Girl At The Grave

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
969 0
Girl At The Grave
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
August 07, 2018
ISBN
978-0765399489
Buy This Book
      

In Girl at the Grave, debut author Teri Bailey Black unearths the long-buried secrets of a small 1850s New England town in this richly atmospheric Gothic tale of murder, guilt, redemption, and finding love where least expected. A mother hanged for murder. A daughter left to pick up the pieces of their crumbling estate. Can she clear her family’s name if it means facing her own dark past? Valentine has spent years trying to outrun her mother's legacy. But small towns have long memories, and when a new string of murders occurs, all signs point to the daughter of a murderer. Only one person believes Valentine is innocent―Rowan Blackshaw, the son of the man her mother killed all those years ago. Valentine vows to find the real killer, but when she finally uncovers the horrifying truth, she must choose to face her own dark secrets, even if it means losing Rowan in the end.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Girl At The Grave
(Updated: October 23, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Valentine was only six years old when her mother was hung for a murder. After the death, Valentine's basically taken care of herself in the crumbling house that she feels is haunted with the past. Now she's a top student at the prestigious Drake Academy. An unknown benefactor has supported her. Feavers Crossings is a small town and hasn't forgotten the murder. When some recent murders occur, they are quick to point their fingers at Valentine. She's determined to bring justice to her mother's name as she searches for the real killer. In the process she finds dangerous secrets among the town's powerful families. And they will do anything to keep her quiet.

What worked: This Gothic romance mystery has just the perfect atmosphere and tension. There isn't any ghosts or paranormal elements in this story, but rather a girl who lives with the memory of a mother who was executed for murder. Valentine isn't shy, but more reserved. When the local pastor tells her that a mystery person has told him that her mother was in fact innocent, this leads to a string of murders that end up pointing her way. Seems some in town feel that she is a murderess just based on the fact that her mother apparently murdered. This is when Valentine sets out to find the truth.

There's a love triangle here too. Sam, is the younger brother of the local family from the wrong side of town. His brothers and father are known bullies and violent. Sam though isn't. He's a very close friend to Valentine and looks out for her.

Rowan Blackshaw is the handsome son of the wealthy family of town. Valentine's grandfather jilted his grandmother at the altar. Mrs. Blackshaw has never forgiven the family. Valentine and Rowan attend the same school and move in different social circles, but there is a quiet chemistry between these two.

I was suprised at the final identity of the true murderer. There's lots leading up to that reveal that include town jealousies, secrets, and love affairs. Valentine finds out a horrific truth that forces her to make a decision that could ultimately destroy her too.

Gothic romance with a mystery that spans generations and a determined heroine that will risk everything, including herself and the boy she loves, in order to right a terrible wrong.
Good Points
1. Gothic romance with a murder mystery
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...
The Night Walk
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mama opened our bedroom door. "Wake up, you two," she...
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the perfect, ugly expression of holiday cheer in this...
You and Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This sweet celebration of love is perfect for sharing with...

Latest Member Reviews

Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
"A wonderful book about an amazing woman. The Story: Kamala Harris has lived quite the life. Raised as..."
What's Inside a Flower?
 
4.7
"WHAT'S INSIDE A FLOWER? is a gorgeously illustrated non-fiction picture book read about flowers. The book covers the basics from..."
Raven Squawk, Orca Squeak
 
4.7
"RAVEN SQUAWK, ORCA SQUEAK is a gorgeously illustrated board book that explores a bit of nature through texture, sounds, and..."
Speak Up
 
5.0
"A wonderful story to teach kids a powerful lesson. They can make a difference. Their voice matters. "Speak..."
Life in a Frozen World: Wildlife of Antarctica
 
5.0
"What a fascinating book. Life in a Frozen World delves into the world of Antartica where animals struggle against..."
William Still and His Freedom Stories
 
5.0
"We all know some of the bigger names of the Underground Railroad but there are so many amazing stories of..."
Ensnared in the Wolf's Lair: Inside the 1944 Plot to Kill Hitler and the Ghost Children of His Revenge
 
5.0
"Hitler's rise to power and his stranglehold on the German people is something that has been all too much in..."
The Dog Patrol: Our Canine Companions and the Kids Who Protect Them
 
5.0
"This short, well photo-illustrated book packs a lot of information into its pages! It covers the major topics of dog..."
My First 100 Space Words
 
3.3
"MY FIRST 100 SPACE WORDS is a cute, illustrated collection of space-related words, including planet names, satellites, space junk, and..."
The ABCs of Black History
 
5.0
"THE ABCS OF BLACK HISTORY is a fantastic picture book of a poetic walk through the alphabet related to Black..."
Incredible Animals
 
5.0
"INCREDIBLE ANIMALS is a fascinating collection of animals by special skills, including clever camouflage, devoted parents (such as penguins), and..."
Eyelike Stickers: Trains
 
5.0
"EYELIKE STICKERS: TRAINS is an unbelievably cool collection of stickers. These 400 stickers include many photographs of trains, as well..."
Amazing Places
 
4.7
"AMAZING PLACES is a delightful exploration of 15 manmade wonders, including the Taj Mahal, pyramids, and Moai (Easter Island). The..."
About Seabirds: A Guide for Children
 
5.0
"'About Seabirds: A Guide for Children' by Cathryn Sill, illustrated by John Sill, lends credibility to the power of nature..."
The Cat in the Box
 
3.3
"THE CAT IN THE BOX attempts to explain Schrodinger's work regarding quantum paradox. While the original thought experiment explained this,..."
5-Minute Really True Stories for Bedtime: 30 Amazing Stories: Featuring frozen frogs, King Tut’s beds, the world's biggest sleepover, the phases of the moon, and more
 
5.0
"5 MINUTE REALLY TRUE STORIES FOR BEDTIME is a very cool collection of bedtime themed stories. It spans topics from..."
Earth-Shattering Events: Volcanoes, earthquakes, cyclones, tsunamis and other natural disasters
 
5.0
"Earth-Shattering Events by Robin Jacobs is a wonderfully thought-out book that details different natural disasters: what they are, how we..."
Gut Garden: A journey into the wonderful world of your microbiome
 
4.7
"Gut Garden by Katie Brosnan is a well-thought out journey through our digestive system, introducing kids to the bacteria and..."
ICK! Delightfully Disgusting Animal Dinners, Dwellings, and Defenses
 
5.0
"National Geographic Kids is always sure to be a winner at my house. Their newest release has been deemed the..."
Dinosaurs Are Not Extinct: Real Facts About Real Dinosaurs
 
4.3
"Dinosaurs Are Not Extinct by Drew Sheneman is a short, illustrated nonfiction book introducing children to one of the more..."