The Dysasters

Featured
 
4.2 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
1195 0
The Dysasters
Age Range
12+
Release Date
February 26, 2019
ISBN
978-1250141040
Buy This Book
      

P.C. and Kristin Cast, the #1 New York Times bestselling authors of the House of Night phenomenon, return to the scene with The Dysasters―the first action-packed novel in a new paranormal fantasy series. Adoptive daughter of a gifted scientist, Foster Stewart doesn’t live a “normal” life, (not that she’d want to). But controlling cloud formations and seeing airwaves aren’t things most eighteen year olds can do. Small town star quarterback and quintessential dreamy boy next door, Tate “Nighthawk” Taylor has never thought much about his extra abilities. Sure, his night vision comes in handy during games, but who wouldn’t want that extra edge? From the moment Foster and Tate collide, their worlds spiral and a deadly tornado forces them to work together, fully awakening their not-so-natural ability - the power to control air. As they each deal with the tragic loss of loved ones, they’re caught by another devastating blow – they are the first in a group of teens genetically manipulated before birth to bond with the elements, and worse… they’re being hunted. Now, Foster and Tate must fight to control their abilities as they learn of their past, how they came to be, who’s following them, and what tomorrow will bring… more DYSASTERS?

Editor reviews

2 reviews

engaging, novel superhero origin story
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
THE DYSASTERS is a really engaging new YA fantasy/sci-fi series. We begin with Foster, whose adopted mother Cora has dragged her to Missouri (or as Foster calls it, misery) to find someone at a high school football game on her eighteenth birthday. When a storm suddenly turns into a tornado, Cora’s heart, which has been hanging by a thread, gives out. Foster and a high school football player, Tate, call out against it- the tornado listens- before splitting and wreaking havoc.

With her last words, Cora warns them away from four of her presumed deceased adopted father’s associates who are out to get them. Cora has planned for just such cases and sends them armed with a letter to a safe house. Getting there and evading the four after them are no easy task. Quickly, Tate and Foster must figure out who they are, why people are after them, and also work out how to find the other teens who are about to turn 18 and come into their powers.

The book is told from many perspectives, and beyond Tate and Foster, we also get the perspectives of Eve and Mark, who are two of the four searching for the teens. Later, we also get the viewpoints from two other teens who are about to manifest their own powers. This fast-paced book is really engaging, quickly pulling the reader into the story and different personalities. There were never a dull moment in the story. Add on to that the comicbook-style drawings that appear throughout, and this is sure to be a big hit among people who like superhero origin stories. I was completely caught up in the story and so sad when I reached the end- I need more, NOW. (Please.) I am so excited about this new series.

This new series is a great beginning that introduces the premise, the characters, and has all sorts of action. I cannot wait to see where it will go! I also really liked the diversity of characters that was beginning to appear (different ethnicities/races, transgendered, etc.). I cannot wait to meet the rest of the characters in the coming books, and I could definitely see this becoming a favorite. The only thing I found odd was how fast/passing the grief was for Foster/Tate about their loved ones dying, but I suppose they had little time to grieve considering the danger they are facing.

Overall, I think this is an exciting start to a brand new YA superhero-style story, and I can’t wait to continue it with the next book! I loved the characters (even the “bad guys” are given some sympathetic perspectives), and I love the idea. The integration of images/comicbook-style pages within the novel is icing on a delicious cake. I highly recommend for lovers of novel superhero origin stories!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
A Story Full of Tornadoes!
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
THE DYSASTERS opens up with Foster and her stepmom Cora on the run and have been for a full year. When they arrive at a small town, Cora tells Foster that they're looking for someone. That someone is Tate. When the "Core Four" show up, disaster happens and Cora passes away from a heart condition. Foster is forced to go on the run with Tate. It isn't hard to notice there's a connection between them, in a weird, stormy way.

THE DYSASTERS is told in alternating POV between several different characters, including members of the Core Four. They're searching for Tate and Foster because their "Father" wants them. To him, they're the perfect result of experimentation.

"Dysasters" is the perfect title with how many tornadoes they had in this book. This was a very interesting dramatic science fiction book that many will enjoy. I do wish there was more character development, but hopefully it'll come in the next one. That and a bit more depth to the sparking romance between Tate and Foster. The pictures throughout the story gives it a superhero/comic book feel as well. Overall, the concept is unique and has me intrigued for the next installment.


Final Verdict: I would recommend this to fans of science fiction, stormy weather, elements, superheroes, and unique plots.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Red Queen,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The world is brimming full of incredible inventions - but...
Sisters of Shadow and Light
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The night my sister was born, the stars died and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He thinks she's shallow, she thinks he's a nerd. What...
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A groovy New York Times bestseller! ...
Seneca Element (The Seneca Society Book 2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you knew that creating singularity between your mind...
Our Year of Love and Parties
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this poignant, funny, and romantic novel, four nights...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Elemental Manipulation is tricky. Only those with the power can...
The Path Divided
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every choice has a consequence. When a magical picture...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Marlee Stanley joins her two sisters and the...
Shadowscent
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
An Ember in the Ashes meets Indiana Jones in...
Reverie
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inception meets The Magicians, except with better wigs and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
They call me the Dark Queen… Ryleigh...
Scarred
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
Life leaves you scarred. Love can make you beautiful....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two friends in the 1980's were graduating from Cosmetology School....
Twisting Minds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
How can you trust your heart when you can't trust...

Latest Member Reviews

The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
"THE QUEEN'S ASSASSIN is a YA fantasy romance that would appeal to younger YA readers. The book follows Shadow and..."
Scavenge the Stars (Scavenge the Stars #1)
 
5.0
"SCAVENGE THE STARS is an engaging YA fantasy that gripped me from the start. Amaya, or Silverfish, is a girl..."
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
"Isn't great to finish a series and feel satisfied? Sword and Pen by Rachel Caine is the final book in..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
3.7
"I snapped this one up because I love Wonder Woman, and I much appreciated Leigh Bardugo's adept writing in Six..."
Our Year in Love and Parties
 
4.0
"What I loved: The story was told through the unique lens of four specific events with..."
Jack Kerouac is Dead to Me
 
4.3
"JACK KEROUAC IS DEAD TO ME is Gae Polisner’s most recent YA Contemporary novel. Like in her other books, she..."
Woven in Moonlight
 
5.0
"Woven in Moonlight is a beautiful and lush fantasy, based on the culture and history of Bolivia. It is set..."
We Are All His Creatures: Tales of P. T. Barnum, the Greatest Showman
 
3.0
"WE ARE ALL HIS CREATURES by Deborah Noyes is a series of eleven short stories about the beloved showman, P.T...."
Jane Anonymous: A Novel
 
4.7
"JANE ANONYMOUS follows two timelines: one while Jane was captured for 7 months and one after she is back home...."
Finding Mr. Better-Than-You
 
4.3
"FINDING MR. BETTER-THAN-YOU starts off like a cheesy romantic comedy, but ends up being a lot more fulfilling light-hearted YA..."
Freaky in Fresno
 
3.7
"FREAKY IN FRESNO is a spin on the old novel, FREAKY FRIDAY. Ricki (nickname for Lyric) had a falling out..."
Only Mostly Devastated
 
4.3
"ONLY MOSTLY DEVASTATED is a charming YA contemporary romance that follows Ollie. Ollie had lived in California, until this year..."
Neffatira's First Challenge
 
5.0
"The descriptions are very beautiful and you can perceive the feelings of the characters to the point of empathy. ..."
Ink in the Blood (Ink in the Blood Duology #1)
 
4.3
"INK IN THE BLOOD is an engaging and atmospheric YA fantasy. Celia Sand was delighted when she was chosen to..."
What I Want You to See
 
4.0
"WHAT I WANT YOU TO SEE is an interesting book that discusses homelessness, choices and their intersection with privilege, as..."
The 47 People You'll Meet in Middle School
 
4.7
"'The 47 People You'll Meet in Middle School' by Kristin Mahoney is an endearing look at an often hard time..."
 
4.0
"The insatiable oasis will hunt down the thieves of this book and tear them apart, limb by limb, devouring their..."
All the Stars and Teeth (All the Stars and Teeth, #1)
 
5.0
"ALL THE STARS AND TEETH is an imaginative and lush YA fantasy that transports the reader to a fascinating new..."
Wardens of Eternity
 
3.0
"WARDENS OF ETERNITY follows Ziva, a young woman who was abandoned as a toddler, became a ward of the state,..."
The Hand on the Wall (Truly Devious, #3)
 
4.3
"THE HAND ON THE WALL is a thrilling conclusion to the TRULY DEVIOUS series. Here, the students are at Ellingham,..."