Ever the Brave (Clash of Kingdoms book 2)

 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
258 0
Ever the Brave (Clash of Kingdoms book 2)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
December 05, 2017
ISBN
0544664469
Buy This Book
      
After saving King Aodren with her newfound Channeler powers, Britta only wants to live a peaceful life in her childhood home. Unfortunately, saving the King has created a tether between them she cannot sever, no matter how much she'd like to, and now he's insisting on making her a noble lady. And there are those who want to use Britta’s power for evil designs. If Britta cannot find a way to harness her new magical ability, her life—as well as her country—may be lost.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Ever the Brave Review
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Feedback

I was so excited to continue this series. There was so much that happened in book one which I needed answers for. It wasn’t just about finding the murderer of Saul, but hiding Britta’s channeler’s ability and saving the Kingdom of Malam. This world has so much going on and I was hooked. In this book, there are more pressing matters. Since Britta saved King Aodren, they had become linked and the pull that she felt towards Cohen is now directed at Aodren, and he feels the same. Lord Jamis and Phelia escaped and in order to save all of Malam they need caught.There is a lot of emotional and physical demands in this book, which work perfectly together. I really enjoyed this book because we were able to see more of the troubles in Malam. Like the previous books, there are other issues besides the main plot. In some points I have found this approach to not be successful but Summerill makes it fit together perfectly. The subplots are not overwhelming nor do they take away from the main plot in the story. Her writing has them enhance the storyline tremendously.

Again, I love the characters. I am in love with Britta and Cohen. Seeds, are they perfect for each other. Especially when Cohen calls Britta ‘Dove’ - ugh my heart. Their dynamic is everything. I was really happy that we were able to get Cohen’s point of view in this book, and it was definitely necessary. Along with a new point of view from Cohen, we also get Aodren. I am glad that she didn’t focus on Aodren perspective but it was nice to read from his point of view as well. Since Britta and Aodren were connected through Britta’s channeler magic - there is an attraction between them. This is where the book kind of lost me. I understood the connection between Britta and Aodren but I felt like the introduction of a love triangle wasn’t necessary. I’m not a big fan of triangles to begin with, especially when one of the couples have such a strong connection. This tension didn’t compliment the book and the structure that Summerill had created. If this was never introduced I would have probably enjoyed the book more. While I appreciated the presence of Aodren and his character, I was not a fan of the love triangle.

Final Thoughts

Overall, Ever the Brave by Erin Summerill was a great second book. Her writing style really created a great plot and amazing details. The problems presented are not linear and give the story a necessary depth. I absolutely love Britta and Cohen, along with the new characters that were introduced with this book. While I wasn’t a fan of the love triangle presented, this book was still very enjoyable. I recommend this book for those who enjoyed Ever the Hunted and a great fantasy storyline.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sana Khan is a cheerleader and a straight A student....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
At seventeen, June Hardie is everything a young woman in...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The definitive collection of art, poetry, and prose, celebrating fat...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventh-grader Tristan Strong feels anything but strong ever since he...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Still reeling from her recent battle (and grounded until she...
Cog
Cog
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cog looks like a normal twelve-year-old boy. But his name...
Homerooms and Hall Passes
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the mystical realm of Bríandalör, every day the brave...
Susan B. Anthony: The Making of America #4
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the fourth installment in the Making of America series,...
Hazel's Theory of Evolution
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hazel knows a lot about the world. That’s because when...
Sublime Karma
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Brie’s stepfather moves the family for what he...
Goddess Ascending
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Promised to the Light. Hunted by the Dark. Two...

Latest Member Reviews

 
5.0
"3 Reasons TELL ME HOW YOU REALLY FEEL needs to be on your shelf immediately: 1.) The spot-on comparison:..."
 
4.0
"Amy Lukavics is one of my favorite horror writers. All of Lukavics's books are a little odd (in the best..."
 
3.0
"You might think that being the daughter of Eros, Kali might be good at the whole cupid thing. Kali would..."
The Cold is in Her Bones
 
3.7
"What I Loved About THE COLD IS IN HER BONES: Milla lives an isolated life on..."
Wilder Girls
 
4.3
"The top 3 reasons you need WILDER GIRLS by Rory Power on your shelf: 1.) The characters:..."
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
"BUTTERFLY YELLOW is a heartfelt and engrossing historical fiction. H?ng is in the US, searching for her younger brother. After..."
 
5.0
"*This review contains spoilers for book one, A BLADE SO BLACK* A DREAM SO DARK, sequel to A BLADE..."
The Lady Rogue
 
5.0
"THE LADY ROGUE is an absolutely thrilling historical fiction/fantasy. In the vein of THE MUMMY but in Romania and with..."
The Burning Shadow (Origin Series, #2)
 
3.7
"What worked: I'm a huge fan of the Lux series and LOVE Daemon. The relationship between Daemon and Kat is..."
Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black
 
3.3
"VOYAGES IN THE UNDERWORLD OF ORPHEUS BLACK is a story about brotherhood, war, and the power of art. Harry is..."
Firebrand: The Initiation of Natali Presano (Firebrand, #1)
 
5.0
"This comic book is an interesting print form of a webtoon series that captures season 1. Natali Presano was born..."
Tiger Queen
 
5.0
"All Kateri wants to do is impress her father, become the queen she's meant to be, protect her people, and..."
Cracking the Bell
 
4.7
"Isaiah's family has struggled after the death of his sister in a car accident that wasn't her fault. The parents..."
The Haunted
 
3.7
"THE HAUNTED is a really fascinating YA horror that follows Hendricks, a teenage girl, after she moves into a haunted..."
My Almost Flawless Tokyo Dream Life
 
3.3
"Sixteen-year-old foster kid Elle Zoellner's life turns topsy turvy when a father, she never knew about, wants her to move..."
Truly Madly Royally
 
3.0
"I’d be lying if I didn’t say that half of the reason why I read this was because it’s a..."
Finding Esme
 
3.3
"Esme feels alone. Her much-loved grandfather died, her dad deserted the family, her mom has mentally checked out, and her..."
House of Salt and Sorrows
 
4.3
"Annaleigh just wanted to be in charge of the lighthouse close to her island home. Rumors circulate on the island..."
Wreck: A Novel
 
4.3
"WRECK is a heart-wrenching story about a teenage girl on the brink of college as she discovers her father's life-altering..."
Reverie
 
5.0
"REVERIE is a captivating and unique YA fantasy without adequate comparisons. The book follows Kane, a teenage boy who was..."