You Are The Everything

Featured
 
4.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
1706 0
You Are The Everything
Author(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
October 30, 2018
ISBN
978-1616208158

Can you want something—or someone—so badly that it changes your destiny? Elyse Schmidt never would have thought so, until it happened to her. When Elyse and her not-so-secret crush, Josh Harris, are the sole survivors of a plane crash, tragedy binds them together. It’s as if their love story is meant to be. Everything is perfect, as perfect as it can be when you’ve literally fallen out of the sky and landed hard on the side of a mountain—until suddenly it isn’t. When the pieces of Elyse’s life stop fitting together, what’s left? You Are the Everything is a story about the fates we yearn for, the fates we choose, and the fates that are chosen for us.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

intriguing book with a twist at the end
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
YOU ARE THE EVERYTHING is an intriguing stream-of-consciousness style read that follows Elyse Schmidt, a 16/17 year old girl who has a huge crush on Josh Harris, a teenage boy who also plays the flute. Elyse went on a trip to Paris with her band, which also includes her snarky BFF, Kath. Elyse has been drawing comics of how she ends up kissing Josh Harris (always his whole name to Elyse), thinking that maybe if she can visualize it enough, it can happen.

However, none of these things have happened and now she is sitting silently next to Josh Harris on the plane, because she and Kath had a fight and so Kath switched seats with him for the flight back. When the plane crashes, Elyse miraculously survives along with Josh Harris, and the book follows the what happens after.

Told in the second person point-of-view, the reader is Elyse, making the story more personal and unexpected than otherwise possible. The reader experiences her anxieties, obsessions, and panic attacks alongside her.

This book was a different and more intense read- with a surprising twist ending. I was not sure how I felt about some of the characters, but ultimately, the end brings it together in a shocking way. I would recommend for people who enjoy surprising books with thought-provoking revelations. The book raises a lot of questions about life, purpose, and decisions made as well as about romance, crushes, mental illness, and even some about racism.

Overall, this was an intriguing read that I would recommend for people who are looking for a book that places the reader in the thick of it and includes a twist at the end.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Most Unique Read I've Ever Read
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Elyse Schmidt has the biggest crush on Josh Harris, but he has no idea. When tragedy strikes on their plane ride home, Elyse and Josh are the soul survivors of a plane crash. They must rely on each other to get through it and a relationship blossoms between them.

As a result of the crash, Elyse suffers from Traumatic Brain Injury and has trouble remembering things. Josh is patient through it all, even when Elyse grows emotional. Elyse also has a glass eye from the wreck, but Josh believes she's as beautiful as ever. Everything seems perfect.... until the end.

This was probably the hardest review to write without giving spoilers. It was also the first book that I've ever written in second point of view. While I prefer first or third, it was refreshing to step out of my comfort zone. If you're looking for a contemporary romance that's different from any other book you've ever read, this one is for you. Karen Rivers address several topics in this like interracial dating, plane crash survivors, and the struggles of traumatic brain injury.


Final Verdict: I would recommend this to fans of contemporary romance, unique plots and writing style, and emotional reads that address sensitive topics and diverse characters.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Awakened Are the Starry-Eyed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new city and unexpected freedom give Andrea the fresh...
A Brutal Justice
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Protect the weak. Safety for all. Power without virtue is...
A Tale of Ashes
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Across the country, human teens are going missing, and all...
The Captain's Daughters
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What would you do if you were abducted by aliens,...
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Truth or Dare
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Summervale… One of the USA’s top vacation...
Around Curiosity's Edge: Hidden Meridians
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A hidden world waits, a dark society schemes, and a...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...

Latest Member Reviews

The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
"THE HOLLOW INSIDE is a shocking and riveting YA thriller. Phoenix and her mother Nina have been living out of..."
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
"SPELLS TROUBLE is a thrilling YA fantasy that takes the reader from Salem during the witch trials to the midwest..."
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
"10 TRUTHS AND A DARE is a book about family and owning up to your mistakes. Olivia is about to..."
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
"It's the start of Grand Season and Nina's chance to join the Beautiful Ones, Loisail's notable socialites, hasn't gone well...."
A Song of Wraiths and Ruin (A Song of Wraiths and Ruin #1)
 
5.0
"This was... one of the best books I've read in a long time. It was one of my absolute favorite..."
Yes No Maybe So
 
5.0
"I should start by saying I don't normally read books involving politics because I read to escape real life. That..."
Made in Korea
 
4.7
"MADE IN KOREA is a sweet romantic-comedy about competition, family, and reaching for your dreams. Valerie runs a very successful..."
The Keeper of Night
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF DR.IFADE CONTACT ON WHATS_APP NUMBER +1(551)333-5249. OR HIS EMAIL ..."
Perfectly Parvin
 
5.0
"PERFECTLY PARVIN is a laugh-out-loud, charming YA contemporary fiction read. Parvin is about to begin her freshman year of high..."
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
The Love Song of Ivy K. Harlowe
 
3.0
"THE LOVE SONG OF IVY K. HARLOWE is a new adult read about love, pining, and friendship. Andie is 19..."
The People We Choose
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."