The Dysasters

Featured
 
4.2 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
1312 0
The Dysasters
Age Range
12+
Release Date
February 26, 2019
ISBN
978-1250141040
Buy This Book
      

P.C. and Kristin Cast, the #1 New York Times bestselling authors of the House of Night phenomenon, return to the scene with The Dysasters―the first action-packed novel in a new paranormal fantasy series. Adoptive daughter of a gifted scientist, Foster Stewart doesn’t live a “normal” life, (not that she’d want to). But controlling cloud formations and seeing airwaves aren’t things most eighteen year olds can do. Small town star quarterback and quintessential dreamy boy next door, Tate “Nighthawk” Taylor has never thought much about his extra abilities. Sure, his night vision comes in handy during games, but who wouldn’t want that extra edge? From the moment Foster and Tate collide, their worlds spiral and a deadly tornado forces them to work together, fully awakening their not-so-natural ability - the power to control air. As they each deal with the tragic loss of loved ones, they’re caught by another devastating blow – they are the first in a group of teens genetically manipulated before birth to bond with the elements, and worse… they’re being hunted. Now, Foster and Tate must fight to control their abilities as they learn of their past, how they came to be, who’s following them, and what tomorrow will bring… more DYSASTERS?

Editor reviews

2 reviews

engaging, novel superhero origin story
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
THE DYSASTERS is a really engaging new YA fantasy/sci-fi series. We begin with Foster, whose adopted mother Cora has dragged her to Missouri (or as Foster calls it, misery) to find someone at a high school football game on her eighteenth birthday. When a storm suddenly turns into a tornado, Cora’s heart, which has been hanging by a thread, gives out. Foster and a high school football player, Tate, call out against it- the tornado listens- before splitting and wreaking havoc.

With her last words, Cora warns them away from four of her presumed deceased adopted father’s associates who are out to get them. Cora has planned for just such cases and sends them armed with a letter to a safe house. Getting there and evading the four after them are no easy task. Quickly, Tate and Foster must figure out who they are, why people are after them, and also work out how to find the other teens who are about to turn 18 and come into their powers.

The book is told from many perspectives, and beyond Tate and Foster, we also get the perspectives of Eve and Mark, who are two of the four searching for the teens. Later, we also get the viewpoints from two other teens who are about to manifest their own powers. This fast-paced book is really engaging, quickly pulling the reader into the story and different personalities. There were never a dull moment in the story. Add on to that the comicbook-style drawings that appear throughout, and this is sure to be a big hit among people who like superhero origin stories. I was completely caught up in the story and so sad when I reached the end- I need more, NOW. (Please.) I am so excited about this new series.

This new series is a great beginning that introduces the premise, the characters, and has all sorts of action. I cannot wait to see where it will go! I also really liked the diversity of characters that was beginning to appear (different ethnicities/races, transgendered, etc.). I cannot wait to meet the rest of the characters in the coming books, and I could definitely see this becoming a favorite. The only thing I found odd was how fast/passing the grief was for Foster/Tate about their loved ones dying, but I suppose they had little time to grieve considering the danger they are facing.

Overall, I think this is an exciting start to a brand new YA superhero-style story, and I can’t wait to continue it with the next book! I loved the characters (even the “bad guys” are given some sympathetic perspectives), and I love the idea. The integration of images/comicbook-style pages within the novel is icing on a delicious cake. I highly recommend for lovers of novel superhero origin stories!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
A Story Full of Tornadoes!
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
THE DYSASTERS opens up with Foster and her stepmom Cora on the run and have been for a full year. When they arrive at a small town, Cora tells Foster that they're looking for someone. That someone is Tate. When the "Core Four" show up, disaster happens and Cora passes away from a heart condition. Foster is forced to go on the run with Tate. It isn't hard to notice there's a connection between them, in a weird, stormy way.

THE DYSASTERS is told in alternating POV between several different characters, including members of the Core Four. They're searching for Tate and Foster because their "Father" wants them. To him, they're the perfect result of experimentation.

"Dysasters" is the perfect title with how many tornadoes they had in this book. This was a very interesting dramatic science fiction book that many will enjoy. I do wish there was more character development, but hopefully it'll come in the next one. That and a bit more depth to the sparking romance between Tate and Foster. The pictures throughout the story gives it a superhero/comic book feel as well. Overall, the concept is unique and has me intrigued for the next installment.


Final Verdict: I would recommend this to fans of science fiction, stormy weather, elements, superheroes, and unique plots.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super-achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high school..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."
They Wish They Were Us
 
4.3
"THEY WISH THEY WERE US is an engaging YA thriller reminiscent of GOSSIP GIRLS. The book follows Jill, who had..."
Roaring
 
3.0
"ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven..."
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
"MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE is a fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows Danyal during his senior year of..."
You Say It First
 
3.3
"'You Say It First' is easily one of those books you will either love or hate. My feelings fell somewhere..."
Court of Lions (Mirage, #2)
 
5.0
"COURT OF LIONS finishes the MIRAGE duology with aplomb. This YA fantasy series takes us to another planet and the..."
The Unleashed: The Haunted, Book 2
 
4.0
"Creepy, suspenseful paranormal where some friends learn that a summoning might bring back something unexpected and evil. ..."
The Year of the Witching
 
5.0
"Immanuelle lives in the town of Bethel where the Prophet's word is law and the highest honor for a woman..."