Unstoppable Moses

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
490 0
Unstoppable Moses
Age Range
12+
Release Date
September 25, 2018
ISBN
9781250138545
Buy This Book
      

Moses and his cousin Charlie were best friends, wisecracking pranksters, unstoppable forces of teenage energy―until the night they became accidental arsonists and set in motion a chain of events that left Moses alone, guilt-stricken, and most likely trapped in his dead-end town. Then Moses gets a lucky break: the chance to volunteer as a camp counselor for week and prove that the incident at the bowling alley should be expunged from his record. And since a criminal record and enrollment at Duke are mutually exclusive, he’s determined to get through his community service and get on with his life. But tragedy seems to follow him wherever he goes, and this time, it might just stop him in his tracks.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Unstoppable Moses Review
(Updated: November 12, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Feedback
I am going to admit that I would have never picked up this book if I wasn’t provided a free copy to review. And that would have been a huge mistake on my end. This book was an amazing coming of age story. I was beyond impressed with the content in this book. There were so many subjects approached, with some being more obvious than others. One of the best things about this book was the past and present aspect of it. We were not given Moses’ full backstory when we meet him just a glimpse of who he is. Reading this way allows the reader to see how the present is truly affecting outlook on the past. Each issue faced was followed up with a memory but they seemed to be different in tone as the time progressed. I truly enjoyed the atmosphere this book took on. In a “troubled teen” book, the expectation is usually angry and self loathing. This was the complete opposite of that. It was such a relief to read a book where the “court mandated troubled teen” isn’t exactly angry at the world. This book went beyond what I anticipated. This truly makes it more relatable to anyone, but especially to the targeted audience of teens.

I am going to concentrate on Moses for the character section of my review. What an amazing main character. As I stated earlier, Moses wasn’t an angry teen. A prank went horribly wrong creating a devastating aftermath. As we go through Moses’ story, we see that he and his cousin, Charlie, were known pranksters in the town. However, Moses wasn’t the typical teen that you would expect - neglectful parents, bad upbringing, or horrible at school. Moses had a loving family with them being very supportive. He was great at school with attempting to apply to Duke for college. Again, this was a nice change and made the character so much more relatable. The counselor at a camp, the troubled teen - these are ideas have been done before. The bad kid realizes that there is more to the world, but with Moses, it’s different. Since he wasn’t exactly a typical troubled teen we say different struggles. Charlie was his other half and now he had to learn to live without him. He makes friends easily and becomes attached to some of the campers. We really see the good in him and how one mistake doesn’t dictate your life. Moses was a great character for this story and I truly believe he will be able to reach out to a number of different teens.

Final Thoughts
Overall, Unstoppable Moses by Tyler James Smith was an amazing coming of age book. This book had a great story that will be able to connect to a lot of teens. Moses was an amazing main character that becomes instantly relatable. I highly recommend this book to those who are fans of John Green - this is a book that will move its readers.

Audiobook Review
I had the pleasure of doing the audio for this book and I absolutely adored the narration. Graham Halstead did an amazing job portraying Moses' story. One of the things I really liked about his narration was how he made Moses' sound. While Moses is a teenager he did not make him sound too young or too old. In my review of the book, I mentioned that how the past memories tones seemed to change as we progressed the story. Halstead did a great job of really emphasizing the change of voice to indicate the change of tone. When Moses' was hurting or frustrated, Halstead made you aware of it. His voice acting truly enhanced the story written.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sana Khan is a cheerleader and a straight A student....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
At seventeen, June Hardie is everything a young woman in...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The definitive collection of art, poetry, and prose, celebrating fat...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventh-grader Tristan Strong feels anything but strong ever since he...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Still reeling from her recent battle (and grounded until she...
Cog
Cog
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cog looks like a normal twelve-year-old boy. But his name...
Homerooms and Hall Passes
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the mystical realm of Bríandalör, every day the brave...
Susan B. Anthony: The Making of America #4
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the fourth installment in the Making of America series,...
Hazel's Theory of Evolution
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hazel knows a lot about the world. That’s because when...
Sublime Karma
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Brie’s stepfather moves the family for what he...
Goddess Ascending
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Promised to the Light. Hunted by the Dark. Two...
Crown of Coral and Pearl
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Nor once dreamed of seeing the wondrous wealth and...
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the...
Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Harry Black is lost between the world of war...
Vow of Thieves (Dance of Thieves, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kazi and Jase have survived, stronger and more in...

Latest Member Reviews

 
5.0
"3 Reasons TELL ME HOW YOU REALLY FEEL needs to be on your shelf immediately: 1.) The spot-on comparison:..."
 
4.0
"Amy Lukavics is one of my favorite horror writers. All of Lukavics's books are a little odd (in the best..."
 
3.0
"You might think that being the daughter of Eros, Kali might be good at the whole cupid thing. Kali would..."
The Cold is in Her Bones
 
3.7
"What I Loved About THE COLD IS IN HER BONES: Milla lives an isolated life on..."
Wilder Girls
 
4.3
"The top 3 reasons you need WILDER GIRLS by Rory Power on your shelf: 1.) The characters:..."
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
"BUTTERFLY YELLOW is a heartfelt and engrossing historical fiction. H?ng is in the US, searching for her younger brother. After..."
 
5.0
"*This review contains spoilers for book one, A BLADE SO BLACK* A DREAM SO DARK, sequel to A BLADE..."
The Lady Rogue
 
5.0
"THE LADY ROGUE is an absolutely thrilling historical fiction/fantasy. In the vein of THE MUMMY but in Romania and with..."
The Burning Shadow (Origin Series, #2)
 
3.7
"What worked: I'm a huge fan of the Lux series and LOVE Daemon. The relationship between Daemon and Kat is..."
Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black
 
3.3
"VOYAGES IN THE UNDERWORLD OF ORPHEUS BLACK is a story about brotherhood, war, and the power of art. Harry is..."
Firebrand: The Initiation of Natali Presano (Firebrand, #1)
 
5.0
"This comic book is an interesting print form of a webtoon series that captures season 1. Natali Presano was born..."
Tiger Queen
 
5.0
"All Kateri wants to do is impress her father, become the queen she's meant to be, protect her people, and..."
Cracking the Bell
 
4.7
"Isaiah's family has struggled after the death of his sister in a car accident that wasn't her fault. The parents..."
The Haunted
 
3.7
"THE HAUNTED is a really fascinating YA horror that follows Hendricks, a teenage girl, after she moves into a haunted..."
My Almost Flawless Tokyo Dream Life
 
3.3
"Sixteen-year-old foster kid Elle Zoellner's life turns topsy turvy when a father, she never knew about, wants her to move..."
Truly Madly Royally
 
3.0
"I’d be lying if I didn’t say that half of the reason why I read this was because it’s a..."
Finding Esme
 
3.3
"Esme feels alone. Her much-loved grandfather died, her dad deserted the family, her mom has mentally checked out, and her..."
House of Salt and Sorrows
 
4.3
"Annaleigh just wanted to be in charge of the lighthouse close to her island home. Rumors circulate on the island..."
Wreck: A Novel
 
4.3
"WRECK is a heart-wrenching story about a teenage girl on the brink of college as she discovers her father's life-altering..."
Reverie
 
5.0
"REVERIE is a captivating and unique YA fantasy without adequate comparisons. The book follows Kane, a teenage boy who was..."