
"Pip picks pockets to get food for himself and his sister, El. When he picks something unexpected, a mysterious box..."
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
"STANLEY'S LUNCH BOX is a cute board book that combines a favorite character with a shopping trip to the market...."
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."
You and Me
 
5.0
"YOU AND ME is a sweet book about love between caregiver and child. The lyrical poetry of the rhyming text,..."
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
"BABY'S FIRST FARM takes readers on a delightful lift-the-flap journey around the farm. The board book is a simple story..."
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
"CAN I COME TOO? tells the story of a small mouse who decides to go on a big adventure to..."
Karma Moon: Ghost Hunter
 
3.0
"Karma Moon loves living with her dad in their New York neighborhood, answering phone calls for his Totally Rad documentary..."
Beetle and the Hollowbones
 
5.0
"Beetle is a goblin-witch who isn't loving the small magic her grandmother teaches her. She'd rather hang out with Blob..."