Freak N Gorgeous

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
905 0
Freak N Gorgeous
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
September 11, 2018
ISBN
978-1510732100
Buy This Book
      

Everyone is ugly sometimes. In a world not unlike our own, there is a phenomenon called the INEXPLICABLE DEVELOPMENT―a rare occurrence with permanent consequences. Average-looking, under-the-radar sixteen-year-old Konrad Wolnik's life is turned upside down when, one morning, he wakes up stunningly attractive. That same day, his classmate, Camilla Hadi, has her own transformation; the lean, pretty athlete is now devastatingly ugly. The teens face the cruel world of high school from very different perspectives. Konrad shoots to the top of the pecking order, Camilla slips into pariah status. But soon the school starts rallying around Camilla, and Konrad’s sudden popularity sours as people blame him for her transformation. And, the truth is, so does she. All he wants is for everyone to like him. All she wants is to destroy his perfect life. So what if they could use each other for personal gain? Told in dual POV, Sebastian J. Plata's debut is a hilarious, scathing look at society's unrealistic beauty standards and the intense pressures of high school. Perfect for fans of The DUFF and Winger.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

The Best Version of Oneself
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
'Freak N Gorgeous' by Sebastian J. Plata provides an in-depth and telling look into the world of two teenagers who unexpectedly have their looks changed. The setting of the book is not unlike a normal world, but one large difference is that there is something called Inexplicable Developments in which people have changes happen to them based on wishes. These changes sometimes come unexpected and in ways that do not feel deserved, which is one of the main ideas of the novel.

Konrad and Camilla are the two characters whose dual viewpoints are showcased from chapter to chapter. While Konrad has gone from average looks to being taller and considerably better looking, Camilla has had the opposite happen. She has gone from average looking to quite bad-looking, in the eyes of not only herself, but the vast majority of the school. Even though her friends stand by her when they first learn of her inexplicable development, she doesn't have many others who do, aside from her mother.

Konrad, on the other hand, loses his friends due to the dramatic and sudden change that has made him what the most popular and good-looking kids consider gorgeous. Yet, despite his seeming good fortune, he comes to learn that beauty is not just something that one can see on the outside; the way one acts and treats others also plays a part. The main conflict of the story lies in the fact that Camilla learns of Konrad's change and attributes her own social downfall and poor looks to his wish to be better-looking. Even though nothing proves this to be true apart from Camilla's insistence that it must be, she holds firm thinking that he is to blame. When he tries to befriend her, she aims to use his friendship tactics against him, believing against all else that he's only doing it because it's good for him in some way.

A novel that teaches the importance of looking beyond the surface and learning to deal with the hand that life deals you, 'Freak N Gorgeous' shows how getting everything you want isn't necessarily what it's cracked up to be, and getting dealt a bad hand won't necessarily bring the worst results. The play on words in the title is fun, too, as Camilla believes she's a freak while Konrad is gorgeous, but it also plays on another level, because they both realize that if they find a way to work together, maybe they will come to be "freakin' gorgeous," and come to be the best versions of themselves possible.
Good Points
A novel that teaches the importance of looking beyond the surface and learning to deal with the hand that life deals you, 'Freak N Gorgeous' shows how getting everything you want isn't necessarily what it's cracked up to be, and getting dealt a bad hand won't necessarily bring the worst results. The play on words in the title is fun, too, as Camilla believes she's a freak while Konrad is gorgeous, but it also plays on another level, because they both realize that if they find a way to work together, maybe they will come to be "freakin' gorgeous," and come to be the best versions of themselves possible.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...

Latest Member Reviews

The Life Below
 
4.0
"After our mindbending landing on the moon back in 1969, we’ve faltered in our quest to explore space. Mars seems..."
The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."