The Caged Queen

Featured
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
2106 0
The Caged Queen
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
September 25, 2018
ISBN
9780062568014
Buy This Book
      

Kristen Ciccarelli’s distinct brand of lyrical, haunting fantasy continues in the companion to her bestselling debut, The Last Namsara. Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and Renee Ahdieh. Once there were two sisters born with a bond so strong that it forged them together forever. Roa and Essie called it the hum. It was a magic they cherished—until the day a terrible accident took Essie’s life and trapped her soul in this world. Dax—the heir to Firgaard’s throne—was responsible for the accident. Roa swore to hate him forever. But eight years later he returned, begging for her help. He was determined to dethrone his cruel father, under whose oppressive reign Roa’s people had suffered. Roa made him a deal: she’d give him the army he needed if he made her queen. Only as queen could she save her people from Firgaard’s rule. Then a chance arises to right every wrong—an opportunity for Roa to rid herself of this enemy king and rescue her beloved sister. During the Relinquishing, when the spirits of the dead are said to return, Roa discovers she can reclaim her sister for good. All she has to do is kill the king.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

An utterly brilliant instalment to the Iskari series!
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
The Caged Queen is the sister novel to The Last Namsara, which I absolutely adored - it has everything I could have wanted from a YA Fantasy novel; action, adventure, lies, danger, romance and of course dragons! Although you technically don’t need to have read The Last Namsara in order to read The Caged Queen as it’s now a new set of main characters, I would highly recommend that you do, the characters and consequences that happen in The Last Namsara follow onto the plot of The Caged Queen. Also why wouldn’t you want to read a completely incredible book knowing that you have another one waiting for you set in the same world?

As I’ve said above The Caged Queen follows on in same world but with a new cast of characters: First there's Roa, a fierce main heroine from the scrublands who in a bid of desperation to save her people married The Dragon King. Roa, still grieving the loss of her sister Essie is determined to help free her people from the previous Dragon King’s tyranny and hopes to makes the changes needed from within however the political scheming in a Kingdom that isn’t her home and having no one to trust she soon finds herself in over her head. But what I loved about Roa was that she didn’t give up, not even when her schemes to manipulate the Dragon King didn’t seem to work.

Next there’s Dax the famous Dragon King brother to Asha the Iskari. Dax was such an intriguing character to read about. I could never quite get a read on him as a person, Ciccarelli cleverly kept his character shrouded in mystery and secrets, every time I thought I could predict his actions he would do the opposite leaving me questioning just whose side he was on. His back story is told in bits and pieces whilst he battles with the present of marrying what his people see as an Outlander Queen and trying to keep kingdom safe.

I sat down with this book and very quickly the hours flew by and I was finished, it’s been a while since I read a book in one sitting but I found I just couldn’t put this one down. Following Roa and Dax on their journey was so thrilling that I was soon swept away in all the action. The Caged Queen has a huge character arc following Roa on her quest to saving her sister and trying to follow the political machinations on the royal court all the while trying to decide if her husband is the idiot he pretends to be? And if not, will be she able to actually kill him?

What I love is Ciccarelli’s skill to tell a story, enraptured so fully that you’re scared to look away and too afraid to carry on as the pages dwindle. True to form, just like in The Last Namsara Ciccarelli weaves fairy tales and past events in small fragments at the ends of chapters, slowly building the the story, suspense and intensity that you can’t help but use the old adage ‘just one more chapter’.

The Caged Queen is an utterly brilliant instalment to the Iskari series, I was hooked from the very beginning until the last page. Readers of The Last Namsara while mourning the loss of such fantastic characters in Book one will soon be emotionally invested in Roa and Dax, I’m not sure I could pick a favourite between the pairs. I can only pray that Ciccarelli is writing another book in this series…. or just another book right now, I will read anything she writes!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Reawakened
 
3.3
"My favorite thing about this book is the Egyptian elements. Reading Lily’s adventures in pyramids gave me strong Indiana Jones..."
Three Day Summer
 
4.7
"Michael doesn't know what he wants to do with his life. He should go to community college to avoid the..."
Crush (Crave, #2)
 
4.7
"CRUSH is an intense and nail-biting sequel to CRAVE. This second book picks up a few months after the first..."
The Shadow War
 
3.0
"Audiobook review: Following 5 teens trying to survive, THE SHADOW WAR imagines World War II with a..."
Meet Cute: Some people are destined to meet
 
4.0
"MEET CUTE is a fun, romantic anthology featuring stories about people first meeting. Ranging from cute to funny to dark..."
Glimpsed
 
3.7
"GLIMPSED gives us a twist on the typical fairytale with Charity, a fairy godmother from a line of fairy godmothers...."
Shine Until Tomorrow
 
5.0
"Wow, this book didn’t turn out to be anything like I expected. The story: Tamara is a young..."