To Best the Boys

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1004 0
To Best the Boys
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
March 19, 2019
ISBN
978-0718080969
Buy This Book
      

The task is simple: Don a disguise. Survive the labyrinth. Best the boys. In a thrilling new fantasy from the bestselling author of the Storm Siren Trilogy, one girl makes a stand against society and enters a world made exclusively for boys. Every year for the past fifty-four years, the residents of Pinsbury Port have received a mysterious letter inviting all eligible-aged boys to compete for an esteemed scholarship to the all-male Stemwick University. The poorer residents look to see if their names are on the list. The wealthier look to see how likely their sons are to survive. And Rhen Tellur opens it to see if she can derive which substances the ink and parchment are created from, using her father’s microscope. In the province of Caldon, where women train in wifely duties and men pursue collegiate education, sixteen-year-old Rhen Tellur wants nothing more than to become a scientist. As the poor of her seaside town fall prey to a deadly disease, she and her father work desperately to find a cure. But when her mum succumbs to it as well? Rhen decides to take the future into her own hands—through the annual all-male scholarship competition. With her cousin, Seleni, by her side, the girls don disguises and enter Mr. Holm’s labyrinth, to best the boys and claim the scholarship prize. Except not everyone is ready for a girl who doesn’t know her place. And not everyone survives the deadly maze. Welcome to the labyrinth.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

fascinating adventure
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
TO BEST THE BOYS was everything I hoped it would be and more- I loved it! In this alternate world where ghouls and sirens exist, society is separated into Uppers and Lowers based on socioeconomic status, and all the politicians who make the decisions are, of course, Uppers. Women are also oppressed and cannot go to university but are good for wives/mothers. Rhen is a young woman whose Upper mother married a Lower father, leaving her disowned (the family's status goes with the man's, so an Upper man marrying a Lower woman would have been Upper). However, she has all the love she could ever want and is content with her lot in life.

The main problem plaguing Rhen is that an illness is spreading amongst the Lowers which paralyzes and kills the victims- and her mother has contracted the disease and only has a matter of time left. Rhen and her father are hard at work on a cure, but with their limited resources, it is difficult to develop and test. Rhen would love to be a scientist at the university, but it is not within the realm of possible, as she is a woman. Her cousin and confidante, Seleni, is an Upper and her aunt and uncle frequently invite her (but not her father) to their parties. Rhen finds the opportunities useful to try to convince the people in power to look into the illness, but her pleas are useless as the disease only affects Lowers thus far.

Every year, there is a scholarship contest to allow one "gentleperson" entry into an elite university, and the young men all compete. Holm, the person who runs the contest, is an enigmatic recluse and no one knows much about him, except that he is full of magic or inventions and then contest is unlike anything else. Of all the young men who enter the Labyrinth, only one will emerge the victor, usually an Upper. Occasionally, people will die in the course of the contest. This year, Rhen has decided to dress as a boy and try her luck, the invitation does not specifically exclude her. With Seleni by her side, they enter the contest not knowing what to expect or what will await them.

In a fascinating journey, we follow Rhen and the other characters as they face the mysteries and dangers within Holm's Labyrinth. This was impossible to put down and absolutely engrossing- I was fully enveloped in this world and contest. Rhen was a great character, but so were many of the side characters, including Seleni who is brave and fun and whose greatest desire is to marry Beryll, a young man of character whose parents are very picky. There is also some diversity in the cast, although the labels are not known by the characters, with Rhen being dyslexic and Lute's brother Ben seemingly autistic (I am assuming what the diagnoses would be as they are not named).

Additionally, a love triangle between Rhen and a Lower and an Upper adds an interesting element of romance to the story (though her desires are readily apparent). The romance was really beautiful and I won't give any quotes (though, oh my goodness, the swoon!) or details to avoid spoilers, but I really enjoyed it!

There are also a lot of interesting and relevant themes in the book, including the feeling of "other" in medical care (we don't get that disease so not worth bothering with), decisions made seemingly for good which can destroy livelihoods (restrictions on fishing made by Uppers which impact Lowers), socioeconomic divides, and sexism to name a few.

Overall, this was a really fascinating and wonderful adventure, and I am extremely eager to read the next book in the series. I highly recommend for all lovers of YA fantasy.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...

Latest Member Reviews

Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."