Muse of Nightmares

Featured
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
1317 0
Muse of Nightmares
Author(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
October 02, 2018
ISBN
978-0316341714
Buy This Book
      

In the wake of tragedy, neither Lazlo nor Sarai are who they were before. One a god, the other a ghost, they struggle to grasp the new boundaries of their selves as dark-minded Minya holds them hostage, intent on vengeance against Weep. Lazlo faces an unthinkable choice—save the woman he loves, or everyone else?—while Sarai feels more helpless than ever. But is she? Sometimes, only the direst need can teach us our own depths, and Sarai, the muse of nightmares, has not yet discovered what she's capable of. As humans and godspawn reel in the aftermath of the citadel's near fall, a new foe shatters their fragile hopes, and the mysteries of the Mesarthim are resurrected: Where did the gods come from, and why? What was done with thousands of children born in the citadel nursery? And most important of all, as forgotten doors are opened and new worlds revealed: Must heroes always slay monsters, or is it possible to save them instead? Love and hate, revenge and redemption, destruction and salvation all clash in this gorgeous sequel to the New York Times bestseller, Strange the Dreamer.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

The True Queen of Fantasy Returns!
(Updated: October 24, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
I honestly didn't think any book could top Strange the Dreamer, it was such a fantastic start to a new series but Muse of Nightmares has completely blown Strange out of the water. Muse of Nightmares is everything and more fans could ever want from this duology.

Muse continues straight after those tragic events of Strange (I am still not over that ending.. not even a year on!). As humans are now aware that the much feared Godspawn are alive and now live in fear, the Gods and Goddesses must adjust to living out side of their precious citadel. However the incredible villain Minya has over idea's, which her incredible powers she expertly holds Sarai hostage and thereby Lazlo.

What I loved most about this was everyone's character arc, they were so detailed and complex, I ended up sympathising and rooting for characters I didn't necessarily trust in book one. Also what were once secondary characters now got a lot more page time to my delight, I was fascinated with Thyon Nero and lo and behold he got a lot more page time - his own POV yay! And now I just demand that he gets his own book because it was nowhere near enough page time, although I definitely thinks this is Laini's writing style, she gets us hooked from a few beautiful chapters!

Muse definitely took a darker turn, there was so much blood shed and heartbreak and I confess I did actually shed a tear or ten. There are just so many arcs and plots going on at once and Laini effortlessly brings them together in one epic climax which leaves you as the reader stunned.

Once again Laini just proves that she deserves that most coveted spot on your favourites shelf. Readers will be utterly transfixed by this instalment in what I hope is not an end and that'll she'll turn to this world in the not to far future... because I am definitely not prepared to leave the world of Weep!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Nobody does fantasy better
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Reading a Laini Taylor book is always such an experience. I fell in love with her Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy but MUSE OF NIGHTMARES far exceed everything I had expected and hoped for. Writing a review for this one is going to be hard because how do you accurately explain the greatness that is Muse of Nightmares. This review will have slight spoilers so if you haven’t read Strange the Dreamer, what are you doing, and also don’t read ahead.

MUSE OF NIGHTMARES opens with two new characters, Kora and Nova who help tie the past of weep and it’s future together. What I love about Laini’s books is the way she takes all these stories and weaves them together to create this incredible world full of suffering, grief, and pain but also one filled with love, light, and healing. Muse paints this story of horrible sacrifice and the ways in which those who are left behind choose to survive. The characters while deeply flawed are also complex and get to the deepest root of what makes all of us human.

Muse of Nightmares picks up after Strange, but it takes the story to another level. It takes us back and forth from past to present until the two stories collide and you finally learn what happened to the lost city all those years ago. And here is what I love about Laini she takes two different stories, adds new characters and seamlessly ties it all together. Giving us stories that are incredibly hard to stop thinking about and characters that burrow their way into our hearts and souls. Laini, in my opinion, has always been one of the greatest storytellers I’ve ever had the pleasure of reading.

I don’t want to spoil anything either but by the end I loved Thyon and I felt for Minya. Which was surprising but also not that surprising. If anyone can get me to fall in love with a character I previously disliked it would be Laini. In my opinion, I don’t think we got enough of either character and I would love to see them in future stories. And if the ending of Muse is any indication there are more worlds and more stories and I can’t wait to see what Laini does next. Whether in this world or a different I can’t wait to see what brilliance comes out of that mind of hers.

One thing I do want to mention is trigger warnings for abuse, implied rape, death, torture, human trafficking, PTSD, child abuse.

Overall, this is the one time in my life where I wish a duology was longer. Which never happens but I have never gone into a Laini book and come out without taking a piece of her stories with me. Strange the Dreamer and Muse of Nightmares far exceeded anything I had ever thought or hoped for and I wish I could go back in time and be able to read it again for the first time. If you haven’t picked up Strange I highly highly recommend it. It’s a beautiful story that will change every piece of you.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Phoebe Unfired
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
CONNECTING IS TOUGH WHEN YOU CAN'T EVEN TOUCH ...
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...

Latest Member Reviews

Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
"One day, Thirty, a strange woman comes up to thirteen-year-old Anamaria and tells her she's from her future. Anamaria lives..."
Admission
 
5.0
"‘Admission’ by Julie Buxbaum is a modern and definitely current read on a topic that has been in the news...."
Running
 
5.0
"‘Running’ by Natalia Sylvester is a trend-setting anthem for anyone who has ever wanted to be the change they wish..."
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
"CITY OF SPELLS is a stunning conclusion to an enthralling YA fantasy duology. The book plunges us into the story..."
The Project
 
4.7
"What worked: This is one intense psychological tale of a girl trying to reconnect with her sister after she joins..."
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Reawakened
 
3.3
"My favorite thing about this book is the Egyptian elements. Reading Lily’s adventures in pyramids gave me strong Indiana Jones..."